We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location with a boutique feel, within walking distance of historic district shops and restaurants.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
SpringHill Suites Savannah Downtown/Historic District
Ranked #39 of 113 Hotels in Savannah
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great location with a boutique feel, within walking distance of historic district shops and restaurants.”
Reviewed November 8, 2010

We have stayed in a quite a few SpringHill Suites around the country, and this one was very different from others. The hotel has a good location, right in the heart of the downtown/historic area, across from the court house, with a casual Mediterranean take out restaurant next door. This is not a stand alone property, but is built into a beautiful old building on the corner of Montgomery and Oglethorpe.

The hotel has a boutique feel to it from the lobby to the small business center, to the concierge desk. There is a shop within the hotel to purchase water, snacks, batteries, etc.

Instead of a bedroom and a living room area with a door separating them, the rooms here are separated partially by a desk/workspace area that has a glass partition. This does not provide the type of privacy we are used to finding in other suite hotels, but I imagine it would be fine for a business traveler or a family smaller than our family of five.

There is a mini fridge and microwave as well as a pull out sofa in the living room area. Rooms either have two queen beds or one king. One of the nicest features is that the room had two partial bathrooms housed within beautifully designed pocket doors. One had a sink and toilet, and the other had a sink and shower/bath, which helped when we were all trying to get ready at the same time. The continental breakfast was quite standard--bagels, muffins, apples and bananas with a few types of cereals, juice, and yogurt.

The hotel is within walking distance of many restaurants and tourist sites, such as Savannah City Market and Ellis Square. The Savannah Candy Company must be visited, especially if you like candy apples. In Ellis Square, there are fountains for children to play in with lots of shaded spots for parents to sit and watch. One of our favorite shops was Cafe GelatOhhh!, where they had strong iced coffees and lattes as well as fresh gelato that the children loved. There are many horse drawn carriages throughout the streets, and the operators give a general history of Savannah while taking you on your ride.

We would probably stay there again specifically because of the location and the bathroom set up.

Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank SuzanneinATL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leesmithgm, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Savannah Downtown/Historic District, responded to this review, November 10, 2010
SuzanneinATL,

Thank you so much for your review! You recommend some great spots to visit in the Historic District. Café Gelatohhh is one of my favorite dessert stops after lunch! I am so glad you enjoyed your stay at the hotel and look forward to having you as a guest again soon!

Sincerely,
Lee Smith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,066 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    457
    360
    175
    48
    26
See reviews for
389
343
22
89
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (190)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Athens, Ga
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2010

This hotel is 5-6 short blocks from Bay Street and is convenient to many spots in Savannah. The wi-fi in the room is quick enough and Ronald the valet is a shining star. The front desk was a little shaky at check-in and check-out. The breakfast was technically hot however the "egg patties" and "turkey patties" were not real appealing. I opted instead for the oatmeal one day and a waffle the next. Hotel appeared pretty clean despite several carpet stains in my room. The towels were much thinner than I would have liked. Overall a good value for the price I paid and I would stay there again.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AthensGator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leesmithgm, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Savannah Downtown/Historic District, responded to this review, November 10, 2010
AthensGator,

Thank you for your review of your stay with us! I am sorry you found a couple of our offerings at breakfast less than satisfactory and the towels not up to par. I am glad you found the hotel to be a good value and look forward to your next stay with us.

Sincerely,
Lee Smith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moultrie, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2010

We visited during our childrens' fall break. The rooms were clean. The housekeeping staff was very accommodating. I enjoyed the fitness room and the kids enjoyed the pool. The concierge was helpful with dinner and site seeing reservations. The hotel is a short walk to River Street and other accommodations. Be careful with the valet parking. We got double billed but they are correcting it. I also advise you to look at making your reservation through a third-party online service rather than directly. We saved a lot over the internet rate on their website.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sogalaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leesmithgm, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Savannah Downtown/Historic District, responded to this review, November 10, 2010
sogalaw,

Thank you so much for taking the time to offer feedback on your stay! I’m sorry about the parking issue. If you find it has not been corrected, please do not hesitate to call me directly to have it taken care of. I am glad you found a great deal and stayed with us!

Sincerely,
Lee Smith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2010

We stayed here for two days to take in the beautiful culture of Savannah Georgia and loved the sleek, modern Springhill suites (Marriott). The hotel is very new and the furnishings are nice, comfortable and unique. Beautiful bathroom set up with separate WC and shower for privacy when traveling with 2. Nice plentiful free breakfast, wonderful location in historic district, convenient to everything. Lots of nice restaurants close by. We will stay here again when we come through town.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank emma1911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leesmithgm, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Savannah Downtown/Historic District, responded to this review, November 4, 2010
emma1911,

Thank you so much for your review! I am so glad you enjoyed your stay at the hotel and look forward to having you as a guest again soon!

Sincerely,
Lee Smith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pensacola, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2010

Hotel is new, and very clean. Tastefully decorated. Beds were comfy. Pool area and hot tub were clean. (Clean is a very big deal for me) I booked through a service other than trip advisor and the hotel was very reasonably priced, perfectly placed in the historic district and we walked to everything. The front desk staff were all very friendly and helpful. The continental breakfast was good with eggs, cheese, sausage and make your own waffles along with all the regular continental breakfast fare. I definitely will stay here anytime I come to Savannah.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank emeraldcoasttraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leesmithgm, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Savannah Downtown/Historic District, responded to this review, November 4, 2010
emeraldcoasttraveler,

Thank you for your review of your stay with us! I am glad you found the hotel to be a great value and hope you will visit again soon.

Sincerely,
Lee Smith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2010

Place and staff were fantastic. Exceedingly helpful and made the stay a pleasure.Excellent breakfast in the morning...wide variety and more than enough food. Hotel was clean and smelled clean. Valet service was excellent and check-in was a breeze. I will definitely stay here in the future...it is what I would expect in a great hotel. Close to the historic squares and easy to get transport to/from.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank slgilley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leesmithgm, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Savannah Downtown/Historic District, responded to this review, November 4, 2010
slgilley,

Thank you so much for taking the time to offer feedback on your stay! I am glad you enjoyed your time with us and hope you will return soon!

Sincerely,
Lee Smith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dover, Delaware
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2010

This is a wonderful, modern hotel in easy walking distance to everything. Rooms are very stylish, comfortable and much more interesting than most hotel rooms. Staff was friendly and customer oriented. Great hot buffet breakfast. I would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank sunjeff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Savannah hotels
Yamacraw Village
Fairfield Inn & Suites Savannah Downtown/Historic District
Downtown
Courtyard Savannah Downtown/Historic District
Downtown
Residence Inn Savannah Downtown/Historic District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District
Downtown
Staybridge Suites Savannah Historic District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SpringHill Suites Savannah Downtown/Historic District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SpringHill Suites Savannah Downtown/Historic District

Property: SpringHill Suites Savannah Downtown/Historic District
Address: 150 Montgomery St, Savannah, GA 31401-3228
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Family Hotel in Savannah
#26 Romantic Hotel in Savannah
#32 Business Hotel in Savannah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — SpringHill Suites Savannah Downtown/Historic District 3*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The brand-new SpringHill Suites Savannah Historic District is located in the heart of the Historic District, offering free breakfast and contemporary guest suites. Our Savannah hotel’s downtown suites are within walking distance of the Savannah Civic Center, Telfair Museum of Art, City Market, Lady & Son's Restaurant, River Street & Savannah's Visitor Center. For Girl Scouts, we offer the immediate access to the Juliette Gordon Lowe Birthplace, a great way to experience the history of Savannah near our downtown hotel. Our hotel’s complimentary features include a hot breakfast, high-speed Internet in all guest rooms and public areas, mini-fridge and microwave in every guest room, on-site concierge services with trolley pick-up & an on-site heated pool and state-of-the-art fitness center. All of our hotel’s downtown Savannah, GA guest rooms are 50% larger than average & include an oversized walk-in glass shower, a separate powder room and a 37" flat-screen TV. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your SpringHill Suites Savannah Downtown/Historic District reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Springhill Suites Savannah Downtown Hotel Savannah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing