We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Excellent place to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of SpringHill Suites Savannah Downtown/Historic District

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
SpringHill Suites Savannah Downtown/Historic District
Ranked #33 of 112 Hotels in Savannah
Certificate of Excellence
Lawrenceville, Georgia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

I arrived very late, after midnight, and the valet and front desk were very helpful and friendly. The suite was very, very nice and quite large. The bed was wonderful. I liked the bathroom arrangement. Very good breakfast and easy walk to most areas of Historic Savannah. I will stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Henry R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

905 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    408
    307
    138
    35
    17
See reviews for
320
293
19
76
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (169)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
67 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

We were in Savannah for a week and stayed at this SpringHill Suites. The location was great for bumming around the Savannah historic district - we walked everywhere.

The hotel was nice and very quiet, even when there was a large tour and a large group of Girl Scouts. Our room was spacious (king room) and we liked that the toilet was separate from the shower. It was also nice to have the couch / desk area in addition to the bed since we were in our room for more than just sleeping a couple of the mornings.

The room & public areas seemed clean and new. The pool area was OK - in the shade in the afternoon. Couple of the chairs were broken. Good temp for pool and whirlpool.

We had the hotel's breakfast on one day and skipped it the rest of the days. The food didn't look that great, the waffles tasted like plastic / chemical, and there wasn't much for non-carb options (didn't find fruit at all).

Room Tip: We were in 518 and it was nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RelaxedBadgerFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danielle V, Manager at SpringHill Suites Savannah Downtown/Historic District, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Dear Guest,

We’re glad you enjoyed our location for walking around Savannah and the layout of our spacious suite rooms. We apologize the breakfast buffet was having an off day, as our guests normally love the waffles and there is fresh fruit available. We will be sure to use your comments to further improve our guest’s experience. We will also make sure double check the furniture by the pool deck to ensure it isin proper condition. Thank you for sharing your review and we hope to have you as our guest once again.

Sincerely,
Danielle Valenchis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brasilia, DF
Level Contributor
72 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

Well, I was in Savannah attending a seminar that was taking place at the Hyatt Regency on Bay St, however the rates were a bit on the expensive side on that hotel and I started looking around for other options. Found a great rate on this hotel (US$ 109/night) plus 50% discount on valet parking (usual rate: US$ 20 a day).

We arrived very early (about 10 a.m.) and asked when we could be checked-in. Although the regular check-in time is quite late (4 pm), we managed to get into our room at 2 p.m. which was nice. Room is spacious with flat TV, separate areas for bed and couch. The toilet is also in a different room from the shower which is great also. Besides, this was the first hotel I stayed in the US where the shower wasn't into a bathtub, which didn't stop the water from leaking to the floor, but it's a minor issue though.

Nice breakfast (very standard items: juice, milk, bagels, waffles, eggs, sausages, peanut butter, jelly, honey, butter, etc.), a rather nice gym room also (loads of treadmills and not so many dumbbells).

You can't beat the location. You're a 5-10 minute walk from all the top spots in Savannah, which is a lovely beautiful town. People were always nice to us (front desk, valet parking guys, housekeeping, etc.).

The swimming pool almost always had people in it (despite the fact it was a bit chilli sometimes) and there was always coffee available at the front desk, anytime you wish.

All things considered I guess we've got ourselves a great deal, would definitely come back.

Room Tip: No particular tips here, just keep in mind the swimming pool is located on the 2nd floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank rafaelandrezo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cape coral
Level Contributor
47 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

We were on our way back home to Florida and decided to stop in Savannah for a few days. We always use Marriott properties so naturally chose one in Savannah as well. We chose the Springhill Suites because it was in the historic district and served complimentary breakfast. We know what to expect in terms of the room and this room was no exception. We had a king sized bed, walk-in shower and vanity and separate commode and second sink. There was also a small living room, desk, microwave, refrigerator, and free Wi-Fi. This property also had a concierge who was extremely helpful in providing maps, making reservations and answering questions and giving directions. I noticed other reviewers low ranked this property because they were charged $20 per day valet parking fee. I travel enough to know that this is a standard practice in a large city where parking is at a premium. Whenever we needed our car, we called from the room and the car was waiting for us downstairs when we got there – you can’t ask for better service than that. The hotel is located a few blocks from the Market and you can actually walk just about anywhere in the city. In fact, we walked from the hotel all the way to the far end of the river walk. Our room was clean, neat and had plenty of towels and pillows, and the bed was extremely comfortable. The breakfast was the standard Marriott fare offering including fruit, fresh made waffles, eggs, sausage, ham, bagels, toast, muffins, juice, etc. The hotel also offered coffee, tea, hot chocolate 24 hours a day in the lobby. Everyone at the hotel was exceptionally friendly and we were greeted every time we passed by. If staying in Savannah again, or recommending a hotel to someone else, I would not hesitate to go to this Spring Hill Suites.

Room Tip: Higher rooms would have a better view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ggh55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tarpon Springs, Florida
Level Contributor
70 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

I wish Marriott would read these reviews about how so many people are being charged incorrectly for valet parking at this hotel. It happened to us this past weekend. We also parked on the street in front of the hotel. When we got our bill and found we were charged for valet parking, I went to the front desk and nicely informed them that there was an error, we did not use valet parking, we parked on the street. The man at the front desk actually said "Are you sure the valet did not give you a ticket and park your car?" He then took my sheet and proceeded to help another customer. I stood there for a few minutes. He finally returned to me and said "I credited you back the money." That was it - nothing like "Sorry", "Have a nice day", "Thanks for staying with us", nothing. (I was checking out at the time also). He just turned away and took a $1 tip from someone who asked him for change of a $10 bill. (Maybe I was supposed to give him a tip for correcting my bill?). As for the room, it was really nice - comfortable and clean. The location of the hotel is great - you can park the car and walk to everything. The breakfast was horrible! The eggs were cold and overcooked, sausage overcooked and cold, applejuice was all water. Never saw an attendant there cleaning up or refreshing anything. All in all, lovely hotel in a great location but there are so many other options available, including other Marriotts, we would not stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HarleysMa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danielle V, Manager at SpringHill Suites Savannah Downtown/Historic District, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Dear Marriott Guest,

We have heard from our guests that this is an ongoing problem with the system we have in place and we are currently re-evaluating our system to come up with a better process that will meet our guests expectations. We apologize for the customer service from our front desk agent and we will be sure to review this instance with the staff for improved service. We appreciate your comments & want you to know that we are listening. It is never our intent to intentionally charge our guests for services not received, but an ineffective procedure that we are trying to correct. Thank you for your understanding & rest assured we are working to better serve you!


Sincerely,
Danielle Valenchis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petersfield
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

We arrived on Sunday April 6TH, the front desk suggested we park out front for the day(free Sunday) and plug the meter after 9am next morning, until our departure. She even gave me change for the meter. After returning our email bill showed the charge. After contacting Marriott they could not help because it is independently owned (however she recorded the false billing and would recommend a follow up). I contacted the Manager at the Hotel and she informed me that it is the Hotel policy basically to charge for Valet and it is up to the guest to rectify the problem on your time later! After this effort , she offered my refund of course, and in the future, to come and see her personnally for a $20 credit towards my room if we choose to stay there again. AHH, thanks a lot.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Leonard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danielle V, Manager at SpringHill Suites Savannah Downtown/Historic District, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay in our hotel during your Savannah vacation. We apologize about the valet charge on your bill but we are glad our staff reversed the charges and offered a twenty dollar credit towards your next stay with us. We have heard from our guests that this is an ongoing problem with the system we have in place and we are currently re-evaluating our system to ensure a better process that will meet our guests expectations.

We appreciate your comments and want you to know that we are listening. It is never our intent to intentionally charge our guests for services not received, but an ineffective procedure that we are trying to correct. Thank you for your understanding & rest assured we are working to better serve you.


Sincerely,
Danielle Valenchis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericksburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

A 2 night stay, 4/2-4/4 proved to be most enjoyable. Choose this hotel due to the reviews. This was spring break week and it was completely booked. Check-in was busy in the afternoon but very friendly and helpful staff. Room was spacious and clean (I appreciate the double-sheeted blankets and no bedspreads.) I was a bit surprised with the housekeeping service. My daughter's bed was not made and the only reason I could determine for this was her pajamas were left on the bed. Any other time this has been the case, clothes are folded and set atop the freshly made bed. New towels were not provided. The clean room made this easy to overlook.
Although there were only 2 of us on this trip our family of 5 usually travels together and this hotel would have nicely accommodated all of us. There was a room with a toilet and sink separate from the tub/shower and sink room. There is a couch and sitting area with a desk separating the sitting area from the beds. I did not have the billing difficulty with valet parking but was sure to check considering the number of comment previously made regarding this concern. The complimentary breakfast was truely the nicest I've seen. Hot oatmeal and grits were options with additions of walnuts, pecans, brown sugar, and rasins. Eggs (although seemingly powdered) had the options of shredded cheese and salsa. Sausage one day canadian bacon another were offered. Fruit salad of of melons and pineapple were offered in addition to whole fruit. Typical breads, pastries, cereal, and waffles were also options. Fantastic location, right in the heart of downtown Savannah. We enjoyed walking all around the historic town. Looking forward to a return this summer with the whole family!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dawnahas3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Savannah hotels
Downtown
Courtyard Savannah Downtown/Historic District
Downtown
Residence Inn Savannah Downtown/Historic District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Hampton Inn Savannah - Historic District
Yamacraw Village
Embassy Suites by Hilton Savannah
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SpringHill Suites Savannah Downtown/Historic District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SpringHill Suites Savannah Downtown/Historic District

Property: SpringHill Suites Savannah Downtown/Historic District
Address: 150 Montgomery St, Savannah, GA 31401-3228
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Family Hotel in Savannah
#26 Romantic Hotel in Savannah
#32 Business Hotel in Savannah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — SpringHill Suites Savannah Downtown/Historic District 3*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The brand-new SpringHill Suites Savannah Historic District is located in the heart of the Historic District, offering free breakfast and contemporary guest suites. Our Savannah hotel’s downtown suites are within walking distance of the Savannah Civic Center, Telfair Museum of Art, City Market, Lady & Son's Restaurant, River Street & Savannah's Visitor Center. For Girl Scouts, we offer the immediate access to the Juliette Gordon Lowe Birthplace, a great way to experience the history of Savannah near our downtown hotel. Our hotel’s complimentary features include a hot breakfast, high-speed Internet in all guest rooms and public areas, mini-fridge and microwave in every guest room, on-site concierge services with trolley pick-up & an on-site heated pool and state-of-the-art fitness center. All of our hotel’s downtown Savannah, GA guest rooms are 50% larger than average & include an oversized walk-in glass shower, a separate powder room and a 37" flat-screen TV. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Marriott, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your SpringHill Suites Savannah Downtown/Historic District reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Springhill Suites Savannah Downtown Hotel Savannah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing