We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved this boutique hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Bohemian Hotel Savannah Riverfront, Autograph Collection
Ranked #30 of 113 Hotels in Savannah
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
207 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Loved this boutique hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

I absolutely loved this boutique hotel. It was absolutely charming. The location is great - it's right on the river walk. It's also within easy walking distance of almost all major Savannah attractions. The rooms are spacious and well appointed. The bar at the top is fun as well. The service was great - will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rosenfie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,046 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    576
    256
    129
    57
    28
See reviews for
144
587
14
84
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (352)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

A mostly wonderful hotel but not without its quirks. The public areas and rooms are stylish and plush, with all the amenity items in the room as you would expect from a luxury hotel. However, the food and service is decidedly mixed -- some great, some poor, most friendly, some lazy.

At breakfast the pancakes and biscuits and gravy were superb, the omelet dry and minimal ingredients beyond eggs. The free coffee in the lobby is nice, but when you ask for cream or milk it's, "we'll have to send down for it, maybe 20 or so minutes."

Some caveats: the rooftop bar is packed and jumping but with a mostly very young crowd. It's also loud enough on weekends that you will hear the noise on 7th and 8th floor rooms. They must put the valet parking cars in Atlanta as it takes at least 20 minutes to get your car -- make sure you call ahead.

The view and the location can't be beat -- this is the place to stay in Savannah. The physical property is excellent. Usually mixed service reflects either new staff or spotty management, a shame in an otherwise great place.

Room Tip: Both riverview and historic view (nice twist on city view, huh?) are great. Higher floors get rooft...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LeCur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kurt E, General Manager at The Bohemian Hotel Savannah Riverfront, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
Dear LeCur,

We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience with us regarding your recent stay. I am pleased that you enjoyed the room, view and location.

Your constructive comments about our food offerings have been shared with the team. We take pride in offering excellent service and food, and it is feedback like yours that help us focus and improve.

We do appreciate your patience while waiting for your car, while not quite Atlanta, our parking area is a bit of a distance from the hotel and we do suggest allowing a little extra time.

We look forward to seeing you on your next visit to Savannah.


Kurt Englund
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

We took a long weekend in Savannah and treated ourselves to a few nights at the Bohemian. The hotel was beautifully decorated and maintained. It was as if it had just been updated.The check in process was very easy and the staff was friendly. The restaurant boasts a rooftop bar with incredible views that you can't get anywhere else in Savannah. From one side you overlook the city and from the other side you over look the river and bridge. Such a nice view while dining on a few appetizers and a glass of wine. This hotel is also in easy walking distance to plenty of other restaurants, bars and shops, so you can park your car and walk to plenty of wonderful places. I will say this hotel has a very romantic feel, so it's great for couples. Not so sure it's a good place for families with small children. Loved every minute of it and will definitely return!

Room Tip: Request a room with a river view. It's more expensive, but definitely worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Machae22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amelia Island, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2013

Recently enjoyed 3 nights at The Bohemian for my bachelorette weekend...the location was perfect for walking everywhere! The room was very nice; we booked the standard historic view room and were pleased with the view from the 7th floor. The bathroom was spacious, shower had nice water pressure and everything felt very clean. The beds were comfortable and linens were nice. The service was excellent too, especially the bellman/doorman Mitch and valet gentlement Tim and Bo. Unfortunately I do not know the name of our housekeeper but whoever it was did a great job, especially since our room was in constant disarray with 4 girls sharing and stuff everywhere. I would love to return to this hotel the next time I'm in Savannah, especially for the convenient location and easy access to River Street (you don't have to walk down those steep staircases if you just use your hotel elevator!). I love both of their restaurants, Rocks on the River (brunch) and Rocks on the Roof (happy hour, live music). If the rates are not too much more than other area hotels I will definitely return.

Room Tip: If you book the standard historic room, request a high floor or else you will literally overlook the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank amandalavin_619
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
windsor, pa
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2013

My wife and i took our first trip to savannah for a pre-valentine's mommy get away. Our stay at The Bohemian was very nice. We were greeted by a valet as soon as we arrived. Check-in was smooth and very informative. Prior to arrival Courtney was very helpful in getting me set on dining options around town. Our bellman, Dan, was very courteous and took the time to review the TV/Computer/Hotel access information with us. The room was clean and comfortable, the bathroom spacious and the balcony was a nice addition. The restaurant and roof top lounge are both top notch-we spent the entire afternoon Saturday lounging in the sun by the fire reading our books and bantering with fellow travlers. During our four night stay we only had to open the front door ourselves twice! Additionally, most every staff member would ask how our stay was going and if everything was to our liking-very impressive. If you are a Marriott Rewards member, I will say that I must agree with others that you do not quite get the treatment you are used to. I asked for an upgrade that was not granted, where I am always automatically ugraded with Marriott. I would also recommend a weekday stay when possible as the young bar crowd is very rowdy on the weekends. Our neighbors were still going strong at 6:00 AM. One other positive, we had a rainy day and the hotel has FREE DVD's! We enjoyed a great local movie and room service-ignoring the rain the whole time. If not for the rowdiness on Friday and Saturday and the upgrade snub this would have been a five star experience-I would highly recommend this beatiful boutique hotel!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Troy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte
Level Contributor
80 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2013

Being a platinum member we were upgraded to a riverfront room, wonderful view of the ships passing in the night! They did not tell us about the rooftop bar upon check in but after visiting there it's worth an evening. The hotel is an older style, eclectic place, motiff out of the 1930's, but it all works. Do yourself a favor and have dinner at the Old Pink House and lunch at Mrs. Wilkes.

Room Tip: Riverfront is the way to go
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vintage16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2013

My wife and I are celebrating our anniversary, of all days, Valentine Style. We checked in and spoke with the concierge, explaining our vacation. Of course, it was suggested that we spend some time at one of the many venues within the hotel, but we also received other recommendations. Our bags were expeditiously taken upstairs, and we hit the rooftop bar. Breathtaking would be an understatement. With a couple of fabulously prepared martinis and some appetizers, we headed for our room. Upon arrival, my wife found a complimentary bottle of champagne, and chocolates. Very nice touch, Bohemian. We have a beautiful view of the riverfront, via the balcony. We are so looking forward to this celebration. Thank you so much to the staff of the Bohemian, you made my lady happy!!

Room Tip: Balcony Rooms are the best. Great view of the riverfront, and South Carolina.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank paul s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Savannah hotels
Downtown
Andaz Savannah
Andaz Savannah
#11 of 113 in Savannah
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,922 reviews
Downtown
Olde Harbour Inn - River Street Suites
Downtown
Mansion on Forsyth Park, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kimpton Brice Hotel
#17 of 113 in Savannah
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,185 reviews
Downtown
Hyatt Regency Savannah
Hyatt Regency Savannah
#29 of 113 in Savannah
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,640 reviews
Downtown
Cotton Sail Hotel
Cotton Sail Hotel
#21 of 113 in Savannah
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,026 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bohemian Hotel Savannah Riverfront, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bohemian Hotel Savannah Riverfront, Autograph Collection

Property: The Bohemian Hotel Savannah Riverfront, Autograph Collection
Address: 102 W Bay St, Savannah, GA 31401-1109
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 113 Hotels in Savannah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Bohemian Hotel Savannah Riverfront, Autograph Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 75
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Marriott, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Bohemian Hotel Savannah Riverfront, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing