We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location and facility”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Residence Inn Savannah Downtown/Historic District
Ranked #19 of 113 Hotels in Savannah
Certificate of Excellence
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent location and facility”
Reviewed April 8, 2014 via mobile

This hotel was great for us. We had 4 adults and 2 large dogs and the accommodations were great. I have stayed in other Residence Inns that smelled bad but this one was really clean. The breakfast buffet was disappointing but evening appetizers and drinks were good. The valet and staff gave us excellent recommendations for dinner too.

Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank CindyM282
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
savdv, Manager at Residence Inn Savannah Downtown/Historic District, responded to this review, October 29, 2014
CindyM282 - Thank you for sharing your experience at the Residence Inn Savannah Downtown/Historic District.

As a valued customer, we appreciate your feedback and are delighted to hear that you had a great stay. With a spirit to serve, we take great pride in not only meeting, but exceeding your expectations.

Your feedback is integral to our ability to continue to improve our service. Thank you again for your time and come visit us again soon

Willie H. Alls
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

697 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    388
    223
    53
    12
    21
See reviews for
216
283
26
77
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa
Level 6 Contributor
227 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2014

We have mostly positive experiences from our stay at the hotel. On the plus side, we loved the location. We could walk to anywhere without being caught up in the busyness of the waterfront. Also the pool and area were very nice and very well kept. We really enjoyed our dips in the pool and our stay in the pool area. The room was comfortable and we slept well. The staff was friendly, especially the valet parking attendant. I thought he was outstanding! (I don't have his name but he was a small, short dark man.) On the negative side, the housekeeping left something to be desired. When we got there, the stand to put our suitcase on was broken (badly) and it was obvious it hadn't been looked at. The dishwasher had been left mid-way through its cycle and it was beeping constantly. We complained and both of those were fixed. Also on the one day where the maid came, she collected the garbage in one bag and left it on the kitchen counter! (Perhaps the maid was having a bad week, I don't know...) Anyway other than the maid service, the place was good. I should also add the hotel is about 100 ft from one of the visitors' center where the tour busses (trolleys) leave from. Also about 100 ft away is The Distillery which is a great little place for food and craft beers. It was recommended to us by the front desk and we ate there 3 times in 3 days!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SergeOttawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
savdv, Manager at Residence Inn Savannah Downtown/Historic District, responded to this review, October 29, 2014
SergeOttawa - Traveler - Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience at the Residence Inn Savannah Downtown/Historic District with us. I was pleased to hear that you found our staff to be friendly and informative and that you enjoyed our location and our pool.

As the cleanliness of our hotel is a key priority, I am very sorry that your guestroom fell short of your expectations. Please rest assured that your comments have been shared with the housekeeping team in an effort to improve our service.

Your feedback is integral to our ability to continue to improve our service. Thank you again for your time and come visit us again soon

Willie H. Alls
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2014

Conveniently located to walk the historic district. Very clean facility and Room # 317 was spacious and spotless. Staff was very friendly and accommodative to any need we had. Best breakfast buffet of all the Marriott extended stays we've visited. Because of city location Marriott valet parking ($12.00) is recommended, and is right across the street from the Inn in a securely fenced and monitored lot. Savannah historic district is a great walk with a combination of beautiful private residences, wonderful public architecture, endless parks, and many restaurant choices. If you prefer to ride, a historic trolley tour starts about a block from the inn.

Room Tip: Room #317 was quiet and spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
savdv, Manager at Residence Inn Savannah Downtown/Historic District, responded to this review, October 29, 2014
SU70 - Thank you for sharing your experience at the Residence Inn Savannah Downtown/Historic District.

With a mission to provide superior customer service, we take great pride in serving your needs and are delighted to hear that we have met your expectations. As a valued customer, your feedback will be shared with the team to continue to inspire and motivate them to deliver exceptional customer service.

Thank you for staying at the Residence Inn Savannah Downtown/Historic District and we hope you choose to stay with us again whenever your travel needs bring you back to Savannah.

Willie H. Alls
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2014 via mobile

The people who work at the Residence Inn take making their guest feel at home seriously! You'll begin be being warmly greeted by Willie, the valet and then you'll fall in love with Danae in the kitchen who will learn your children's names and ask about your day. The rooms were very clean and spacious with a kitchenette. The pool area was very nice and each evening you can end your day sitting around the outdoor fire pit. We especially enjoyed the breakfasts and 5 o'clock snack time (which was a meal for our kids) that included nachos one night and hit dog and chips the next. You are within walking distance to everything Savannah has to offer (with the exception on Tybee Island which us worth the drive).

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Dkatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
savdv, Manager at Residence Inn Savannah Downtown/Historic District, responded to this review, October 29, 2014
Dkatt - Thank you for sharing your experience at the Residence Inn Savannah Downtown/Historic District.

With a mission to provide superior customer service, we take great pride in serving your needs and are delighted to hear that we have met your expectations. As a valued customer, your feedback will be shared with Willie, Danae and the rest of the team to continue to inspire and motivate them to deliver exceptional customer service.

Thank you for staying at the Residence Inn Savannah Downtown/Historic District and we hope you choose to stay with us again whenever your travel needs bring you back to Savannah.

Willie H. Alls
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canton, Ohio
1 review
Reviewed April 1, 2014

My wife and I arrived late. Greeted with a smile by the young lady working that night despite it being 1:30 in the morning. The room was very clean and huge. We reserved the Studio King and it was very spacious. The hotel is in walking distance to everything; however, bring your walking shoes!!! Even though the hotel was soldout the rooms were quiet and comfortable. K at breakfast was excellent and Krystal at the bar was a belle. Dennis and J were hilarious and very friendly. The night lady with the red hair was very helpful and nice. She checked us out and brought us our car. Overall, whenever in Savannah, the Residence Inn Downtown is where you need to be!!!!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlexDaGreat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
savdv, Manager at Residence Inn Savannah Downtown/Historic District, responded to this review, October 29, 2014
AleDaGreat - Thank you for sharing your experience at the Residence Inn Savannah Downtown/Historic District.

With a mission to provide superior customer service, we take great pride in serving your needs and are delighted to hear that we have met your expectations. As a valued customer, your feedback will be shared with Karintha, Crystal, Dennis, Jamel and the rest of the team to continue to inspire and motivate them to deliver exceptional customer service.

Thank you for staying at the Residence Inn Savannah Downtown/Historic District and we hope you choose to stay with us again whenever your travel needs bring you back to Savannah.

Willie H. Alls
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
187 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2014

Stayed here for two nights, almost stayed at the Marriott courtyard across the street. Good selection. The free bus service stops right in front of the hotel. The room is very large with new finishes and nice lighting. We had the kitchen, desk and couch with plenty of room. The price was in line with all others but the service and food was quite good. They had a nice pool area but it was too cool to use. These rooms were the quietest I ever stayed at and I have stayed at a lot of hotels for business. Highly recommended . The parking says valet but you can grab a spot on the street. This hotel is one block from the visitor center where all the tours depart from. Enjoy!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank quicktraveler91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
savdv, Manager at Residence Inn Savannah Downtown/Historic District, responded to this review, October 29, 2014
quicktraveler91 - Thank you for taking the time to share feedback on your recent stay at the Residence Inn Savannah Downtown/Historic District. Our goal is to provide a unique and memorable guest experience. We take great pride in serving our guest and are delighted to hear that we met your expectations.

Thank you for your loyalty to Marriott! We look forward to having you as a loyal guest and will see you on your next trip.

Willie H. Alls
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savannah, Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2014 via mobile

After I caught the desk clerk sleep...let's see...well I had a guaranteed reservation and had to get transferred to another hotel because they were over sold and decided to give my rooms away as if I wasn't a paying customer...the front desk agent name was Victoria...avoid her by all means..she was mad because I guess we woke her up from a nice deep sleep...when you have to walk behind the counter to wake a employee its sad.....she was very rude in helping me find another hotel and by the sounds of her manager on the phone getting a call late at night was upsetting for him too I guess...well I guess we all have our own experiences with hotels but mine was not pleasant... The valet guy tried his best after we talked to her but he couldn't find us a place to go either but he tried and she kept putting us off to him as if we was the front desk agent... maybe next time

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank TherealDC1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
savdv, Manager at Residence Inn Savannah Downtown/Historic District, responded to this review, April 4, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to comment about your experience at our hotel. I would like to apologize to you and your family for the inconveniences you experienced on your trip to Savannah. I understand how being relocated to a different hotel can be upsetting, especially given the time of night. Relocating a guest is an unfortunate occurrence that sometimes arises in the hospitality industry. We regret that a loyal Marriott Customer, such as yourself, has had to experience this first hand.

I was also disappointed that our Front Desk Associate made such a bad impression. Our associates have been trained to handle difficult situations, such as this one, with patience and consideration for our guest's circumstances. We take pride in providing great service at all times, and your comments have been addressed with our entire staff, accordingly.

Once again I apologize for your unpleasant experience. We appreciate your loyalty to Marriott and we hope that when your travels bring you back to Savannah you will select our hotel again and have a perfect stay!

Willie H. Alls, AGM
ri.savdv.agm@marriott.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Savannah hotels
Yamacraw Village
Embassy Suites by Hilton Savannah
Downtown
Andaz Savannah
Andaz Savannah
#13 of 113 in Savannah
3,074 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
The Marshall House
The Marshall House
#4 of 113 in Savannah
2,743 reviews
Downtown
Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District
Historic District - North
DoubleTree by Hilton Savannah Historic District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Savannah Downtown/Historic District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Savannah Downtown/Historic District

Property: Residence Inn Savannah Downtown/Historic District
Address: 500 W Charlton St, Savannah, GA 31401-3109
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Business Hotel in Savannah
#16 Romantic Hotel in Savannah
#19 Family Hotel in Savannah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Savannah Downtown/Historic District 3*
Number of rooms: 109
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Marriott, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Residence Inn Savannah Downtown/Historic District reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Savannah Downtown/Historic District Hotel Savannah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing