We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“You won't be disappointed” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Savannah Dan Walking Tours

Savannah Dan Walking Tours
Ranked #6 of 141 Tours in Savannah
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Take a leisurely stroll through Savannah's picturesque squares with a Southern Gentleman. Or take a private carriage tour with up to four adults! Hear the history of Savannah in the language of the South. See churches and Southern mansions dating back to the 1700s! You'll visit scenic locations used by Hollywood's movie industry. See where Forrest Gump sat on the bench waiting on the bus. Get the inside buzz on local restaurants and night spots and enjoy Savannah like a local. Only Two tours daily with limited space.
Stephens City, Virginia
Level Contributor
107 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“You won't be disappointed”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2013

We booked this tour after reading so many positive reviews on Tripadvisor, and we were not disappointed. Dan provided an easy going informative tour. He was funny and entertaining, yet still covered a great deal of material. Although the tour lasted two hours it went by very quickly, a testament to Dan's ability to keep you interested with his stories. We had visited St. John the Baptist Catherdral the day before, (and was overwhelmed with its beauty). We visited it again on Dan's tour and he provided several interesting points we would not have learned without being on his tour. He is very reasonably priced ($20 a person). After the tour he stayed around for a few additional minutes and answered any questions we may have had. Overall, a really enjoyable afternoon.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank dwalters872
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

835 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    763
    56
    9
    2
    5
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
28 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Savannah Dan's the man!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

We took this tour based on tripadvisor reviews and loved it! Dan was extremely entertaining and quite informative. His delivery kept the group engaged. We passed other walking tour groups and they all looked bored to tears - not us!. After the tour, Dan stayed around to answer questions and did not rush the group at all. If there is one tour to do, it would be this one!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank coconut63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best Savannah Tour!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2013

We took this tour on a friend's recommendation and we are so glad that we did! Dan was informative without it feeling like a history lesson. He was witty and so enjoyable, we could have walked with him all day. It was very reasonably priced, and well worth it. He spent extra time with us to answer questions and had great recommendations on restaurants. We highly recommend Savannah Dan!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank stevelyz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bayport, New York
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great Walking Tour”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2013

Upon the recommendation of the host of our B & B (Ed at the 1895 Inn) we booked with Dan. We had a wonderful time. Dan is informative, funny, knowledgable and interesting. The pace is perfect. He brings the city to life for you. I highly recommend this tour. You know exactly who your tour guide will be when you book and you will be guaranteed a great tour.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Regina C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Cumberland, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Informative - and funny!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2013

I had my doubts about booking this tour because honestly, the whole seersucker suit thing made me wonder if it would be all schtick and no substance. But Dan turned out to be everything one could hope for in a walking-tour guide: Extremely knowledgeable, gracious, patient - and funny! If he ever decided to pursue another career, Dan could be a history professor - or a stand-up comic. Highly, higly recommended!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank BobG17070
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Savannah Dan Walking Tours also viewed

 
Savannah, Georgia Coast
 

Been to Savannah Dan Walking Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing