We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice and Convenient” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of SpringHill Suites Savannah Downtown/Historic District

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
SpringHill Suites Savannah Downtown/Historic District
Ranked #38 of 113 Hotels in Savannah
Certificate of Excellence
Cuyahoga Falls
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice and Convenient”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2012

My husband and I just returned from Savannah, GA where we stayed at the SpringHill Suites. The staff was extremely nice and helpful from check-in to room-service to check-out. We were very pleased with the service. The location of the hotel is great. Right in the middle of town you can walk to everything.
The pool was nice. Heated. However, the furniture in the pool area was moldy, and there was mold in the corners of the pool. The hot tub was also moldy.
The room its self was huge. It was very modern and had a pretty good view of the bridge.
We would stay here again. Great space for the price.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mmcgaha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Savannah Downtown/Historic District, responded to this review, July 5, 2012
mmcgaha,

Thank you for staying with us, and for taking the time to post a review! We are so proud to hear that you found our entire staff to be friendly and helpful. That is wonderful! I am also thrilled that you were happy with the location as well. Thank you for bringing the issues regarding the pool to our attention. Since reading your review, we have had the Chief Engineer address these issues.

We'd love to have you back the next time that you visit our lovely city!

Sincerely,
Lee Smith - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,000 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    437
    338
    158
    43
    24
See reviews for
351
326
21
88
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (183)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Mateo, California
Level Contributor
37 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2012

This suite hotel property was the perfect solution for 3 senior ladies traveling together. We had a first floor suite which was easily accessible from the lobby and breakfast area. It was quiet, and had a bathroom arrangement with tub/shower and vanity separate fr the toilet area. We liked that. We also appreciated the refrigerator for our wine, and I am sure others liked having the microwave. About the best thing they have is an "on-top of everything" concierge. She got us in to Paula Dean's at the last minute (never went, though), made recommendations, and googled and printed driving directions to our next destination. The worst thing was that my GPS disappeared fr the car. We used valet parking. No one knew anything about it. We were there during Spring Break and the breakfast area was crazy w girl scouts and families. That's fine. They just ran out of many items, but we could find something each day. This property was also ideal for walking to points of interest .

Room Tip: Ask for first floor. Try Corrleones Restaurant on a side street if you can't get in to others...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lori006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Savannah Downtown/Historic District, responded to this review, July 5, 2012
Lori006,

Thank you for staying with us, and for taking the time to review our property! We are so happy that the set up of the rooms worked perfectly for your group. Thank you for your comments about our Concierge staff! They are definitely one of our greatest assets, because they tell our guests how to make the most of their trips! I sincerely hope that your GPS was found when you returned home. Let us know if there is anything that we can do!

Thank you again for your review!

Sincerely,
Lee Smith - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
concord
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2012

The location is great and the staff is very friendly and helpful. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ConcordBeachlvr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Savannah Downtown/Historic District, responded to this review, July 3, 2012
ConcordBeachlvr,

Thank you for staying with us, and for your review! We are so happy that you found our staff friendly and helpful, they are our greatest asset. We hope to see you again soon!

Sincerely,
Lee Smith - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City
Level Contributor
40 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2012

We are Marriott frequent fliers so chose this hotel for the Marriott points. The room was very good with a separate room for the potty from the shower area, plus a sitting area with couch TV and desk. However this hotel had the worst breakfast designed area. First it could not accommodate all the guests. The physical layout of the food was such that only a few people could get through the line without knocking into others. The waffle area was next to several tables making for a miserable experience for those seated at those tables. The coffee set up was in the lobby. More than one person having gotten through the food line stopped us to ask where the coffee was located. Movement of people through the breakfast area was the most problematic for this hotel. The designer should be forced to return and correct the layout. Food was typical for a hotel offering free breakfast. Having stated the problems the location was great and the staff was pleasant and helpful.. Beds at the Marriott hotels are the best!!

Room Tip: Our room was on the second floor and that is where the pool is located but we had a corner room so w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank neon8tl1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Savannah Downtown/Historic District, responded to this review, July 3, 2012
neon8tl1,

Thank you for staying with us, and for taking time to review us on TripAdvisor! I am happy that you enjoyed our location and design of the room. I sincerely apologize that the layout of our breakfast area made your breakfast experience anything less than the best! We are working to make some changes that will alleviate some of these concerns. We placed the coffee in the lobby to relieve some of the congestion near the food, since most people do come down to eat at the same time. Our Chief Engineer is working to rearrange what we can in the area to help create a better flow of guests.

We hope to see you again soon and we thank you again for your comments!

Sincerely,
Lee Smith - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trenton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2012

We arrived at about 3am to getvaway from the hurricane hitting the northeast. Front desk was pkeasant in spite of the early morning ckeckin. Room was nice but thought it looked newer on the website photos. Breakfast not all that but the kids werent picky so we were fine with it.We parked our car through valet and when we took it out the next day to go to the beach we noticed our windshield was croaked and it just kept growing. The attendant said he did not see it like that the night before when we arrived (it was a brand new car). But in Marriott style the manager paid for the repair and helped us with all the arrangements and apologies all around. I must say that was the best service we have ever received and we literally pick our hotel vacation stays on service. Our room also had issues with the locks and magnetic strips so we had to continually go back to the front desk to get new keys. Maintenance ended up drilling a large whole in our door to fix it - took awhile. The manager though comped our room due to all the inconvenience - although the hotel itself had some problems we would return simply for the service!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank guilfordh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leesmithgm, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Savannah Downtown/Historic District, responded to this review, June 13, 2012
guilfordh,

Thank you for staying with us, and thank you for taking the time to review us on TripAdvisor! It is so great to hear that a member of our Management Team was able to take what could have been a poor experience and turn it into something positive. I apologize that the incident happened, but I am happy that she was able to get it fixed quickly for you. We pride ourselves on our service, and we rely on it to set us apart from the other hotels in the area.

I sincerely apologize about the incident with the door lock as well, but I am happy we were also able to get that resolved for you. We'd love to see you again the next time that you are in the area. Thank you again for your comments!

Lee Smith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, Florida
Level Contributor
27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2012

The SpringHill Suites Savannah Downtown is in a good location. The breakfast was decent (what do you want, it's free...), and the lobby and room were lovely. The staff was very pleasant and helpful. Now for the bad...we had a room on the 6th floor but could still here people in the pool when we were trying to sleep (it's open until 11 pm). The hallways were also musty and hot. When we checked in, we had to wait for the cleaning ladies to finish up our room (around 3:00 in the afternoon).

Room Tip: You don't want to face the street but you don't want to face the pool either. Sorry!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank misty114
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leesmithgm, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Savannah Downtown/Historic District, responded to this review, May 21, 2012
misty114,

Thank you for staying with us, and for taking the time to review us on TripAdvisor! We are so happy that you enjoyed our location, lobby, and rooms. It is wonderful to hear that the staff was friendly and helpful.

I apologize that the noise from other guests at the pool kept you up! We will always try to alleviate this problem at your request! I will have the Chief Engineer look in to the issue with the heat in the hallways. I do apologize that you experienced a wait time during check-in. While we do have a 4:00pm check-in time and 12:00pm checkout time, on sold out nights these usually also come with a very high volume of Early Check-in Requests and Late Checkout Requests. This leaves a short amount of time for the Housekeeping Staff to ensure the rooms are completely perfect for the next guest. The Front Desk should ensure that they are completely explaining why there is a wait time to our guests. I hope that you found some fun things to do in the city while you waited for your room!

Thanks again for your comments, and we'd love to see you again soon!

Sincerely,
Lee Smith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2012

Great location in historic Savannah. Great small pool. Judy the concierge was great. Breakfast included. Parking $20

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JBQman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leesmithgm, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Savannah Downtown/Historic District, responded to this review, May 21, 2012
JBQman,

Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to review us on TripAdvisor! We are happy that you throughly enjoyed your stay! It is wonderful to hear that Judy made an impression. She is truly an asset to our staff. Thanks again for your review!

Sincerely,
Lee Smith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Savannah hotels
Yamacraw Village
Fairfield Inn & Suites Savannah Downtown/Historic District
Downtown
Courtyard Savannah Downtown/Historic District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Residence Inn Savannah Downtown/Historic District
Downtown
Hilton Garden Inn Savannah Historic District
Downtown
B Historic Savannah
B Historic Savannah
#18 of 113 in Savannah
4.5 of 5 bubbles 429 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SpringHill Suites Savannah Downtown/Historic District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SpringHill Suites Savannah Downtown/Historic District

Property: SpringHill Suites Savannah Downtown/Historic District
Address: 150 Montgomery St, Savannah, GA 31401-3228
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Family Hotel in Savannah
#26 Romantic Hotel in Savannah
#32 Business Hotel in Savannah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — SpringHill Suites Savannah Downtown/Historic District 3*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The brand-new SpringHill Suites Savannah Historic District is located in the heart of the Historic District, offering free breakfast and contemporary guest suites. Our Savannah hotel’s downtown suites are within walking distance of the Savannah Civic Center, Telfair Museum of Art, City Market, Lady & Son's Restaurant, River Street & Savannah's Visitor Center. For Girl Scouts, we offer the immediate access to the Juliette Gordon Lowe Birthplace, a great way to experience the history of Savannah near our downtown hotel. Our hotel’s complimentary features include a hot breakfast, high-speed Internet in all guest rooms and public areas, mini-fridge and microwave in every guest room, on-site concierge services with trolley pick-up & an on-site heated pool and state-of-the-art fitness center. All of our hotel’s downtown Savannah, GA guest rooms are 50% larger than average & include an oversized walk-in glass shower, a separate powder room and a 37" flat-screen TV. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Marriott, Hotel.de, HRS and Despegar.com so you can book your SpringHill Suites Savannah Downtown/Historic District reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Springhill Suites Savannah Downtown Hotel Savannah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing