We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gold and Platinum Members BEWARE”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Bohemian Hotel Savannah Riverfront, Autograph Collection
Ranked #29 of 113 Hotels in Savannah
Certificate of Excellence
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
109 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Gold and Platinum Members BEWARE”
Reviewed January 1, 2013

Let's start with the good stuff about The Bohemian. The location is fantastic. It sits on the river and is very close to many of the historic district’s main attractions: the City Market, Johnson Square, River Street, the shops on Whitaker, Broughton, etc. The hotel is clean, modern, and well decorated.

Now let's talk about the bad stuff. Originally, we were excited that the Marriott was expanding its footprint by having more options in more cities through its recent addition of the Autograph Collection, including Savannah’s Bohemian hotel and The Mansion at Forsyth Park. Our understanding and expectation was that, while the Autograph Collection hotels are not Marriott owned/franchised properties, the same benefits provided to Gold and Platinum Members would be provided at these properties. This is NOT the case, based on our recent experience at The Bohemian.

When we arrived, we did not receive an upgrade to our room which is frequently assured for Platinum members. Plus, we were placed in one of the smallest rooms available and near the elevator.

Not only did we not received our upgrade, but we did not even get normal benefits guaranteed for elite members. Normally, Gold and Platinum members receive complimentary access to the hotel's concierge lounge, or if there is no lounge, a free breakfast voucher is provided. At the Bohemian (which did not have a concierge lounge), we received two $10 coupons for breakfast to cover the two of us during our 4-day stay, with each coupon prominently stating that only one coupon could be used per day and that each coupon could not be combined with any other coupon/discount. This amount ($5 per person per day) is obviously inadequate to cover breakfast for two individuals. Plus, we did not use one of the vouchers but asked if we could use it on another day, we were emphatically declined.

Furthermore, we requested a late checkout at 12:30 pm, instead of the standard 11am checkout. We believed this was a modest and reasonable request, considering that most hotels give guests a one-hour grace period for checkout, even if you aren’t affiliated with any loyalty program. The front desk manager promptly declined. We asked if this declination, even applied for Marriott Platinum members. After a pause, the manager offered 12:00pm, which is still not normal or reasonable. This was irritating because loyal guests are forced to negotiate over half an hour, which realistically would make no meaningful impact on room preparation. We believe the logical response would be to simply give us the extra half hour without any fuss and risk of irritating the guest.

While none of these issues ruined our vacation or resulted in severe inconvenience, our Bohemian experience was less than stellar compared to our experience at other Marriott properties for loyalty program members. We believe our loyalty to the Marriott did not provide us with any benefit, even though we were Platinum members. We would have been better off staying at another hotel such as the Andaz, which appears to be a better value when comparing price, room size, and other standard amenities.

If Marriott is going to advertise to its Marriott elite members that these affiliated hotels offer the same benefits to its Gold and Platinum members, then Marriott has a lot more to do to integrate these new "independent" hotels into its system. At this point, these Autograph hotels appear to disregard their obligations to elite members. Until Marriott rectifies these problems, we will be more leery of staying at these Autograph hotels in the future. With this review, we can hopefully spare other Marriott Rewards members from the same negative experience (or at least warn them about such problems at these Autograph hotels).

Room Tip: The corner rooms and the rooms facing the river appear to be larger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Arlington7175
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kurt E, General Manager at The Bohemian Hotel Savannah Riverfront, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Dear Arlington 7175,

Thank you for sharing your experiences at Bohemian Hotel Savannah Riverfront. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed our hotel and its location in Savannah. I am sorry to hear that you were not pleased with the Gold and Platinum benefits.

When occupancy allows, we do offer the Gold and Platinum members the benefit of an upgrade. It looks like you may have been with us when the upgrade was not available. Also, the availability of a late check- out is also based on business levels.

As Autograph Collection Hotels are a group of unique individually owned hotels, so as well the other benefits are customized per hotel. Our rewards benefits are designed for the business traveler, so will only include a breakfast allowance per room on weekdays. It appears that you may have been with us over a weekend. Either way, I understand your comment and have shared your feedback with the Marriott Corporate office.
I would be more than happy to discuss with you personally your comments. Please feel free to contact me.

Thank you again for your comments.

Kurt Englund
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,076 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    593
    260
    136
    58
    29
See reviews for
148
604
14
91
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (360)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
The Villages, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 30, 2012

I work at a hotel in Florida & this hotel set the standard of how a premier hotel should treat their guests. We stayed for our one year wedding anniversary under a Marriot Associate Discount (I do not work for a Marriot, but my Mother does) so we were paying a considerably lower rate than other guests, yet we were treated amazingly. They made our anniversary extra special. The beds are plush and comfortable and the TV systems are fantastic. It was rainy so we did not get to check out the rooftop bar, but there is always next time :)

Room Tip: We got upgraded to a room facing the river and it was really lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrsMeyers1111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kurt E, General Manager at The Bohemian Hotel Savannah Riverfront, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Dear MrsMeyers1111,

Thank you for choosing Bohemian Hotel Savannah Riverfront for your anniversary celebration! It is always nice to hear from our guests. Rain or shine, Rocks on the Roof still has a great atmosphere. Hope to see you soon.

Kurt Englund
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 29, 2012

WOWWWWWWW!

So super ultra extra swanky!

The Man-Friend and I had decided to take a random day trip from New Orleans and see where we wound up. 10ish hours later we had made it to Jacksonville, and not being particularly fond of North Florida, decided to head toward Savannah, a city with which I have had a fairly consistent love affair for quite a few years.

We scrambled to find a room at the last minute, late at night, and we were looking for something a few steps above a Holiday Inn....

Holy Crap did we get lucky. The Bohemian Hotel is easily the swankiest most luxurious decadent hotel I have EVER stayed in. We checked in around 11pm and met Lavernitra, who was so gracious. With a few magic keystrokes she upgraded us to the super ultra fancy pants corner room, and sent up a bottle of wine and a cheese plate.

The room itself is almost overwhelming. Floor to ceiling windows overlooking the river, Flat screen TV with Netflix and internet, soft jazz playing when we walked in, Jacuzzi tub for 2, velvet headboard, and a CHANDELIER MADE OUT OF OYSTER SHELLS!

We slept like ageing decadent rockstars. Woke up in the morning to the most delicious Eggs Benedict I have ever had, delivered to my bed, and the wonderful room service lady who helped me make math on the check as I cannot count past 3 before I have coffee.

We spent the day exploring Savannah like tourists, which was wonderful, and returned to the Bohemian determined to find somewhere special for dinner.

Lo and behold, the ever helpful, always friendly Lavernitra is at the desk again! She recommended restaurants, made us reservations and sent us on our way.

Dinner (Vic's on the River) and adventures after were awesome y'all, but that's a totally different review.

Lavernitra (seriously, does she ever sleep?) checked us out in the morning and sent us on our way.

Stay at this hotel. It is GORGEOUS. clean, friendly, accommodating and luxurious. And when you check in, see if Lavernitra is working during your stay, because she is MAGIC.

Room Tip: Pro tip: Ask for a corner room
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EricaLC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kurt E, General Manager at The Bohemian Hotel Savannah Riverfront, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Dear EricaLC,

Thank you for sharing your recent Bohemian Hotel Savannah Riverfront experience with us. We love exuberant guests!

We have shared your comments with the team, and especially Lavernitra.

We look forward to welcoming you back on your next escape to Savannah.

Kurt Englund
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2012

We stayed just one night, while traveling through Savannah and I want to return. This hotel is so beautiful and there are so many nice touches - it's a feast for your eyes. From the art on the walls, to the decorative light fixtures - the decor everywhere is fabulous. When we first entered our room, we hear music playing from the CD player. Nice touch. Our room had a view of the riverfront and modern decor. The bathroom was gorgeous - very nice shower - but I did miss having a bathtub. When I called the front desk to inquire, she said not all the rooms have tubs and there is no guarantee... Another nice touch, was a bottle of affordable red wine with wine glasses - only $27. It's the little things like this, that make a difference. The ice maker was in the middle of the hallway and it looked like one you would see at a restaurant only with a fancy velvet curtain and special lights around it. The room was spacious and extremely clean - gorgeous linens and comfortable beds. Breakfast was part of our room package and very delicious & creative. The roof top bar was fun too. This is a great hotel - with lots of ammenities. We would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Make sure you get a riverfront view - it's worth the upgrade. If a bathtub is important to you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kris D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kurt E, General Manager at The Bohemian Hotel Savannah Riverfront, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Dear Kris D,

Thank you for sharing your recent Bohemian Hotel Savannah Riverfront experience with us, I am glad to hear you enjoyed all of the special touches. For your next trip, I hope you plan on staying more than one night!

Kurt Englund
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level Contributor
24 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2012

Loved this property! It was cool, chic and trendy in a great location!! This is our go-to hotel in Savannah.

Location: Right on the River Front- easy walk to everything. A few blocks from some of the nicest neighborhoods in Savannah, or a few steps from the River walk. Either way, you can't go wrong.

Rooms: Trendy and unexpected. Loved the shell chandelier, loved the huge bathroom with a huge soaking tub. Rooms were exceptionally clean. Loved the small touches throughout the rooms- the jazz machine always playing when you walked in the room, the faux fur throw blanket, the huge chandeliers.

Service: Great. Very knowledgeable of Savannah. Very helpful. Very accommodating.

I can't say it enough- really fantastic property. Absolutely would recommend this to all of our friends and family.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JJFigs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kurt E, General Manager at The Bohemian Hotel Savannah Riverfront, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Dear JJFigs,

We are thrilled to hear you enjoyed the special Bohemian touches on your recent visit to Savannah! Thank you for sharing experience with us. It is something that a picture can not do justice. We look forward to welcoming you back.

Regards,

Kurt Englund
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clayton, North Carolina
Level Contributor
31 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2012

Terrific place to stay. Checked in Christmas Day and was met by a very attentive staff. Had a river view room on the fifth floor. It was fun seeing the large container ships pass by the window just a few hundered feet away. The rooms were modern and exceptionally clean. Ate breakfast twice in the Rock restaurant downstairs and was pleased with the food. Location was within walking distance of just about everything we wanted to see and do. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ArchieTSB32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kurt E, General Manager at The Bohemian Hotel Savannah Riverfront, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Dear Tony J,

Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay with us. I am pleased to hear you had a great time. We appreciate your recommendation and hope to see you again soon in Savannah!

Regards,

Kurt Englund
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level Contributor
217 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed December 26, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here during our Christmas travels. Loved the room. Had a corner king with a great Jacuzzi tub. Artwork in the hotel is unique. They clearly paid attention to details, from the lobby to the hallways to the rooms. Room chandeliers are funky shell design. Different furniture. Glass bathroom door was odd though...can pretty much see through it. Nothing cookie cutter about the hotel. Loved it.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank krutec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kurt E, General Manager at The Bohemian Hotel Savannah Riverfront, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, December 28, 2012
Dear krutec,

We are very pleased to hear you enjoyed your Bohemian experience! Thank you for your comments.

We look forward to your next visit to Savannah.

Kurt Englund
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Savannah hotels
Downtown
Andaz Savannah
Andaz Savannah
#13 of 113 in Savannah
2,993 reviews
Downtown
Olde Harbour Inn - River Street Suites
The Kimpton Brice Hotel
#17 of 113 in Savannah
1,241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Mansion on Forsyth Park, Autograph Collection
Downtown
Hyatt Regency Savannah
Hyatt Regency Savannah
#32 of 113 in Savannah
2,773 reviews
Downtown
Cotton Sail Hotel
Cotton Sail Hotel
#21 of 113 in Savannah
1,067 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bohemian Hotel Savannah Riverfront, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bohemian Hotel Savannah Riverfront, Autograph Collection

Property: The Bohemian Hotel Savannah Riverfront, Autograph Collection
Address: 102 W Bay St, Savannah, GA 31401-1109
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 113 Hotels in Savannah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Bohemian Hotel Savannah Riverfront, Autograph Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 75
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your The Bohemian Hotel Savannah Riverfront, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing