We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great History Lesson”

Juliette Gordon Low's Birthplace
Book In Advance
More Info
$33.00*
and up
Savannah Hop-on Hop-off Trolley Tour
Ranked #16 of 210 things to do in Savannah
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: The Juliette Gordon Low Birthplace is Savannah's first Registered National Historic Landmark. Enjoy a guided tour, tracing the arc of Juliette Gordon Low's life and the Movement she founded that continues to build girls of courage, confidence, and character who make the world a better place.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
126 reviews
37 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Great History Lesson”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2013

You do not have to be a girl scout to appreciate the history lessons you take away from a tour of this house. I appreciate that Juliette Gordon Lowe's story is much more heroic than glamorous.

The restorations are very well done. I very much seek out the architectural experiences and found this house a treasure. However, I also recommend the Andrew Low house for an even better architectural experience.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Drake972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,317 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    791
    408
    107
    8
    3
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
“Wonderful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2013

I enjoyed my two years as a Girl Scout well enough as a kid but hadn't thought about them since. I not only became sentimental upon visiting here but felt inspired by much of what I heard of Juliette Gordon Lowe's life and what the Scouts achieve. And the house was lovely, reflected the family that lived there, not just a collection of things.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank 730Esther
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Overland Park, Kansas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A Taste of the South”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2013

This was a look back into the past for a Girl Scout. I enjoyed it more now than I would have when I WAS a Girl Scout.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank OP13Roberta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wallingford, CT
Level Contributor
366 reviews
120 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
“under renovation”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2013

This house was under renovation when we visited so you couldn't really appreciate the beauty of the outside of the house. There were many girl scout tours going on as Juliette Gordon Low started that organization. The tour was interesting and the tour guide knowledgeable. We bought a combined ticket with the Andrew Low house which saves you some money if you plan to visit both.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank 712christineg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
58 reviews
43 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Under Restoration”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2013

The birthplace was under restoration during our visit in October 2013. Scaffolding covered what would have been a beautiful building. We took some pictures of the pictures of what the house would have looked like and left.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Stu1945
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Juliette Gordon Low's Birthplace also viewed

 
Savannah, Georgia Coast
 

Been to Juliette Gordon Low's Birthplace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing