We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Euro Hip Contemporary”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
SpringHill Suites Savannah Downtown/Historic District
Ranked #39 of 114 Hotels in Savannah
Reviewed March 29, 2012

The hotel has been recently rennovated. The rooms are trendy, decorated in bright colors and simple geometric shapes. The bathrooms are odd, with a european sink and wash closet in one small closet area and a vanity and leaky shower in the other closet area with sliding barn doors that tuck them away. Space is smartly used, with a couch with chase lounge attached and desk with neat sliding window to provide privacy. The hotel is neat, but the leaky shower, sometimes curt service at the front desk, and bland breakfast leave much to be desired. The staff are mostly friendly with attitude from just one. The first meal of the day doesn't include any sweets, no cheese danishes or chocolate anywhere. And, the shower doors in every room leak due to design flaws resulting in a flooded bathroom every time it is used. The building will likely be condemned within a few years due to mold infestation caused by the shower leaks. The LCD TV, microwave, and fridge were nice to have.

Room Tip: Don't let them book you next to the pool on the 2nd floor if you want peace and quiet.
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RebelYell1776
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leesmithgm, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Savannah Downtown/Historic District, responded to this reviewResponded May 21, 2012

RebelYell1776,

Thank you for staying with us, and for taking the time to post a review on our TripAdvisor page! We appreciate your feedback! Just to clarify for our future guests, we actually built this hotel from the ground up in 2009, so the building is actually new, not a renovated building. I sincerely apologize that you received sometimes curt service from the Front Desk. If you would like to contact me personally, I'd like to know more about your room so that we may address the leaky shower, and who you spoke with at the desk. Neither of these things are the standard that we like to hold ourselves. I am happy that you enjoyed the television, refrigerator, and microwave in your room!

We'd love another chance to wow you after your most recent stay. I hope to speak to you soon!

Sincerely,
Lee Smith - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,074)
There are newer reviews for SpringHill Suites Savannah Downtown/Historic District
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

878 - 884 of 1,074 reviews

Reviewed March 27, 2012

Clean, secure, comfortable. Breakfast is the usual self-serve stuff. Depending on number of other guests present at the time (and kids) it can either be OK or not worth the hassle. Biggest advantage is location. Across the street from the Civic Center (if you are in town to see a show), easy walking distance to many historic area sites, Visitor's Center (and all the trolley tours) Savannah Theatre, and dining/shopping on Broughton Street/City Market/Ellis Square areas. If you are not going to use a bed and breakfast in the historic area, this is your next best location for walking. With a little bit of effort (and maybe an occasional pedicab if legs start to tire), you can spend two or three days here and never have to get your car out of valet parking.
If you are there on a weekend, you can get a super cheap rate at the City parking garage next door....and avoid the valet parking charge. If you go to the city parking office or the Visitor Center, you can buy a one or two day parking pass ($7/$12) that lets you park in any city parking garage or metered space (over one hour limit . Best deal around. (Metered spaces are free after 5 pm and on weekends)

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Toastmaster2D2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leesmithgm, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Savannah Downtown/Historic District, responded to this reviewResponded May 3, 2012

Toastmaster2D2,

Thank you for reviewing us! It sounds like you had a great time seeing the sights in Savannah! We are thrilled that you enjoyed our location! The tip about the Pedicab is great, they're really a great way to get around. We're happy you had a good time and we hope to see you again soon!

Sincerely,
Lee Smith - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2012

Great location and suite rooms are hard to find for this area. Breakfast was not good but oatmeal and a banana hold you over till you get lunch somewhere

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jlmvc33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leesmithgm, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Savannah Downtown/Historic District, responded to this reviewResponded May 3, 2012

Jlmvc33,

Thank you for staying with us and for posting a review on our TripAdvisor page! We appreciate your comments. I am happy that you enjoyed the location and the size of our rooms. I apologize that you found our breakfast to be unenjoyable, but I am happy that we were able to fill you up until you could sample some of the awesome flavors of the Historic District's restaurants!

Thanks again!

Sincerely,
Lee Smith - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2012

Nice all-suites hotel. The location couldn't have been better. Were were 3 minutes walk from City Market, and 6 minutes from Riverwalk. Could have been cleaned a little better. They breakfast was better than most places "free" breakfasts. Waffles, scrambled eggs and a different meat each morning. Hot oatmeal and grits. Then all the usual fare.

Being downtown Savannah, there is not a lot of parking area, so we were charged $20 for valet parking, which I knew ahead of time.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jduke2817
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leesmithgm, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Savannah Downtown/Historic District, responded to this reviewResponded April 26, 2012

jduke2817,

Thank you for taking the time to review us! I am happy that you enjoyed our location and breakfast. I apologize that you found the cleanliness of your room leaving something to be desired, and I can assure you that this is not our usual standard. I will be personally addressing this issue, and I appreciate that it was brought to our attention!

Thanks again, we'd love to have you back again soon!

Sincerely,
Lee Smith - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2012

Clean & good location. Will stay here again. Liked the room layout. Separate toilet from shower area. 2 sinks. Desk & couch area. Frig & microwave.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank snance13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leesmithgm, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Savannah Downtown/Historic District, responded to this reviewResponded April 26, 2012

snance13,

Thank you for reviewing us! We're happy that you enjoyed the room layout and location. We hope to see you again very soon!

Sincerely,
Lee Smith
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2012

Overall pleased with this hotel. Free breakfast was good - sausage, eggs, biscuits, cereal, muffins, etc.. Room was clean although carpet had some stains. Bathrooms were clean. Parking was valet and was an additional $20 per night. Very good location - walking distance to River St. and all the Historic District. Elevators are a little slow especially at checkout time when everyone is leaving at the same time. Room was $199 / night but I think it was worth the price for the convenience of walking everywhere along with an included breakfast.

Room Tip: Room 419 has 1 king bed and a pull-out sofa.
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BigDaddyB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leesmithgm, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Savannah Downtown/Historic District, responded to this reviewResponded April 26, 2012

BigDaddyB,

Thank you for staying with us, and for your great feedback. We can see from your contributions to TripAdvisor that you travel often, and we are happy that you chose our hotel when you visited Savannah! We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay. I apologize that you found an issue with the carpet in your suite, and I can assure you that we are addressing these problems. Thanks again for reviewing us, and we hope to have you back to stay with us again soon!

Sincerely,
Lee Smith
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2012

If you are vacationing with a family of 3 or 4 (or 5), this is a good place. The rooms are very large, nicely decorated, and include a sufficient breakfast. It's pretty well located, valet parking $20 xtra per day (plus tips if you are so inclined). Bathrooms are well designed for a crowd, but do not offer much privacy--your crowd needs to be close famiy/friends. We noticed a certain amount of street noise, sirens, etc., so take that into account, (and we were on the 5th flr.) I was there with my daughter and her children, in my own, connecting room. I felt the price was too high for one, but a good value for 3-5. Also, the carpets, although new, had some stains, and there was a little mold in the bathrooms, something I feel is unacceptable at any price point. There are mini-fridges and microwaves, encouraging cooking/eating in the room.
Staff was very friendly and responsive. I would recommend if you are a family and this is within your budget.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank livetotravl1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leesmithgm, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Savannah Downtown/Historic District, responded to this reviewResponded April 26, 2012

livetotravl1950,

Thank you for your review! We are so happy that you found our hotel to be a good fit for you and your family. We are also proud to hear that you found our staff friendly and responsive. I apologize that you found issues with the cleanliness of your room, and I would like to investigate this further. If you would like to contact me personally to let me know your name and exact dates of your stay, I would greatly appreciate it, so that we can find out where we fell short in the communication of these issues between staff. These are not the standards that we hold ourselves to, and we'd like to make sure that they are corrected! We appreciate you letting us know!

Thank you again for staying with us, and we are happy that you enjoyed your stay. We hope to see you again soon!

Sincerely,
Lee Smith - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Savannah hotels
Yamacraw Village
Fairfield Inn & Suites Savannah Downtown/Historic District
Downtown
Courtyard Savannah Downtown/Historic District
Downtown
Residence Inn Savannah Downtown/Historic District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Staybridge Suites Savannah Historic District
Downtown
Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SpringHill Suites Savannah Downtown/Historic District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SpringHill Suites Savannah Downtown/Historic District

Address: 150 Montgomery St, Savannah, GA 31401-3228
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Family Hotel in Savannah
#26 Romantic Hotel in Savannah
#32 Business Hotel in Savannah
Price Range: $161 - $320 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — SpringHill Suites Savannah Downtown/Historic District 3*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The brand-new SpringHill Suites Savannah Historic District is located in the heart of the Historic District, offering free breakfast and contemporary guest suites. Our Savannah hotel’s downtown suites are within walking distance of the Savannah Civic Center, Telfair Museum of Art, City Market, Lady & Son's Restaurant, River Street & Savannah's Visitor Center. For Girl Scouts, we offer the immediate access to the Juliette Gordon Lowe Birthplace, a great way to experience the history of Savannah near our downtown hotel. Our hotel’s complimentary features include a hot breakfast, high-speed Internet in all guest rooms and public areas, mini-fridge and microwave in every guest room, on-site concierge services with trolley pick-up & an on-site heated pool and state-of-the-art fitness center. All of our hotel’s downtown Savannah, GA guest rooms are 50% larger than average & include an oversized walk-in glass shower, a separate powder room and a 37" flat-screen TV. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Marriott, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your SpringHill Suites Savannah Downtown/Historic District reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Springhill Suites Savannah Downtown Hotel Savannah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing