We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Choice Traveling North on 95”
Review of Super 8 Savannah

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Super 8 Savannah
Ranked #50 of 115 Hotels in Savannah
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed March 19, 2012

The staff at this hotel went out of their way to assure that I was comfortable. La Quinta is usually a first choice, but the reviews on The Trip Advisor convinced me to try this Super 8. I was traveling with my 17-year old cat and for convenience sake, the receptionist made sure that I had a room on the ground floor next to outside access and a few feet away from my car. This made it so easy to transport kitty and luggage into the room. This is a small point, but frequently key cards don't work in door locks. These work every time! The room was clean and quiet. It would have been good if the refrigerator worked, but I was there for such a short time that I simply filled up my cooler with ice from the ice maker.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anotherteacher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,348)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,128 - 1,134 of 1,348 reviews

Reviewed March 18, 2012

The good...
The room was spacious, very clean and well lit. WiFi was on the slow end of the scale.
This hotel has the kind of fan on the heat/cool vent that will stay on continuously to provide a little noise to cover up noise from other rooms or the parking lot.
The bad...
Breakfast was sparse. No skim milk. Did have fruit but no protein items.
The air/heat vent was so close to the bed that it made the bed sheet vibrate all night.
This hotel uses duvet covers for the beds. These are like a thick quilt that rests on the sheet. The problem with this is that with the duvet on you are too hot: with only the sheet, you are too cold. Some hotels that use this system also provide another regular blanket as an option. This one didn't.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Thank OhioOrienteer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2012

I am used to thinking of Super 8's as near the bottom of the lot in terms of hotels that are dog friendly. But having read other reviews of this one, I gulped, and with some trepidation booked a room for a night while passing through Savannah. I booked an executive suite for a grand total (with AAA discount) of slightly less than $70, + a $10 per pet fee for the night. I didn't expect much, just hoped that the reviews were correct. Oh boy, were they ever! Huge, spotlessly clean, high ceilings, 32" flat screen HDTV with free HBO, sitting and office area nicely separated from very comfortable King bed in the sleeping area. If I had been traveling without pets and stayed at the usual places where that is not a problem and which have more upscale reputations, I would have spent easily over $100 more for accommodations no better.

Oh yes, did I mention that this is immediately off 95, but still only 20 minutes of easy driving on freeways to downtown historic Savannah?

Room Tip: If with pets: we stayed in 106, which was close to an exit to walk dogs. And, as I wrote above, gre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jbcapecod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2012

We stayed here as it is a Southwest Airlines Rapid Reward hotel and it also got very good ratings on Trip advisor. Pretty newly renovated. It was a very clean large room (we got a king) and we always check for bedbugs and there were absolutely none there! Refrigerator, microwave and a couch, table and desk as well! Highly recommend for a trip along I95. A little far from downtown Savannah (10 min, or so) but we were on our way south to Florida after spending the day there and didnt mind being south, as we were heading that way anyway. Also, while in Savannah that day, we ate at the **Crystal Beer Parlor** in downtown Savannah (301 West Jones St). It was absolutely great (!) for the amazing selection of beers on tap, burgers & salads and the pork nachoes were to die for!

Room Tip: Good for business, a family or couple trip on I95.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank palilalehua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2012

Can't believe the great price on this hotel. I had low expectations given the great price but was pleasantly surprised at the cleanliness, spacious rooms, friendly staff, & terrific breakfast that was included. (loved making my own belgian waffle every morning!) The only down-side I can come up with is that the water pressure on the third floor wasn't great, but not terrible. Overall, very pleasant experience!

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brandy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2012

Wow what a surprise. Totally clean with no fowl smell. Quality linens. great bathroom. Gym with treadmill, elliptical and bike. Continental breakfast. Very worth the money. We will stay again on our next trip.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ctominec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2012

on check in i had a conversation with the desk person who said he had been in my area of the country recently and stayed in a great hotel, it must be different being the host at a hotel and then being a guest at a hotel too, the breakfast was good, everything in the whole place was sparkling clean, nice mattresses! free wifi,

Room Tip: in the back of the hotel it borders on a greenway- saw squirrels playing when i woke up
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tealkitten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Savannah hotels
0.4 mi away
Red Roof Inn & Suites Savannah
0 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Savannah South
0.3 mi away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#95 of 115 in Savannah
101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.7 mi away
Best Western Central Inn
Best Western Central Inn
#36 of 115 in Savannah
911 reviews
0.4 mi away
Travelodge Savannah Gateway
Travelodge Savannah Gateway
#83 of 115 in Savannah
857 reviews
9.9 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Savannah Midtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Super 8 Savannah? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Savannah

Address: 387 Canebrake Rd, Savannah, GA 31419-9001
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Savannah
#5 Green Hotel in Savannah
Price Range: $60 - $121 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Super 8 Savannah 2.5*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pet-Friendly Hotel Near Interstate 95 With Free Breakfast Stop into our Super 8 Savannah hotel for a well-deserved rest on your road trip through eastern Georgia. Located just off Interstate 95 - and minutes from Historic District, River Street and 10 miles from Savannah/Hilton Head International Airport - our non-smoking hotel provides comfortable accommodations at an affordable rate. Each room is equipped with dependable amenities like a microwave, refrigerator, 32 inch flat-screen TV with HBO and free Wi-Fi Internet access so you can stay in touch with family and friends back home. Get a workout in our exercise room with a 42 inch TV, put the finishing touches on your presentation in the business center or return to your room for a comfortable night of sleep atop our cozy bedding package. Kids 17 and under stay free with an adult at our pet-friendly hotel, and we offer handicapped- accessible rooms and facilities. Start each morning with free 8-item SuperStart breakfast bonanza with fresh waffles before heading out. LOCAL ATTRACTIONS Find great shopping at Savannah Outlet Stores, Oglethorpe Mall and Savannah Mall, just 7 miles from our Savannah hotel, or head to the Historical District for attractions like Massie Heritage Center and Davenport House Museum, then take to the water a Savannah Riverboat Cruise. Walk beneath the oak trees covered in Spanish moss at Wormsloe Historic Site, and old plantation home, or stroll the grounds at Old Fort Jackson, just 18 miles away. DINING OPTIONS Just outside our Savannah hotel are a number of family-friendly restaurants to suit whatever food mood you are in, like Houlihan's, Cracker Barrell, Ruby Tuesdays, Applebees and IHOP. If you feel like seafood travel five miles west toward Georgetown and dine on burger creations and steak dinner at Rachel's 1190 or head to the Historic District to sample the unique dining experiences in Savannah. BUSINESS AND EVENT FACILITIES Our hotel in Savannah offers a business center for your copy and print needs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Super 8 Savannah reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Savannah Hotel Savannah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing