We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice placed to tour”

Juliette Gordon Low's Birthplace
Book In Advance
More Info
$33.00*
and up
Savannah Hop-on Hop-off Trolley Tour
Ranked #16 of 210 things to do in Savannah
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: The Juliette Gordon Low Birthplace is Savannah's first Registered National Historic Landmark. Enjoy a guided tour, tracing the arc of Juliette Gordon Low's life and the Movement she founded that continues to build girls of courage, confidence, and character who make the world a better place.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Statesville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A nice placed to tour”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2013

I like the tour, but would have enjoyed it more had it not been a guided tour. However, learning the history and significance of the home and the wonderful lady who lived there was well worth it.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank 3MommaMills
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JGLBirthplace, Assistant Program Manager at Juliette Gordon Low's Birthplace, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Thank you so much for visiting. We are happy to be able to show off the Gordon family home as it was when Daisy lived there, and we try to do our very best to protect our collection and to provide a fun, informative experience to guests. We love making Daisy's story come alive with the amazing stories of her life, and we feel that a simple walk through might not do her justice!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,317 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    791
    408
    107
    8
    3
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Hollywood, Florida
Level Contributor
46 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2013

As Girl Scouts, we had to go ! My daughter & I loved it---our tour guide called herself a girl scout "geek" and had the greatest tidbits to add to our tour. Even my husband was surprised at how much he enjoyed it.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank MercyCope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JGLBirthplace, Assistant Program Manager at Juliette Gordon Low's Birthplace, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
We are so glad that you visited and enjoyed your experience. Winning over skeptical husbands is a specialty of our tour guides!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clayton, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great tour and History”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2013

The house held great history and information. The tour guide was very helpful and informative. She answered every question and knew a great deal about the home and the people of Savannah. We visited several historic homes and this was one of my favorites. The decor was intricate and elaborate. It made you feel like you were there in the house with the family.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Tami P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JGLBirthplace, Assistant Program Manager at Juliette Gordon Low's Birthplace, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Thank you for your kind words Tami. We are proud of our knowledgeable staff and our very special home!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savannah, Georgia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Girl Scout Birthplace”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2013

This was an interesting experience, but the tour guide lacked character. He was very informative and answered all questions to my satisfaction, but left little lingering to the imagination in way of how the house was an important marker for "Daisy" and her Girl Scout beginnings. This tour needs to emphasize a clarification for those who are not familiar with Girl Scout history. Overall, an authentic Savannah experience.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank thegreatsoothsayer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JGLBirthplace, Assistant Program Manager at Juliette Gordon Low's Birthplace, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Thank you so much for visiting the Birthplace! Check out our website or Facebook page sometime to learn more about Daisy and her experiences in Savannah.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Siesta Key, Florida
Level Contributor
98 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Beautiful Home”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

This was a great tour and our tour guide Caleb did a great job telling us the history of Juliette aka Daisy. I wish we could have taken pictures inside but I understand they have to perserve the history.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ann K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Juliette Gordon Low's Birthplace also viewed

 
Savannah, Georgia Coast
 

Been to Juliette Gordon Low's Birthplace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing