We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The best hotel in Savannah. Hands down!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Bohemian Hotel Savannah Riverfront, Autograph Collection

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Bohemian Hotel Savannah Riverfront, Autograph Collection
Ranked #29 of 113 Hotels in Savannah
Certificate of Excellence
Allentown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
167 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“The best hotel in Savannah. Hands down!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I enjoyed a three night stay at this hotel as we were celebrating our anniversary. We stayed Thursday through Sunday. The entire experience was wonderful. I am a Marriott rewards member so we stayed here for free and were given an upgrade to a corner river view room (rm 412). The room was stately appointed, very clean and the views were fantastic. I really appreciated the oversized chaise in the sitting room.
In addition to the room itself, the staff was overly friendly and accomodating.
As my last comment, I'll have to point out Rocks on the Roof as another highlight of our stay. Everything about Rocks on the Roof was fantastic. I recommend enjoying a few drinks by the outdoor fire pit or if you're hungry try the Truffle Fries and the Chicken Wrap.

I hope all those reading this have as great of a time that my wife and I experienced

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MrTG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,033 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    572
    250
    127
    57
    27
See reviews for
143
578
14
84
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (345)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Firenze, Italy
Level Contributor
113 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

This was a stay for a couple of days to relax before heading back to Florida. This is a Marriott managed property but nothing about this property is like a Marriott. It is very different. Some may like it and others may wish for a more traditional hotel experience. The rooms have been discussed at length in other reviews. We were upgraded very graciously by the gentleman working at their version of reception on a Sunday afternoon. The room was not quite ready so we had lunch upstairs on the roof deck. Gorgeous views of course but if you are in a room on the 7th floor on a weekend....you may hear the noise of the bar scene above you. It is extremely popular with local people as well. Food is great, small plates. The room we had was No. 512, a nice corner room with an alcove that looks out on the river with an oversized leather chaise to sit and read or look out at the view. The room is fine EXCEPT for two things: there is only one bedside table and thus one person on that side has no where for glasses, book, nada! And when you turn the lights on EVERY SINGLE LIGHT GOES ON!...the chandelier over the bed, the light over one of the gorgeous paintings, the standing light and the hall light. There is no way to have only the bedside lamp on. We finally stood on the bed and unscrewed the small bulbs in the lighting fixture directly over the bed. It is a design flaw. Then the heating/air-conditioning fan runs only on one speed and that is a loud speed. In a small room it can be very irritating. The service is wonderful. Not one person from Dan at the front door to Courtney downstairs to Michael the waiter at breakfast....everyone is professional and trained. We ordered a yoghurt and fruit bowl for one of the breakfasts and the fruit came unpeeled and even the pineapple with the rind and little brown spines. Just terrible in its presentation. When we said something, two people came over and later in the day, we returned to find fresh baked cookies and mineral water and a note saying they realized this did not meet their standards. What more can someone do than say they are sorry and make it better the next time? So, all in all this is a special small hotel that many will relish with joy and others will wish they had the 'old' style of hotel....only the reader can make this decision, but we enjoyed our stay very much.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rtdFirenze_Italy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
207 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

I absolutely loved this boutique hotel. It was absolutely charming. The location is great - it's right on the river walk. It's also within easy walking distance of almost all major Savannah attractions. The rooms are spacious and well appointed. The bar at the top is fun as well. The service was great - will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rosenfie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

A mostly wonderful hotel but not without its quirks. The public areas and rooms are stylish and plush, with all the amenity items in the room as you would expect from a luxury hotel. However, the food and service is decidedly mixed -- some great, some poor, most friendly, some lazy.

At breakfast the pancakes and biscuits and gravy were superb, the omelet dry and minimal ingredients beyond eggs. The free coffee in the lobby is nice, but when you ask for cream or milk it's, "we'll have to send down for it, maybe 20 or so minutes."

Some caveats: the rooftop bar is packed and jumping but with a mostly very young crowd. It's also loud enough on weekends that you will hear the noise on 7th and 8th floor rooms. They must put the valet parking cars in Atlanta as it takes at least 20 minutes to get your car -- make sure you call ahead.

The view and the location can't be beat -- this is the place to stay in Savannah. The physical property is excellent. Usually mixed service reflects either new staff or spotty management, a shame in an otherwise great place.

Room Tip: Both riverview and historic view (nice twist on city view, huh?) are great. Higher floors get rooft...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LeCur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kurt E, General Manager at The Bohemian Hotel Savannah Riverfront, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
Dear LeCur,

We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience with us regarding your recent stay. I am pleased that you enjoyed the room, view and location.

Your constructive comments about our food offerings have been shared with the team. We take pride in offering excellent service and food, and it is feedback like yours that help us focus and improve.

We do appreciate your patience while waiting for your car, while not quite Atlanta, our parking area is a bit of a distance from the hotel and we do suggest allowing a little extra time.

We look forward to seeing you on your next visit to Savannah.


Kurt Englund
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

We took a long weekend in Savannah and treated ourselves to a few nights at the Bohemian. The hotel was beautifully decorated and maintained. It was as if it had just been updated.The check in process was very easy and the staff was friendly. The restaurant boasts a rooftop bar with incredible views that you can't get anywhere else in Savannah. From one side you overlook the city and from the other side you over look the river and bridge. Such a nice view while dining on a few appetizers and a glass of wine. This hotel is also in easy walking distance to plenty of other restaurants, bars and shops, so you can park your car and walk to plenty of wonderful places. I will say this hotel has a very romantic feel, so it's great for couples. Not so sure it's a good place for families with small children. Loved every minute of it and will definitely return!

Room Tip: Request a room with a river view. It's more expensive, but definitely worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Machae22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amelia Island, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2013

Recently enjoyed 3 nights at The Bohemian for my bachelorette weekend...the location was perfect for walking everywhere! The room was very nice; we booked the standard historic view room and were pleased with the view from the 7th floor. The bathroom was spacious, shower had nice water pressure and everything felt very clean. The beds were comfortable and linens were nice. The service was excellent too, especially the bellman/doorman Mitch and valet gentlement Tim and Bo. Unfortunately I do not know the name of our housekeeper but whoever it was did a great job, especially since our room was in constant disarray with 4 girls sharing and stuff everywhere. I would love to return to this hotel the next time I'm in Savannah, especially for the convenient location and easy access to River Street (you don't have to walk down those steep staircases if you just use your hotel elevator!). I love both of their restaurants, Rocks on the River (brunch) and Rocks on the Roof (happy hour, live music). If the rates are not too much more than other area hotels I will definitely return.

Room Tip: If you book the standard historic room, request a high floor or else you will literally overlook the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank amandalavin_619
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
windsor, pa
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2013

My wife and i took our first trip to savannah for a pre-valentine's mommy get away. Our stay at The Bohemian was very nice. We were greeted by a valet as soon as we arrived. Check-in was smooth and very informative. Prior to arrival Courtney was very helpful in getting me set on dining options around town. Our bellman, Dan, was very courteous and took the time to review the TV/Computer/Hotel access information with us. The room was clean and comfortable, the bathroom spacious and the balcony was a nice addition. The restaurant and roof top lounge are both top notch-we spent the entire afternoon Saturday lounging in the sun by the fire reading our books and bantering with fellow travlers. During our four night stay we only had to open the front door ourselves twice! Additionally, most every staff member would ask how our stay was going and if everything was to our liking-very impressive. If you are a Marriott Rewards member, I will say that I must agree with others that you do not quite get the treatment you are used to. I asked for an upgrade that was not granted, where I am always automatically ugraded with Marriott. I would also recommend a weekday stay when possible as the young bar crowd is very rowdy on the weekends. Our neighbors were still going strong at 6:00 AM. One other positive, we had a rainy day and the hotel has FREE DVD's! We enjoyed a great local movie and room service-ignoring the rain the whole time. If not for the rowdiness on Friday and Saturday and the upgrade snub this would have been a five star experience-I would highly recommend this beatiful boutique hotel!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Troy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Savannah hotels
Downtown
Andaz Savannah
Andaz Savannah
#10 of 113 in Savannah
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,870 reviews
Downtown
Mansion on Forsyth Park, Autograph Collection
Downtown
Olde Harbour Inn - River Street Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Kimpton Brice Hotel
#15 of 113 in Savannah
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,156 reviews
Downtown
Hyatt Regency Savannah
Hyatt Regency Savannah
#30 of 113 in Savannah
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,547 reviews
Downtown
Cotton Sail Hotel
Cotton Sail Hotel
#21 of 113 in Savannah
4.5 of 5 bubbles 981 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bohemian Hotel Savannah Riverfront, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bohemian Hotel Savannah Riverfront, Autograph Collection

Property: The Bohemian Hotel Savannah Riverfront, Autograph Collection
Address: 102 W Bay St, Savannah, GA 31401-1109
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 113 Hotels in Savannah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Bohemian Hotel Savannah Riverfront, Autograph Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 75
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your The Bohemian Hotel Savannah Riverfront, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing