We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Residence Inn Savannah Downtown/Historic District
Nearby Hotels
Hyatt Regency Savannah(Savannah)
$199
Hyatt.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$190
$169
EmbassySuites.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$189
$182
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Best Western Central Inn(Savannah)(Great Value!)
$76
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$188
$179
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$178
$159
Hampton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$157
$145
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$167
$149
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
The DeSoto(Savannah)
$169
$135
Preferred Hotels
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
River Street Inn(Savannah)(Great Value!)
$183
$143
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (751)
Filter reviews
751 results
Traveler rating
415
238
61
15
22
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
415
238
61
15
22
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe cottagesvalet parkinghistoric districtfire pitvisitor centertrain museumfull kitchenone bedroom suitemain buildingwithin walking distancefree dotstreet parkingliving areabreakfast areawould stay here againthe riverbreakfast staff
Filter
Updating list...
508 - 513 of 751 reviews
Reviewed June 10, 2013

Not only is this property charming in its appearance, but it is clean, well appointed and has a great, friendly staff. The decor is modern and the bar/ breakfast area is very homey and accessible. The pool area and quaint courtyard is a lovely place to sit and relax near the fountain or swim and lay out by the pool.
I was first concerned about the location being at the edge of the historic downtown area, and I was alarmed at first with the gas station/ quick mart next door. The quick mart was actually handy to buy drinks and snacks to keep in the kitchen. The hotel is next door to the visitor center (which houses a museum and gift shop) where the tour trolleys pick up and next to the railroad museum that has a round house for trains (super cool to see- you can check it out without paying to get in). The hotel is also right next to the site of the bloodiest battle of the American Revolution and there is a memorial there. We were a 10 to 15 minute walk from river street. Yes, it got a bit tiring, but if you can handle walking it is great. We thought it helped burn some of the calories we took in with the over-abundance of southern food and drink( you can walk around with a cocktail in the historic district). If you don't want to walk, just take the DOT system or call for a golf cart or taxi.
We stayed in a suite. We had three people in our party and slept with a queen bed and a sleeper sofa. The queen mattress was very nice to sleep on, but the sofa was not. It was uneven and very difficult to sleep on. The bathroom was also difficult for three adults. The sink and mirror were outside of the toilet and shower area but it was right next to the queen bed. I think the room, as a suite, could have been roomier for three adults. The kitchen was very nice with a dishwasher and a full size refrigerator.
Hot breakfast was different each day with items such as biscuits and gravy, egg burritos, scrambled eggs, bacon, sausage, canadian bacon and potatoes sauteed with bell peppers and onions. Each morning they had standard continental breakfast items such as yogurt, granola, oatmeal, cereals, bagels, english muffins, bread, muffins. A waffle machine was available to make your own waffles, milk, juice, coffee, tea and hot cocoa. There were many places to sit inside the kitchen, lobby and outside by the pool.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mmm10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
savdv, General Manager at Residence Inn Savannah Downtown/Historic District, responded to this reviewResponded June 23, 2013

We are so glad that the Residence Inn Savannah Downtown Historic District was your hotel of choice while visiting Savannah. It is always great to hear that our guests enjoyed their stay and we appreciate you taking the time to post a review on TripAdvisor. As you pointed out, our location provides easy access to historic venues, restaurants, bars and shopping. If you are not up for walking the DOT shuttle is a great, FREE alternative. I appreciate you mentioning the friendly staff, I will be sure to share your feedback with them. Thanks again for being our guest, we look forward to your return!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2013

We stayed here - and it is a good walk to the Historic District - but doable - especially if you do walking on a regular basis. We choose this hotel because it was a little outside the 'inner circle' so to speak - so we got a pretty good rate. I knew the parking issue ahead of time - so was prepared for that. We walked back from the historic area several nights after 10pm - and we felt very safe.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FLACruiser3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
savdv, General Manager at Residence Inn Savannah Downtown/Historic District, responded to this reviewResponded June 11, 2013

We appreciate you being our guest at the Residence Inn Savannah Downtown Historic District as well as sharing your experience at our hotel on TripAdvisor. As you may know downtown Savannah is the largest historic district in the United States. There is so much to see! If you are not up for walking the district, there are several trolley tours which offer great historical information about the city in addition to some local folklore that is interesting as well. The trolleys all depart from the Visitors Center located next to the hotel. We hope that when you return to Savannah you will be our guest again! Enjoy your summer!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2013 via mobile

Nice hotel and the employees were very friendly. On the outskirts of historic district, but easy to walk to everything. A few blocks walk to the tourist areas. There is a pool with sitting areas around it in a cute courtyard. Yes, exercise room. No hot tub. Rooms very spacious. My only comment, the bathroom is right next to the bed. There is a door for the shower area, but not the sink area. So, the light in the sink area lights up the whole bedroom. Not a problem if you are by yourself, but disruptive to all other sleepers if you are not.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LT_Dallas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
savdv, General Manager at Residence Inn Savannah Downtown/Historic District, responded to this reviewResponded June 11, 2013

Thank you for posting a review on TripAdvisor regarding your recent stay at the Residence Inn Savannah Downtown Historic District. We appreciate you choosing our hotel for your lodging needs while in Savannah! I appreciate the comments regarding the friendly staff. I will be sure to share these comments with my team in our morning huddle. Thanks again for being our guest! We hope we will have the opportunity to serve you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2013 via mobile

Why would Marriot put a Residence Inn in a place that looks so rundown with no shopping & few restaurants? You HAVE to pay to put your car behind a chain link fence because its so sketchy. The valet won't even stand outside after 10pm. Come on, ppl, tell the truth!

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank luxurytraveler100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
savdv, General Manager at Residence Inn Savannah Downtown/Historic District, responded to this reviewResponded June 11, 2013

Thanks for choosing the Residence Inn Savannah Downtown Historic District for your lodging needs while in Savannah. We also appreciate you taking the time to post a review on TripAdvisor. I am so disappointed that you were not happy with the location of the hotel. We are located next door to the Savannah Visitors Center and one block away from many restaurants, bars and shopping venues. Every hotel in the downtown market offers valet parking as parking is very limited in downtown locations. Once the car is parked, most of our guest never have to use it during there stay with us. Thanks again for staying with us. We hope that when your travels bring you back to Savannah you will give us another try!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2013

This hotel is located on the edge of the historic district. It is within walking distance, but not as close as others. If you are used to walking, it's fine. If you are not a regular walker, you may prefer a hotel further into the historic district, although you will pay more. We had a townhouse room, and it was spacious and very quiet. Only beef with the room was how dark it was. The windows were narrow and almost no natural light, but who spends a lot of time in their hotel in Savannah? Shortage of towel racks was annoying too. About parking, it's expensive to use the hotel parking, but it's 24-hour free parking on the street in the rear, so try to get a spot there for free parking. We never had a problem getting a spot, but maybe we were just lucky.
The breakfast was what it always is at these places. Not great, but it's included. Staff was slow to re-stock the food.
Really nice pool.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Monona_Mom57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
savdv, General Manager at Residence Inn Savannah Downtown/Historic District, responded to this reviewResponded June 6, 2013

Thanks for taking the time to write a review of the Residence Inn Savannah Downtown Historic District! We are glad you enjoyed your stay!

I have shared your comments with our breakfast staff. I regret that the complimentary breakfast did not exceed your expectations. We will pay close attention to the quality of food as well as making sure we replinish the food in a timely manner. We know this is such an important part of your experience with us and we want it to be exceptional as well!

I hope that when your travels bring you back to Savannah you will stay with us again and experience our warm southern hospitality! Make sure to take advantage of the fare free shuttle as well. It is the perfect way to get around the historic district!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews