We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place for the price” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of SpringHill Suites Savannah Downtown/Historic District

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
SpringHill Suites Savannah Downtown/Historic District
Ranked #39 of 113 Hotels in Savannah
Certificate of Excellence
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great place for the price”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2011

I'm Marriott Gold Elite and have been most pleased with this hotel located in the historic district. They only have valet parking - but are very prompt. The hotel is very new (2 yrs I think), well maintained, very modern (interesting for Savannah, I might say), with a very refreshing environment. The staff is very acommodating and extremely friendly. The pictures here and on the hotel website are very accurate. Pool is on level two and is a nice getaway. I do wish it was more plush out there - it needs greened up (more plants) and that would make it easily feel like a bit of an oasis. But whatever, that hot tub last night felt amazing after a day of travel and sightseeing. I higly recommend this place, for sure. The bed is very comfy.

Room Tip: Just ask for one with a good view. I had to be in an dbl/dbl accessible room with walk in shower du...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TxMatt76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leesmithgm, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Savannah Downtown/Historic District, responded to this review, November 16, 2011
TxMatt76,

Thank you for taking the time to review us! We are so proud that you are pleased with our hotel. Our hotel is in fact 2 years old this year, and we are happy that you found our contemporary decor refreshing. Thank you for your suggestion of putting more greenery around the pool, I agree that it would create a more relaxing environment. I am happy that you found the hot tub inviting after a day of sightseeing. Savannah is best seen by foot, and this can lead to a need for some rest and relaxation at the end of a long day of exploring. I hope to see you again soon!

Lee Smith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

995 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    435
    337
    158
    42
    23
See reviews for
350
323
21
88
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (183)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2011

Handy location for historic district, staff are friendly, free wifi, 2 double beds and a pull out bed in the room. Modern clean shower room, separate to toilet which is handy when sharing. Only drawback is $15 for parking, but on street parking is available if you get up early to pay the meter at 8am.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kodo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leesmithgm, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Savannah Downtown/Historic District, responded to this review, November 16, 2011
kodo,

Thank you for reviewing us! We are happy that you found our hotel very clean and convenient. The pool helps to be refreshing on those hot September days, and it's even heated in the Winter, so if you come back to see us, you may enjoy our pool year-round! I hope to see you again soon!

Sincerely,
Lee Smith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2011

We were 4 adults and a baby, so it was hard to find a hotel room we could share. This one was recommended by others and I am glad I went with their review. Separate toilet & sink, besides the bathroom with shower and sink made it convenient. Small refrigerator, microwave, work desk, pull-out bed for 5th person. The hotel provided a crib for our daughter. It is located a block from the City Market. My husband and I even walked to Bay & River Streets.

Very clean, excellent breakfast including waffles you make yourself. Wonderful staff made our stay very enjoyable. Valet parking is $15/day at hotel, but if you go on weekdays there is plenty of one-street parking. Also you can purchase a $8 for 2 days pass from the Visitor's Center. This pass will allow you to park at any metered parking spot, or lot owned by the City. we got this pass and saved a ton of headaches with change.

Will recommend to anyone who has a big party.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank OhioYatri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leesmithgm, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Savannah Downtown/Historic District, responded to this review, November 16, 2011
OhioYatri,

Thank you for taking the time to review us! We are so happy that our larger rooms were able to comfortably accommodate your family of 5. I feel that the separate bathrooms really help speed up the process of a large family getting ready!

The pass from the Visitor's Center is a great way to park without as many headaches. It's available to guests with an out of county ID. We hope to see you again the next time that you visit our lovely city!

- Lee Smith, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairhope,AL
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2011

Such a nice relaxing room, very well apportioned and clean. Staff at hotel was very friendly and helpful, from the valets to housekeeping, front desk and concierge.
Great location, walking distance to everything in Savannah. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank xouts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leesmithgm, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Savannah Downtown/Historic District, responded to this review, October 21, 2011
xouts,

We wish you could've stayed longer as well! We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay, and I am so proud to hear that all staff members you encountered were friendly and helpful. We hope to see you again soon!

- Lee Smith, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2011

The place is brand new and beautiful. The rooms are bigger than some apartments in NYC. They all have couches, desks, microwaves and mini refrigerators. The decor is contemporary and chic. This place was really funky. Breakfast was free but the eggs are powdered and nasty. No matter what do not take room 127. Unlike the way it sounds it is the first room and next to the gym and across from the conference room. Translation-you wake up with the first conference (this morning it was at 7!!! and you get up with the first treadmill run-in this case it was 7:15). That really really sucked.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wanderlust30268
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leesmithgm, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Savannah Downtown/Historic District, responded to this review, October 20, 2011
wanderlust30268,

Thank you for your review! We are thrilled that you loved our contemporary decor, as well as the large size of our studio suites. I apologize that you found the eggs at breakfast unappealing, but I hope that you found other delicious options on our buffett. I also apologize that your room was noisy, but I can assure you that we are working to find mats to place in our Fitness Center to help absorb some of the noise. The next time you come to Savannah, please do not hesitate to speak with myself or one of our other members of management, and we will personally make sure that you are in a more quiet area of the hotel. Thanks again for taking the time to review us, and we hope to see you soon!

- Lee Smith, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Level Contributor
63 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2011

Great hotel and great location. Looked like a boutique hotel. Very quiet, and pool was fun on a humid day.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank weezee42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leesmithgm, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Savannah Downtown/Historic District, responded to this review, October 20, 2011
weezee42,

Thank you for taking the time to review us! We are so happy you enjoyed our pool and proximity to River Street. It is very humid at the end of the summer in Savannah, and I'm happy that the pool could cool you down. We look forward to seeing you again the next time that you travel to Savannah!

- Lee Smith, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
92 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2011

Nice hotel, convenient location. The hotel had all I needed and I was for the most part satisfied. The only issues I had was the hot foods for breakfast (eggs and turkey sausage) were absolutely AWFUL. I don't know how they turned out this way. Scrambled eggs looked more like cubed sponge, and turkey patties were like rubber. I don't think it should be too hard to fix it and someone needs to do this because it would really help complete the package. The other issue is the hotel automatically charges for valet parking. I find that an insult, and even though they remove the charge upon request, it made me feel taken advantage of, and rather than make excuses that the computer does it automatically etc etc, they just need to fix it.

And as a tip for parking, make your first stop the visitor center, and buy a pass ($7 for 24hrs, $12 for 48hrs). You can park for free at meters in front of hotel, and you can also park at many meters, garages, and lots throughout the historic district which is convenient if you don't want to walk everywhere from the hotel, though I had no trouble walking from the hotel to all the squares, and even the riverfront without getting tired at all (fyi).

Lastly, hotel will send you up a few blocks to Locos for a quick bite. You can do MUCH better around Franklin Square just a little farther up...Vinnie Van Go-Gos was pretty good.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank atlhotelcritic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leesmithgm, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Savannah Downtown/Historic District, responded to this review, October 6, 2011
atlhotelcritic,

Thank you for taking the time to review us! I am thrilled that you found our hotel had everything that you needed. We appreciate all feedback, and we regret that our breakfast did not meet your expectations. Our Front Desk agents should be asking whether you are parking with us upon your check-in, and noting this in your reservation so that you will not be charged. I will share your comments with them to stress the importance of taking this step. Again, we appreciate your comments, and we hope to see you again the next time that you visit our lovely city!


- Lee Smith, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Savannah hotels
Yamacraw Village
Fairfield Inn & Suites Savannah Downtown/Historic District
Downtown
Courtyard Savannah Downtown/Historic District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Residence Inn Savannah Downtown/Historic District
Downtown
Hilton Garden Inn Savannah Historic District
Downtown
B Historic Savannah
B Historic Savannah
#17 of 113 in Savannah
4.5 of 5 bubbles 426 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SpringHill Suites Savannah Downtown/Historic District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SpringHill Suites Savannah Downtown/Historic District

Property: SpringHill Suites Savannah Downtown/Historic District
Address: 150 Montgomery St, Savannah, GA 31401-3228
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Family Hotel in Savannah
#26 Romantic Hotel in Savannah
#32 Business Hotel in Savannah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — SpringHill Suites Savannah Downtown/Historic District 3*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The brand-new SpringHill Suites Savannah Historic District is located in the heart of the Historic District, offering free breakfast and contemporary guest suites. Our Savannah hotel’s downtown suites are within walking distance of the Savannah Civic Center, Telfair Museum of Art, City Market, Lady & Son's Restaurant, River Street & Savannah's Visitor Center. For Girl Scouts, we offer the immediate access to the Juliette Gordon Lowe Birthplace, a great way to experience the history of Savannah near our downtown hotel. Our hotel’s complimentary features include a hot breakfast, high-speed Internet in all guest rooms and public areas, mini-fridge and microwave in every guest room, on-site concierge services with trolley pick-up & an on-site heated pool and state-of-the-art fitness center. All of our hotel’s downtown Savannah, GA guest rooms are 50% larger than average & include an oversized walk-in glass shower, a separate powder room and a 37" flat-screen TV. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Hotel.de, HRS and Despegar.com so you can book your SpringHill Suites Savannah Downtown/Historic District reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Springhill Suites Savannah Downtown Hotel Savannah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing