We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel with good location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Residence Inn Savannah Downtown/Historic District
Ranked #19 of 113 Hotels in Savannah
Certificate of Excellence
Washington, DC
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great hotel with good location”
Reviewed July 15, 2009

I traveled with my husband and 2 year old son to Savannah and stayed at this hotel for 3 nights. We were looking for a suite not too far from the Historic area and this hotel fit the bill perfectly.
The hotel itself is very new and very clean, everything is modern, design is elegant and sleek. Our 1-bedroom suite was huge, more space than we needed. The living room was very big, with a pull-out sofa, flat screen TV, desk, small dining table and a small kitchen attached. The bedroom was good size with a very comfy king size bed. The design is like any of the trendy boutique hotels - leather, stainless steel dark furniture. I love that but if you are looking for an authentic/old-fashioned experience this will not be for you. There is free Wi-Fi in each room as well as two computers and printers in the lobby for guest use.
Free breakfast every morning was pretty decent - eggs, sausage, juices, bagels, muffins, fruit, yogurt, coffee/tea. Nothing exceptional but definitely enough. Cocktail hour with appetizers on weekdays. since we were there over a holiday weekend we only attended this once and it was OK. For a business traveler staying there for a week, it would be a great addition.
The fitness center was small but adequate though we did not use it.
Parking is a bit of an issue - they do provide valet parking in a fenced lot across the street for $12/day or you can park on the street but we could not find a space that was close enough so we opted for valet. A bit expensive in my opinion but it worked for us.
Now, a lot of people have complained about the location of this hotel and I have to say I disagree. Even with our 2-year old it was never a problem. Yes, the hotel is right on the border of the historic district (MLK Jr Blvd) but if you walk only 3 blocks you can reach one of the many squares and Market Street and the many of the other squares are 10-15 minute walk. Forsyth Park is a 15 min walk. The tram tours actually leave from MLK Blvd about a block from the hotel which was super convenient. All the streets in the historic district are very charming and walkable so we actually never used our car in the 4 days we were there, we walked everywhere. It seemed very safe even at night, even with a child. The Riverfront area is about 15-20 min walk but in all honesty I would not have wanted to be in a hotel there because it is very loud with lots of construction going on. With the Residence Inn we could walk the 15 minutes to the restaurants and activities and then be back to our hotel to truly relax.
The best part of this hotel is the pool/courtyard area. We could not remove our son from there and many days we opted to stay the whole afternoon there and go out only at night. There is a super cute patio right next to the pool with an outside fireplace, grills and lounge chairs - we always ate breakfast there. Behind the pool there is a lovely fountain with some benches and our son loved playing there. The pool itself may not look spectacular but it was perfect for us - water was really warm, there were always chairs available, everything is enclosed by a fence so we could let our son run around, and best of all, the whole courtyard is very quiet and relaxing, I'd go back just for that.
The only complaint I have is the housekeeping. On our 2nd day the housekeeper did not come until 3 pm when my son was taking a nap. Because we did not want to wake him up, we just asked her for new towels and asked her to come back to clean the room. She never did. The next day no one came to service the room again and around 5 pm we called for someone to take our trash away and bring new towels and the guy who finally came seemed like he really did not want to be there. If you are staying there for longer, this may turn into a problem.
But other than this issue, everything in the hotel was great and I totally recommend it. The city of Savannah is gorgeous and we were able to see the July 4 fireworks from one of the nearby parks because everything is so flat there.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tikcho77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

691 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    384
    223
    52
    11
    21
See reviews for
212
281
26
77
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Asheville, North Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2009

Hotel just recently built, granite countertops, comfy bed, flat screen TVs and very large suite rooms that seem quite soundproof. Complementary breakfast was hot and tasty. Outdoor pool nice and suitable for laps. Fire pit area for enjoying a beer on a sultry Savannah night. Price was excellent and the staff was very friendly and courteous. Everything you could want in a hotel, except for the location. It is located on the southwest edge of the historic downtown Savannah district. While it is right next to the visitor center and some other hotels, it is not an area to wander at night, and the area to the south is still very rough around the edges. It is about a 20 min walk to the river front. On the way out of town we were detoured around a roped off block where the police were taking pictures of an overnight shooting about 3 blocks from the hotel. While it was most likely a random occurrence, it was disturbing nonetheless. Perhaps the presence of more hotels there will begin to gentrify the neighborhood a bit more in the near future.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Roaming_Fool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ann arbor, mi
1 review
Reviewed June 9, 2009

I know this is cliche but this was the best hotel stay experience I have ever had. The staff was terrific, the place is brand new and valet parking was a breeze. I will stay at this location whenever I return to Savannah.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TIMinMI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2009

At first I had reservations at the Courtyard across the street then decided to stay here because they offered a full breakfast buffet. It is located right across from the Visitor's Center where many of the tours leave from but is in walking distance from most of the 22 squares. We ate at City Market one night-a place called BISTRO SAVANNAH(309 W Congress St) which was excellent. People were lining up for the Paula Deen place but I wonder if that is all hype? The Mariott was clean-loved the kitchen area as we were traveling for a week and had food with us to store. The pool was nice-there is a place to BBQ outside. We parked on the street and were fine but then again we had a rental car!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SCK123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chattanooga, Tennessee
Level 6 Contributor
198 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2009

We were visiting a friend at SCAD and selected the Residence Inn because it is right down the street from many of the dorms. Check-in was quick and easy due to Stacy's efficiency. She was helpful with information about the DOT transportation system and other local interests.

There is street parking around the hotel. Valet parking (for a fee) allows the car to be in a secured area across the street. We managed easily without a car choosing to walk and catch the DOT bus.

Our room was clean and very comfortable. Old reviews indicate problems with dirt, etc. This Residence Inn had been opened only 15 weeks when we visited.

There are computers in the lobby area to use. We did not use the pool or hot tub but the pool area was clean and others seemed to be enjoying it. There is also a fitness room.

Breakfast is served each morning with a nice variety of food. There is an evening snack Monday - Thursday. The day we arrived it was small hamburgers and drinks. Although we were not at the hotel during the snack time prior experience with other Residence Inn's have been favorable.

We ate nearby at The Mellow Mushroom. Good food! The next night our friend drove us out to Tybee Island to walk the beach and to have dinner. AJ's Restaurant had a long waiting time so we tried Sting Rays. The food was fresh and tasty.

Trip Advisor indicates that the hotel is on Independence Park Drive. Not sure if this is correct since there are only two Residence Inns in Savannah and neither at this address. The Marriott website shows the address as 500 West Charlton Street. The hotel is just a block from the Savannah Visitor Center and adjacent to the Marriott Courtyard.

Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Marilyn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sylvania, Ohio
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2009

On entering the Residence Inn, we were greeted by Stacy. What a gem the Residence Inn has in her. With a smile, she cheerfully answered all our questions and helpfully explained the DOT bus line as well as giving us restaurant suggestions for dinner. Nothing was too much to ask of her. Because the hotel was not full, we were upgraded to a one bedroom suite, which was welcome considering we were traveling with our adult son. Additionally, because we had a guided tour the following day that extended past check out, Stacy arranged a late check out for us.
Although the hotel is on the edge of the historic district, it is an easy walk to Bay Street. My husband and I actually liked being situated on the edge because we were able to see all the squares. Each time we went into the historic district, we followed a different route. Also, the Savannah visitor center is located next door.
The included breakfast was a delightful surprise. It was like a hotel buffet including scrambled eggs, bacon, sausage gravy and biscuits, fresh fruit, yogurt and pastry.
All in all, we were very pleased with both the rooms and staff at the Residence Inn. If we are ever back in Savannah, we will definitely stay at the Residence Inn.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jan185
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
miami
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2009

Made reservations online w/ Marriot with credit card almost 3 months in advance for a 1 bdrm suite to house my husband, toddler w/crib and myself for 2 nights. Called to confirm before we started travelling about a week before--confirmed by staff.

Called again the afternoon of our arrival to confirm room, crib and room type--confirmed by staff. Relayed arrival time (8:15pm).

Arrived at 8:15pm--Staff was unable to determine if there were any rooms of any type available for us. Let us languish in the lobby with a tired, hungry 2yr old (parents in the same state) for 40 min. Then they called a few other hotels to try to put us up--nothing available. 25 minutes later staff decides to physically investigate a couple of rooms to see if they are occupied. A studio suite was available--not what I request or searched for for hours on the web at various different sites.

Again, no mention of this problem beforehand even though they obviously knew they were overbooked for some time. They actually planned to "walk" a few other poor souls after us---hey, I wonder if calling the customers beforehand, perhaps while they are about to travel or on the road to inform them EVER occurred to the staff--you know so they could at least make other plans--stop for the night before they arrive at a booked up city--STRANDED???!! The staff had that info. right in front of them, but never attempted to call, just started prepare "walk" letters at the absentee manager's request. Nor did they bother to call other hotels earlier that day before the problem really got messy.

No manager on duty at the hotel at all--Memorial Day Weekend, full hotel. Stayed there 2 days, NEVER saw or spoke with a manager or asst. manager--although I did ask to more than once.

Took the studio suite b/c we had no choice. Because our toddler was in the same room, he was very reluctant to settle down & go to sleep and we had to go to bed same time as him. Because of delay in checking in we missed our opportunity to go get something to eat as well. Loud barking/whining dog woke us up at 5am and kept on until about 9:30am.

Called Marriot HQ, they sent a customer service alert to hotel to fix the problem--admitted hotel was obviously in the wrong for giving our room away.

I requested a reduction in rate for the trouble and wrong room both that night and in the morning---staff relayed message to "ghost manager" and message back was---NOPE!!

Free Valet Parking was offered first night, however, we could park next to the hotel anyway and their parking lot was basically in the same area--yes, $12 so they can drive your car 15-20ft into the parking lot. Also, "Historic District" title is misleading, it is in "Frog Town" which is still several, several blocks away from the real "historic" Savannah and points of interest.

Incidently, we were there looking for a place to live since my husband will be PCS-ing to Ft. Stewart. The manager's spin was that since we were getting the military rate anyway, he should not have to compensate for the mismanagement or greed that led to our harpooned expectations and comfort. Thanks bud, you are a real patriot--NOT!!

I will be sending a copy of this to Marriot's Customer Service HQ in Oklahoma.


I used to like my Marriot Rewards membership---not so much now.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank michiMiami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Savannah hotels
Downtown
Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District
Downtown
The Marshall House
The Marshall House
#4 of 113 in Savannah
2,703 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Yamacraw Village
Embassy Suites by Hilton Savannah
Downtown
Andaz Savannah
Andaz Savannah
#13 of 113 in Savannah
3,045 reviews
Downtown
Hampton Inn Savannah - Historic District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Savannah Downtown/Historic District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Savannah Downtown/Historic District

Property: Residence Inn Savannah Downtown/Historic District
Address: 500 W Charlton St, Savannah, GA 31401-3109
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Business Hotel in Savannah
#16 Romantic Hotel in Savannah
#19 Family Hotel in Savannah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Savannah Downtown/Historic District 3*
Number of rooms: 109
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your Residence Inn Savannah Downtown/Historic District reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Savannah Downtown/Historic District Hotel Savannah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing