We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Experince at the Bohemian”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Bohemian Hotel Savannah Riverfront, Autograph Collection
Ranked #29 of 113 Hotels in Savannah
Certificate of Excellence
Amelia Island, Florida
2 reviews
“Great Experince at the Bohemian”
Reviewed February 7, 2011

My wife and I left Amelia Island for a little get away to Savannah Ga. Feb5-6 we Stayed at the Bohemian Hotel this is a great hotel with a seasoned staff from front of the house to back of the house. It is nice to have a warm sincere welcome and genuine truly happy employees and managers that care about the guest and the looks of the property. Rocks on the roof top is a bar, Well let's say it Rocks! this is a happening place the resturaunt , I think is called Rocks also. We had a great breakfast Sunday morning I had the Southerner and my wife had one of the 16 to choose from egg benidicts which we both loved. We had dinner at the downstairs bar/resturaunt on Sat. night. I had a Reuben it's Huge and yummy! and the couple sitting next to us had steak and were locals that eat dinner there at least twice a month and said it's the best steak in town. This Hotel is a great place for couples or family, with warm welcomes and fond fairwells we will be back soon!

Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank FishinFool1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,087 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    596
    267
    137
    58
    29
See reviews for
150
608
14
91
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (365)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, NC
Level 6 Contributor
63 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2011

Our first trip to Savannah and we decided to book The Bohemian for the New Year weekend.

As we pulled up, Andrew was immediately there to open our doors and help us with our luggage. He was extremely friendly and very helpful! Even though we arrived a couple of hours before posted check in, our room was ready for us. From the door men to the car valet to the check in desk, we were amazed at how helpful and friendly everyone was.

Our room was on the sixth floor and although it was one of the smaller rooms, it suited our needs and then some. Internet TV, jacuzzi tub, tiled rain shower and beautifully decorated. We had asked for luggage racks and they showed up within a few minutes. Leaving to tour the city, the maids greeted us warmly as we walked down the hallway.

The Bohemian is very well located right on the River Walk in the Historic District. We were within walking distance of everything we wanted to see/visit and took advantage of that over the weekend. On our return to get ready for dinner, we had an issue with the internet TV and called down to facilities. An engineer was at our door within five minutes!!

New Year's Eve dinner was at the Olde Pink House - an easy 5-10 minute walk (if that!). When we returned, there was a loooong line of people waiting to head to the rooftop bar for the celebration. Being guests, we bypassed the line and headed straight to the roof. Unfortunately, it was extremely foggy that evening and although we heard the fireworks going off, no one was able to see anything.

All in all, we had an extremely enjoyable experience at this hotel and cannot recommend this place enough! We did have one meal at the River Rocks restaurant and that was for breakfast on the day we left. Having had so-so experiences with hotel restaurants, were weren't expecting much but were in for a very pleasant surprise! The food and decor were top notch!!

If you have the chance to stay here, do it!!!

Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Herfnerd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BHSRGM, General Manager at The Bohemian Hotel Savannah Riverfront, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, January 20, 2011
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a nice review of your recent stay at the Bohemian Hotel Savannah Riverfront. We are thrilled that you enjoyed the location, your room and our wonderful staff. Thank you for recognizing the staff. They work hard to insure every guest has a memorable stay. We look forward to hosting you on your next visit to Savannah!

Warmest Regards,
Lisa Coyle
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
76 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2011

This is one of my favorite hotels to date. I chose it for its lush, unique appearance and I was not disappointed. The purpose of my trip was to visit friends and to relax in comfort for a few days since I'd just returned from out-of-country work. I was seeking comfort, relaxation, and rejuvination and the Bohemian seemed like the place for me.

It was overcast when I visited, which was fine by me. I checked in early because I was told on the phone I couldn't be guaranteed a spa bath tub which was a huge priority to me since I wanted to soak in a bubble bath to relax. So I checked in early, wanting to request that I get a phone call as soon as an appropriate room became available. Upon hearing this, the staff member said for just $40 she could upgrade me to a corner room that was available right then. So I checked in at 11a.m. to the perfect room!

The room was gorgeous and just as it appeared online. It was right over the restaurant and yet was amazinging quiet. I slept like a baby and never heard hotel/traffic noises. A boat honked at some points, but I considered this part of the charm of being on an active riverfront (not to complain about as I saw in another review. Ridiculous). ONE complaint was that the chandelier was hung too low over the bed. I hit my head on it once (you might guess why, ha). The light fixtures in the bathroom matched the unique chandelier and if you look CLOSELY you'll see they are actually in the shape of creatures!! The bath tub was great and I love how it opened up to the bedroom, creating a nice open feel and I also watched a movie while taking a relaxing soak my last night there.

The hidden surprise for me was the customer service. EVERYone I encountered was personable and polite and helpful. SO refreshing in a world where you can pay top-dollar and still be treated as though it's a bother for someone to address your needs/questions. Not here. After check in, I was going out to lunch. Since it was raining, the two young gentlemen who were valet/bellhops were so nice and offered me an umbrella to take with me. While waiting for friends to pick me up over my stay, the valets were friendly and talkative as I waited. Even the housekeeping staff were personable and nice the couple of times we interacted.

When I first got ready to take a bubble bath, I was all set with jazz music playing and low lighting. I get in and.....the jets wouldn't work. I called down and they sent a man up to look at the problem within 5 minutes! It was simply unplugged and then worked perfectly. I also ordered room service snacks for my bubble bath. I thought I might actually be DONE with the bubble bath by the time the food got there---but I was surprised when I heard a knock at the door---did not expect room service delivery that fast. Food was great, I had a mini pizza and cheese fries.

The restaurant was great and I loved the ambiance. My dish wasn't great, but it might just have been that i didn't personally like it. It just wasn't what I thought it would be based on the description of the truffle "dumplings". I wouldn't recommend it--it was kind of a pile of mush.

Also went to the rooftop bar which was really hopping and had live music.

I loved this hotel and plan on staying here again and also at their sister hotel at Forsythe Park.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Country-n-City-Nash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BHSRGM, General Manager at The Bohemian Hotel Savannah Riverfront, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, January 20, 2011
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for visiting us and posting such a great review. We strive to exceed our guest expectations and I'm happy to know that you were able to relax and enjoy your time in Savannah. I will be sure to share your kind words with our team. We look forward to your next visit.

See you Soon!
Lisa Coyle
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2011

We spent 3 nights here and the hotel and staff were great.
Great location and easy to get around Savannah.

Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank yanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BHSRGM, General Manager at The Bohemian Hotel Savannah Riverfront, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, January 20, 2011
Dear Valued Guest,

We are happy you decided to stay at the Bohemian Hotel Savannah Riverfront. Thank you for taking the time to post your experience and recommendation. We hope to see you again soon for your next stay in Savannah!

At Your Service,
Lisa Coyle
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2011

This hotel has its own unique character located right by the river. The entire staff is warm, attentive and friendly. The restaurant is convenient with good food. It also has a bar on the roof with a great view of the city. They also accept Marriott Rewards members.

  • Stayed January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brimestar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BHSRGM, General Manager at The Bohemian Hotel Savannah Riverfront, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, January 20, 2011
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for posting your review and letting others know about the Marriott Rewards program with our hotel. We enjoyed hosting you during your stay in Savannah and look forward to your return.

All the Best,
Lisa Coyle
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 27, 2010

Location was perfect for a trip to Savannah -- the hotel is located right on the riverfront. My husband and I spent a lot of time up on the rooftop bar making conversations with other travelers by the firepits and admiring the gorgeous view of the river. The room itself was gorgeous; the design of and artwork in the rooms were unique and unlike any other hotel we have stayed at. If we end up going back to Savannah, we're definitely staying here again.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DCLawyer16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BHSRGM, General Manager at The Bohemian Hotel Savannah Riverfront, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, December 30, 2010
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a nice review of your recent stay at the Bohemian Hotel Savannah Riverfront. We are thrilled that you enjoyed the hotel, your room and the ambiance of our Roof Top Lounge. We look forward to hosting you on your future visits to Savannah!

Happy New Year!
Lisa Coyle
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, NY
Level 6 Contributor
207 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
Reviewed December 22, 2010

Almost at our destination but thought we'd stop in Savannah, GA on our way and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Aside from the avante garde appearance of this hotel (velvet curtains for the bathroom instead of a door and over the bed, etc.) this was a wonderful hotel that had it all - great room, great service and a very good restaurant with terrific food. And, let's not forget the location - directly on the river with proximity to almost everything Savannah has to offer. We used our points to stay at this hotel and it was worth it - would definitely recommend this hotel to our friends. And, the restaurant was reasonably priced, the food was delicious and portions were huge. We had a great stay!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sthomas0616
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BHSRGM, General Manager at The Bohemian Hotel Savannah Riverfront, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, December 24, 2010
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a nice review of your recent stay at the Bohemian Hotel Savannah Riverfront. We are so glad you enjoyed the location, your room and our restaurant. Thank you for recognizing the staff. They work hard to insure every guest has a memorable stay. We look forward to hosting you on your future visits to Savannah!

Happy Holidays!
Lisa Coyle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Savannah hotels
Downtown
Andaz Savannah
Andaz Savannah
#13 of 113 in Savannah
3,041 reviews
Downtown
Olde Harbour Inn - River Street Suites
The Kimpton Brice Hotel
#17 of 113 in Savannah
1,266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Mansion on Forsyth Park, Autograph Collection
Downtown
Hyatt Regency Savannah
Hyatt Regency Savannah
#32 of 113 in Savannah
2,834 reviews
Downtown
Cotton Sail Hotel
Cotton Sail Hotel
#21 of 113 in Savannah
1,090 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bohemian Hotel Savannah Riverfront, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bohemian Hotel Savannah Riverfront, Autograph Collection

Property: The Bohemian Hotel Savannah Riverfront, Autograph Collection
Address: 102 W Bay St, Savannah, GA 31401-1109
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 113 Hotels in Savannah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Bohemian Hotel Savannah Riverfront, Autograph Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 75
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Bohemian Hotel Savannah Riverfront, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing