We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect spot to stay in Savannah”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Bohemian Hotel Savannah Riverfront, Autograph Collection
Ranked #31 of 116 Hotels in Savannah
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 8, 2013

This hotel was clean and very well appointed. We were quite comfortable. We slept great thanks go a great bed, and thanks to walls that make the room very quiet! I couldn't even hear the TV in the next room! The service was great, concierge very helpful and the food there was very good. The Rocks on the Roof bar deck was awesome too. Adults orientated hotel. It's in a perfect place, where all the action is, and a very easy walk to Forsythe Park. Everyone always thought we were crazy to walk there, but it was only a mile, and a lovely one at that!

Room Tip: Personally I wouldn't spend the money on getting a riverview unless you're going to spend a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AnneP_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,155)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

803 - 809 of 1,155 reviews

Reviewed May 7, 2013

We really wanted to love this place but it just didn't happen. Based on the reviews and the price we were looking forward to a luxuriousness long weekend but were disappointed.

We were traveling with another couple and we both arrived to the hotel late morning. It's complacently expected that arriving that early that rooms wouldn't be ready. The other couple had upgraded to a suite and we had a standard king room on the river front. What was disappointing about check in was that while our room was ready by 2:30 the other couple's wasn't until about 4:30. This was really unfortunate for two reasons..1. one the other couple was ill and really needed to lie down and 2. there is precious little seating in the lobby so we couldn't all sit together and wait for the suite.

Now let's talk service, while friendly it certainly isn't exceptional as one would expect for a hotel of level. Not only did housekeeping fail us with check in they continued to fail the three days that we were there. They consistently got to the suite so late in the day that we were already back from sightseeing for the day and looking for a little rest before heading out to dinner and the suite wasn't made up yet. On top of that when we phoned down to the desk and asked that have housekeeping come make up the room, housekeeping never got the message.

The views from the riverside are fantastic and it's really cool to watch the huge barges go by. The standard rooms are pretty typical hotel rooms with comfortable beds and good TVs. They are not exceptional by any means though. The bathrooms again are nice but nothing really special. FYI no tub just a shower. The layout in the suite is strange and though on the river side did not have a balcony. All in all we were happier that we had the balcony than the bit of extra square footage that the suite provided without the balcony.

Room Tip: If you are going to stay here make sure you get a riverfront view but the upgrade to a suite isn'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hpmicks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kurt E, General Manager at The Bohemian Hotel Savannah Riverfront, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded May 10, 2013

Dear Hpmicks,

Thank you for sharing your recent experience with us. I am very sorry to hear that you were disappointed with your stay.

While I can not speak directly to your specific situation, we do our best to get our guests checked in as soon as the room is ready, even if before the 4 pm check in time. I do apologize for the miscommunication that you experienced and not getting the room cleaned while you were out on your tour.

I hope you overall enjoyed your stay in Savannah. If you do return, please let me know and we will make your disappointed experience an exceptional one.

Kurt Englund

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

We loved our stay. The suite was beautiful, cozy, romantic and everything we wanted. it was different, it was modern and it was full of art work of all shapes, sizes and mediums. There are paintings and sculptures, huge desk and side table reminiscent of pirates' treasure crates, a beautiful lounge chair with room for 2 in front of the window, very unique lighting fixtures and of course, the sea shell chandellier. It's not something i would ever buy for my house but for the hotel stay, it's perfect. It's different and out there and my husband and i both loved it. The restaurant downstairs is great and the rooftop lounge upstairs - the best in the city. Amazing food, live music and the best views. Get out of the ordinary and experience the extraordinary!

We will definitely be back!!!

Room Tip: Splurge on a suite, it's like staying in an art gallery :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Deanna L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2013

After receiving a Kessler Resorts gift card for Christmas, we decided this would be the perfect place to use it. You cannot beat the location right on River Street and within walking distance from just about everything. Upon arriving at the hotel, we were met with friendly staff. Our check-in was quick and we were given a room with a river front view and balcony. All of the amenities are what I would expect from a Kessler hotel...nicely appointed bathroom, Starbucks in room coffee, top notch furnishings and probably the most comfortable bed I've ever slept in. The decor may not be for everyone, especially those who are looking for a more historic/traditional style. It is very chic and different that most of the hotels we have stayed in. My only negative, if you can call it that, was the doors to the balcony were not closing properly. The wind was blowing and was causing the doors to open slightly, but nothing major. We loved seeing the large ships move along the river and did not mind hearing them blow the horns. We enjoyed our stay and feel that The Bohemian is an excellent choice for couples.

Room Tip: Ask for a river front view with a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aymesue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2013

This is now a Marriott property and I normally stay with the franchise for points. Here's what I liked about the hotel. Excellent location just off the historic district. It took us no time at all to walk to the most popular areas. Our room was spotless with amenities I expect from the Autograph collection. Check in was to be expected: we had to wait until our room was ready which was not until after the 3PM check in. Cocktails on the roof were fun overlooking the river. Our room also overlooked the river which was fun until the ships blew its whistle at 7AM. But what are you gonna do? It's a shipping port. And a busy one at that.
We had very expensive margaritas in the lower level bar - be careful what type of tequila you ask for! $18 was a bit dear even if it was good. We also decided to stay in one night and had dinner at the hotel. No reservations were needed. But that's a good thing because I would not eat here again. Lousy service. Lousy food. Slow slow slow. I had to remind the server to take truffle fries off my tab since they did not serve them to me. The manager came out just as we were leaving to apologize for the tardiness of the food and said they were training new staff. I know this sounds cold but train on your own time, not mine. I work hard for my vacation and Marriott knows better.
In the end we had a lovely stay but after touring the city we will stay at a local B&B next time.

Room Tip: Pick a room with a river view. The historic view is boring!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JulesfromIowa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kurt E, General Manager at The Bohemian Hotel Savannah Riverfront, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded May 3, 2013

Dear JulesfromIowa,

Thank you for sharing your recent experience with us. I appreciate your constructive comments.

You are absolutely correct in that your service should not suffer as we are training our new associates. I am sharing your comments with our Executive Chef and management team for immediate follow up.

I would love it if you gave us another chance on your next trip to Savannah. We will do everything possible to make your stay flawless. I apologize that your last visit was not.

Kurt Englund

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2013

Absolutely wonderful place. Best location. Staff are excellent and there to make sure you are completely satisfied. Visited for a long weekend. Hotel is beautiful. Our room was on the river side that offered great views. Rocks on the River bar/restaurant was a fun lively place. Rocks on the Roof is the rooftop bar with amazing views and also a very lively place. Fitness center is small but we were the only ones there when we went so it was no problem. No pool which could be an issue depending on the weather. We were there in April and the temperatures were in the 70's - 80's. We were so busy exploring that the lack of a pool didn't matter. Savannah is amazing and strongly suggest you visit if you haven't already. Great restaurants and outdoor local entertainment. Also close to Hilton Head, SC. Visited for an afternoon and saw alligators! That was something for us! Back to the hotel..it was rated 4 stars. I would give it 5!! Concierge and bell man services are outstanding.

Rated 4 stars. I would give it five! Would love to go there again!

Room Tip: Ask for river side! They are very accommodating.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WarrenWarren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2013

We stayed at the hotel for two nights in a river front room. The room was comfortable, with a ton of electronics and a huge shower but only one reading chair and windows that did not open. The decorating was weird - ghostly images in the reception area, dark halls, strange paintings, driftwood candelabra, heavy metal studs on the furniture; supposedly a nautical theme. Huge container ships and tug boats passed by frequently outside our window. The service was excellent - they brought us a small refrigerator quickly upon request. Breakfast in their ground floor dining room was very good. The location is separated from the historic district by a somewhat run down commercial district, so we had to drive to the nicer parts of town. Too trendy for us but others may like their style.

Room Tip: Ask for a river front room with a balcony so you can get fresh air. Avoid the top floors since ther...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sandy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kurt E, General Manager at The Bohemian Hotel Savannah Riverfront, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded May 3, 2013

Dear Sandy B,

We appreciate that you have taken the time to share your recent experience at Bohemian Hotel Savannah Riverfront.

We do have a unique design that was intended to tie in with the features of our location on the Savannah River, from oyster chandeliers to kayaks on the ceiling. The river is definitely active with ships coming and going.

Our staff will appreciate hearing that you found the service was excellent.

Please let us know if we can be of assistance on a future visit to Savannah.


Kurt Englund

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Savannah hotels
Downtown
Mansion on Forsyth Park, Autograph Collection
Downtown
Andaz Savannah
Andaz Savannah
#15 of 116 in Savannah
3,226 reviews
Downtown
Hyatt Regency Savannah
Hyatt Regency Savannah
#29 of 116 in Savannah
3,152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Kimpton Brice Hotel
#16 of 116 in Savannah
1,572 reviews
Downtown
Hamilton-Turner Inn
Hamilton-Turner Inn
#2 of 116 in Savannah
1,419 reviews
Downtown
Cotton Sail Hotel
Cotton Sail Hotel
#20 of 116 in Savannah
1,181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bohemian Hotel Savannah Riverfront, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bohemian Hotel Savannah Riverfront, Autograph Collection

Address: 102 W Bay St, Savannah, GA 31401-1109
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 116 Hotels in Savannah
Price Range: $278 - $642 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Bohemian Hotel Savannah Riverfront, Autograph Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 75
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Bohemian Hotel Savannah Riverfront, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing