We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great pet friendly hotel”
Review of Super 8 Savannah

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Super 8 Savannah
Ranked #50 of 113 Hotels in Savannah
GreenLeadersSilver level
Norwich, Connecticut
1 review
“great pet friendly hotel”
Reviewed June 15, 2011

We stayed here in May and found the hotel to be friendly, clean and very comfortable. We traveled with our dog and the hotel was very pet friendly. would definately stay here again. great bargain!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rehsqca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,295 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    485
    439
    206
    89
    76
See reviews for
489
482
87
64
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Moore, Oklahoma
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2011

We stayed here from Oklahoma City to see historic Savannah. A great location outside of Savannah. Very clean with excellent service. If you want to see Savannah, but not stay in the heart of town, stay here! You won't be disappointed!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank baronsfan9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TX
Level 4 Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2011

Arrived in Savannah a day earlier than planned and decided to stay here based on all the positive reviews. Was not disappointed!!
Very clean, nice sized rooms, great customer service and I can't say enough about the mattress!! Wished I could've brought it home! Such a nice surprise from a Super 8! Would stay again if in the area.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lvstotravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Little Rock, Arkansas
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed June 6, 2011

Our stay @ the Super 8 in Savannah, GA was excellent We were two blocks off the main roads through town (i-95 & 204) so getting around town was great. The area was quiet and clean and the staff were friendly and helpful. We had car trouble and the staff even offered to take us to the car rental shop (talk about Southern Hospitality) Rooms were especially clean and comfortable. We are planning a trip back this fall and we will definitely book here again!
Arkansas Traveler

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ArkansasTennisTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgetown, Kentucky
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2011

Stayed here our first night in Savannah, before heading to a B&B for the rest of the time. Was leary at picking a Super 8 to stay at, but selected with help from trip advisor. The reviews were dead on. Very clean, big rooms, large comfy beds, very friendly and helpful staff. Would definitely stay here again, wife was very pleased.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank C_A_T_SCATSCATSCATS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
55 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2011

I booked a room for my mother and I after seeing that out of all the hotels in the Savannah area, this Super Eight was ranked so highly on Trip Advisor. Mind you, I had my doubts because Super Eight isn't exactly considered "upscale" by any means. The last one I stayed at was something out of a Wes Craven movie. But we were on a budget and most of the reviews were positive so I took the plunge.

This hotel is right off I-95 and a good 20-30 minutes from the historic district, depending on how you drive it. That alone was the main drawback, which is not a fault of the hotel itself. There are a few restaurants around (Shoney's, Hooters, McDonald's, Hardee's). Houlihan's is the one we went to the most and it was very good.

The young man who checked us in was nice, I think he was the owner's son. Our room was on the second floor next to the elevator, which gave me some concern for noise issues but there were none. The hotel is fairly small with only three floors but the rooms are, in my opinion, huge.

Our room had two very comfortable queen beds with high-quality bedding, on par or better with a Hampton Inn. No funky smells. The bathroom was spotless with a granite counter. The decor was very up to date. Flat screen TV was very nice. A microwave and microfridge were clean and worked fine. I was impressed that instead of the usual air conditioner controlled by a knob, each room has a thermostat so you can set the temp to whatever you like. No waking up to a frozen or sweltering room in the middle of the night.

Breakfast is provided and leans heavily on the carbs. Toast, bagels, English muffins, danish, instant oatmeal, three kinds of cereal are available. Bananas and apples were the only fruit. They did have a nice make-your-own waffle station. Some yogurt would have been a good addition. But considering how low the rates are, it's not bad.

We were not in our room a lot during our stay because we went into Savannah for most of the day. But when we were there, it was remarkably quiet. My only criticisms are that the bath towels were on the small side and they only provided three per day. For two women, that's not a lot but we could have asked for more.

If you want to be close to the action in the historic area, you might want to consider booking a hotel closer in. But if you are on a tight budget and don't mind a little driving, the Super Eight is perfect. You definitely get your money's worth and more.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peachyswan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FL
Level 5 Contributor
39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2011

surprisingly nice for a Super 8. newer, well maintained, good size rooms, lower prices. ideal for those travelling through on I-95 it's right off the interstate. not real close to downtown savannah.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PaceFl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Savannah hotels
0.0 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Savannah South
0.4 mi away
Red Roof Inn & Suites Savannah
9.7 mi away
Best Western Central Inn
Best Western Central Inn
#38 of 113 in Savannah
827 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#97 of 113 in Savannah
91 reviews
9.9 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Savannah Midtown
9.9 mi away
Quality Inn Midtown
Quality Inn Midtown
#58 of 113 in Savannah
480 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Super 8 Savannah? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Savannah

Property: Super 8 Savannah
Address: 387 Canebrake Rd, Savannah, GA 31419-9001
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Savannah
#6 Green Hotel in Savannah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Super 8 Savannah 2.5*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pet-Friendly Hotel Near Interstate 95 With Free Breakfast Stop into our Super 8 Savannah hotel for a well-deserved rest on your road trip through eastern Georgia. Located just off Interstate 95 - and minutes from Historic District, River Street and 10 miles from Savannah/Hilton Head International Airport - our non-smoking hotel provides comfortable accommodations at an affordable rate. Each room is equipped with dependable amenities like a microwave, refrigerator, 32 inch flat-screen TV with HBO and free Wi-Fi Internet access so you can stay in touch with family and friends back home. Get a workout in our exercise room with a 42 inch TV, put the finishing touches on your presentation in the business center or return to your room for a comfortable night of sleep atop our cozy bedding package. Kids 17 and under stay free with an adult at our pet-friendly hotel, and we offer handicapped- accessible rooms and facilities. Start each morning with free 8-item SuperStart breakfast bonanza with fresh waffles before heading out. LOCAL ATTRACTIONS Find great shopping at Savannah Outlet Stores, Oglethorpe Mall and Savannah Mall, just 7 miles from our Savannah hotel, or head to the Historical District for attractions like Massie Heritage Center and Davenport House Museum, then take to the water a Savannah Riverboat Cruise. Walk beneath the oak trees covered in Spanish moss at Wormsloe Historic Site, and old plantation home, or stroll the grounds at Old Fort Jackson, just 18 miles away. DINING OPTIONS Just outside our Savannah hotel are a number of family-friendly restaurants to suit whatever food mood you are in, like Houlihan's, Cracker Barrell, Ruby Tuesdays, Applebees and IHOP. If you feel like seafood travel five miles west toward Georgetown and dine on burger creations and steak dinner at Rachel's 1190 or head to the Historic District to sample the unique dining experiences in Savannah. BUSINESS AND EVENT FACILITIES Our hotel in Savannah offers a business center for your copy and print needs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Super 8 Savannah reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Savannah Hotel Savannah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing