We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
SpringHill Suites Savannah Downtown/Historic District
Ranked #40 of 115 Hotels in Savannah
Reviewed April 14, 2013 via mobile

We stayed this Marriott because of the great reviews. However, our stay was not what we hoped for and we will not be back. We were in Savannah for four nights. We regularly stay at Marriott and this was not up to their standards. We asked for a feather free rooms due to allergies but there were mostly feather pillows on our bed. They had to be asked three times to get them exchanged! Then the breakfast bar was so crowded. The food was not replaced when empty very quickly so you got what you got because you sure were not standing in the line again. The elevator was pausing alot and would act like it was stuck so we used the stairs the most of the time. Then the worst we had to go to a VERY important event the vallet could not find our keys for around fifteen minutes so we were late! I was very disappointed in this Marriott.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tanya S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danielle V, Manager at SpringHill Suites Savannah Downtown/Historic District, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2013

Dear Marriott Guest,

We are sorry you experienced problems at the hotel.. We usually receive great feedback from our guests and we will investigate the various items you mentioned in your review. We’re glad you enjoyed the amenities of the hotel and we would like the opportunity to give you a great stay. We hope you will choose to stay with us one more time for a more characteristic experience of the hotel. We know you will see a difference.

Sincerely,
Danielle Valenchis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,086)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

719 - 725 of 1,086 reviews

Reviewed April 10, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights, 4/6-4/9/13.

Check-in: Pleasant and friendly. Advised that we arrived via taxi and asked not to be charged for valet service (as I've read was the case in other reviews). Upon check-out, we were still charged, so check your invoice!

Room: We had a king room on the 5th floor, room 522, overlooking the pool. The room was alright. It was very dirty in the corners of the room, showing a more comprehensive cleaning was needed. There was basically no storage space at all, which is ok for one night's stay, but for multiple nights, this becomes a burden. Some people view the separation of the toilet and shower as a bonus (if you are staying as family perhaps), but I don't. The small tables and microwave were nice. It was also nice to have a couch. The bed had a worn out thin mattress. It needed replaced.

Pool: First, the furniture around the pool area is disgusting. It wouldn't be acceptable at a 1-star inn, much less downtown accommodations that regularly charge over $300/night. Spend $2,000 and get new furniture. Seriously. Also, after 12-1pm, due to the proximity to the building, the area becomes shade filled.

Breakfast: Standard "complimentary" fare. A fresh fruit selection could be offered that wasn't over/under ripe. As others have commented, the layout doesn't make sense. It is what it is.

Elevators: Twice while riding in the elevators, it just stopped an blanked out, leaving for a couple of hair raising moments until the elevators allowed buttons to be pushed again. Both elevators' certificates expired on 1/13, so they may be out of code.

Location: Excellent central location to all things Savannah.

Staff: pleasant and helpful.

Overall, it wasn't terrible. If we travel to Savannah again, we'll probably choose one of the two boutique hotels in the Marriott chain that are slightly more expensive, but are more full-service.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank willisdavis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danielle V, Manager at SpringHill Suites Savannah Downtown/Historic District, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us during your 3-night stay to Savannah. We would like to apologize for your experience not exceeding your expectations. We will be sharing your comments and concerns with our Executive Housekeeper regarding room cleanliness. We are also actively working on creating a better flow for breakfast and have recently purchased a conveyor belt toaster among other upgrades to increase speed in the morning. We have a regularly scheduled maintenance plan with a third party vendor for the upkeep of the elevators and we will schedule an inspection by our Contracted company. Thank you for your review and we hope you will give us another chance for an excellent stay.

Sincerely,
Danielle Valenchis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2013

We are Marriott people and this did not disappoint. Easy check in and a very helpful concierge.
After going through various hotels and inns, I realized all run in the same price bracket, give or take $10-20 difference. The room was clean and very quiet. We stayed mid week and that may explain the quietness although there was a tour group with youth, who were polite and pleasant.
I esp. like the split bathroom concept. Nice touch. Comfortable bed! Tasty hot breakfast. When in Savannah, one doesn't expect to spend much time spent in a hotel room. So this fits the bill. Only downside, the wireless coverage they offered was not very strong.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank laststand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2013

We booked a guest suite with a pull out sofa for 3 of us. We asked for an early check in. When we arrived they were cleaning the carpet and we had to leave and return in 20 minutes. I've stayed at Marriott hotels before and SpringHill Suites just didn't live up to the Marriott quality. The bedsheets didn't look real clean and the king bed was lumpy, no featherlite, plush bed. The sofa bed was uncomfortable as well. We were on a floor with 2 party groups (Spring break) and complained about the noise for 2 nights. It didn't make a difference. The perks were: outside pool/whirlpool, separate toilet and shower, concierge in the lobby and free breakfast. The staff was nice, but I don't plan on returning on our next visit. You can pay a little bit more and get a much better room elsewhere. Seems like a place for families

Room Tip: Ask for room above 3rd floor. Party groups seem to be on the lower, 2nd floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank June S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2013

we stayed here for two nights over Easter weekend. Having stayed at a Springhill before, we were familiar with the style and layout of the rooms and hotel. The rooms are a good size and have a nice seating area with a fridge. Still not sure about the sliding doors to the bathroom and toilet. Breakfast was very good and included and the staff were very helpful. One warning: they open the pool at 6am and some children like to swim early - like at 7 am. So you may to ask for a room away from the pool if you want a lie in. Central to the old part of town and walking distance to most things. The Distillery is a nice pub/food place that is close by. The wine bar in the basement of Churchills Pub was very nice, and the bar in the basement of the Pink House Restaurant looked good - we went in when it was closed and forgot to go back.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ShaunD926
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Went there with my kids for Spring Break in Savanna. The hotel is easy to find and close to the tour bus terminal. Check-in was easy and the staff were very friendly. We bought the city tour bus tickets at the hotel and they called the tour bus company to pick us up at the front entrance of the hotel. The shuttle was there in less than 5 minutes - wow!

The hotel is 4-5 blocks away from the busiest parts of the city with access to many activities, restaurants, and sightseeing spots. Hotel rooms are clean, bright, and the beds are comfortable. We had two queens in the room and it also has a pull-out sofa bed. it was very comfortable for our party of four.

The only drawback during our stay was the breakfast line. It was perhaps due to spring break, the hotel was very crowded and the breakfast line was long -- it took us 20 minutes to get to the counter but we found most food containers empty. The servers were all busy but they couldn't work fast enough to feed the whole army of hotel guests. The management should have anticipated full capacity in the hotel and make more food available.

Room Tip: Ask for higher floor rooms which will give you nice views of the city and the beautiful trees.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Doc_Genetics
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

We enjoyed our stay here. Very centralized, it was a good walking distance to restaurants and shopping. The staff was very cordial, especially the parking attendants. Our family stayed there in Summer of 2012. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ddl2dance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Savannah hotels
Yamacraw Village
Fairfield Inn & Suites Savannah Downtown/Historic District
Downtown
Courtyard Savannah Downtown/Historic District
Downtown
Residence Inn Savannah Downtown/Historic District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Staybridge Suites Savannah Historic District
Downtown
Hilton Garden Inn Savannah Historic District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SpringHill Suites Savannah Downtown/Historic District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SpringHill Suites Savannah Downtown/Historic District

Address: 150 Montgomery St, Savannah, GA 31401-3228
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Family Hotel in Savannah
#26 Romantic Hotel in Savannah
#32 Business Hotel in Savannah
Price Range: $149 - $296 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — SpringHill Suites Savannah Downtown/Historic District 3*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The brand-new SpringHill Suites Savannah Historic District is located in the heart of the Historic District, offering free breakfast and contemporary guest suites. Our Savannah hotel’s downtown suites are within walking distance of the Savannah Civic Center, Telfair Museum of Art, City Market, Lady & Son's Restaurant, River Street & Savannah's Visitor Center. For Girl Scouts, we offer the immediate access to the Juliette Gordon Lowe Birthplace, a great way to experience the history of Savannah near our downtown hotel. Our hotel’s complimentary features include a hot breakfast, high-speed Internet in all guest rooms and public areas, mini-fridge and microwave in every guest room, on-site concierge services with trolley pick-up & an on-site heated pool and state-of-the-art fitness center. All of our hotel’s downtown Savannah, GA guest rooms are 50% larger than average & include an oversized walk-in glass shower, a separate powder room and a 37" flat-screen TV. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your SpringHill Suites Savannah Downtown/Historic District reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Springhill Suites Savannah Downtown Hotel Savannah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing