We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“worth a visit”

Savannah History Museum
Ranked #44 of 227 things to do in Savannah
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: In the former Central of Georgia Railway passenger station & adjacent to the Savannah Visitor Center, the museum offers a brief introduction to the story of Savannah through exhibits and a short film on the history of the city.
Reviewed April 6, 2014

I'm not sue why folks are unhappy with this museum. It has some interesting exhibits explaining various facets of Savannah history. No, it isn't interactive or as modern as many other museums, but it isn't as expensive as they are either. I did not see the film, but did visit the Railroad Museum and the main part of the History Museum and enjoyed it.

Thank frtravler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emily_Beck, Historical Interpreter at Savannah History Museum, responded to this reviewResponded April 12, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review our museum! We're glad you felt that your time at SHM and at Georgia State Railroad Museum was informative and enjoyable. We hope that you will come back and visit us next time you are in Savannah, as we are in the process of reorganizing and enhancing our exhibit space!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (448)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"revolutionary war"
in 48 reviews
"re enactment"
in 22 reviews
"girl scouts"
in 36 reviews
"forest gump"
in 27 reviews
"coastal heritage society"
in 7 reviews
"georgia state"
in 7 reviews
"girl scouting"
in 5 reviews
"visitor center"
in 18 reviews
"savannah history"
in 20 reviews
"on display"
in 10 reviews
"gift shop"
in 14 reviews
"juliette gordon"
in 6 reviews
"fort jackson"
in 8 reviews
"guided tour"
in 9 reviews
"trip to savannah"
in 5 reviews
"exhibits"
in 97 reviews
"musket"
in 20 reviews
Filter

357 - 361 of 449 reviews

Reviewed March 29, 2014 via mobile

Don't waste money on the history Museum. Haven't checked out the railroad museum, hope it'll be a lot better. History museum was not coherent, jumped from one topic to another. Definitely not worth the money

1  Thank wsw229
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emily_Beck, Historical Interpreter at Savannah History Museum, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2014

We're so sorry you felt that none of the exhibits at SHM were worth the cost of admission. We hope you will give us another chance later this year, as we are scheduled to reorganize and enhance our exhibit space in the coming months. (We also hope you found something to like next door at Georgia State Railroad Museum!)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2014

My husband and I are history buffs, and so after our bus tour of Savannah (we took the Old Town Trolley Tours, we recommend them!) we went straight to the Savannah History Museum. It's not very big, it should take you about 2 hours or so to visit. The history is basic, but well presented with interesting artifacts and displays, it makes it fun for both adults and children. It's worth your time to discover and understand Savannah's history and culture.

Thank KaC_Mtl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emily_Beck, Historical Interpreter at Savannah History Museum, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2014

Thank you for your review! We are glad you enjoyed your SHM experience, and we hope you will come back and visit us next time you are in the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2014

This museum told Savannah's history well, as it is meant to. It has many cool artifacts and antiques, including the bench from Forrest Gump, my favorite thing there. My only disappointment was that you can't take your picture on the bench. Otherwise, it is a cool museum worth checking out.

Thank Ryan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emily_Beck, Historical Interpreter at Savannah History Museum, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2014

We are so glad you liked the artifacts on exhibit at SHM! Thank you for taking the time to review our museum.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed March 22, 2014

This museum is part of the Visitors Center. It is doable in a short amount of time. Presents the history of Savannah with good artifacts and information. The movie that is available to paid customers is also full of Savannah history. Has good, basic info that comes to mind when you are seeing the rest of the city.

Thank Linda D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emily_Beck, Historical Interpreter at Savannah History Museum, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2014

Thank you for your review! We are happy to hear that your SHM experience was a good one, and we hope you will come back next time you are in the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Savannah History Museum also viewed

 

Been to Savannah History Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing