We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Terrific accommodations, terrific people” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn Savannah Downtown/Historic District

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Residence Inn Savannah Downtown/Historic District
Ranked #22 of 112 Hotels in Savannah
Certificate of Excellence
Amesbury, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Terrific accommodations, terrific people”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

this was our first visit to Savannah and hopefully won't be the last. this hotel had a unique feature that some of the rooms were not in the main building so you had the feeling you were in a small apartment off site. very clean, quiet and what made this wonderful were the people. we got to savannah earily so i called the front desk and asked if I could check in early and of course they said yes so right from the beginning it was a real plus. also, the free breakfast was outstanding.........everything you could want and the ladies than ran it were just great. don't hesitate, just rent here....the rates were reasonable and it's only a shore walk to the center of the historic district. you can also park in the back on the street for free.........perfect stay.

Room Tip: rooms were large and had all the kitchen facilities you will need.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank alphonse w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

574 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    314
    188
    43
    11
    18
See reviews for
175
236
23
63
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
54 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012 via mobile

Great hotel. Staff are very friendly and helpful. Right next door to visitors center and tour bus stops. Valet parking is $12.00 a night but there is free street parking. Loved the breakfast. It's a home away from home.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JDPTKP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IN
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

MR Plat, weekday stay on business. Tour bus group in hotel, placed in same cottage as part of the group. 4-5 people return from night out at 2 AM, talk loudly for an hour in the hallways. A call to the front desk produces no action. A followup email to the regional manager (Donnie Morgan) 2 weeks ago resulted in no response.

My takeaways are: decent property but it's really on the periphery of the historic district (check a map), and at least in my experience I have never had a noise problem staying at many of the other historic district properties. And I have to assume if you have any sort of issue you won't get a satisfactory response on site or after the fact from management.

Note to Marriott: I pay you to get some sleep. Consider placing obvious business travelers, especially plats, away from tour groups- the hotel wasn't full. Have a plan in place for when there is a noise problem so your front desk knows how to respond and solve the problem. Have a plan in place for how the front desk should respond to guests, especially "valued" platinums, when they mention a problem upon check out. Train your managers to respond to polite email follow-ups from guests before they decide to write a not as polite review on Tripadvisor.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank 190trav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
savdv, General Manager at Residence Inn Savannah Downtown/Historic District, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Thank you for being a guest in our hotel and sharing your comments on tripadvisor. I regret that you did not have a restful night and I apologize for the lack of response from management.

As a Platinum Marriott Rewards member you were upgraded to one of our cottage rooms. These are our preferred room type as they offer our guest access to the pool and courtyard area. Most of our cottage rooms are occupied by our long term guests or Marriott Reward Elite members and it is rare that we have any noise complaints. I apologize that the staff on duty was not able to remedy the problem immediately after you called down.

I also regret that you did not receive an immediate response from management. I do see where I reached out to you via email. We also added additional points to your Marriott Rewards account due to the problems you encountered. If you did not receive these points please feel free to contact me so that I may correct this.

Thank you again for being our guest and sharing your comments with us. I hope that when you return to Savannah you will stay with us and have a very restful night. Please feel free to contact me directly to book your reservation.

Sincerely yours.

Donnie Morgan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

Went 2 Savannah for a relaxing weekend. Check in was a breeze. The room was great, a kitchenette was included. The room was clean and quiet. The courtyard was great we enjoyed the firepit. We had a package that included valet parking a plus. They have hot breakfast, eggs, sausage, biscuit/gravy, etc..... We were k walking distance for everything. We walked to the Riverfront, restaurants, and shopping. The staff was very friendly. We will return. We had a great weekend.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Geannette W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

What you get at this hotel is southern hospitality at its best! From the doorman & front desk to the
wonderful breakfast & hospitality staff,you are treated like family.The room was large,clean & nicely furnished.The property is private & quiet. We highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Pool & garden view
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Wiltz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spring Hill, Florida
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

I read the reviews for this hotel before my visit and was impressed, I am even more impressed after my stay there. The staff is very friendly and go out of their way to make the guest happy. The free breakfast was one of the best I have had in the Marriot Hotels. Loved the courtyard and fire pit!! The rooms are large and have everything you need for your stay away from home. I will return with friends next time. It's a great place to gather with friends in the gazbo or around the fire pit. I highly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bev D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zephyrhills, Florida
Level Contributor
208 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

We stayed here last week, and what a pleasant surprise. The hotel was more like a small apartment. We were in one of the cottages, and it almost felt like home. The staff could not have been more friendly. They offered everything from advice to ice to cheese for your grits. The "hot" breakfast bar was one of the best we had encountered, and we travel alot. The hotel was within walking distance of just about everything. Do yourself a favor and give this hotel a try. You won't be disappointed.

Room Tip: If you're lucky, you just might score a cottage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Savannah hotels
Downtown
Courtyard Savannah Downtown/Historic District
Downtown
SpringHill Suites Savannah Downtown/Historic District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
B Historic Savannah
B Historic Savannah
#47 of 112 in Savannah
4.0 of 5 stars 1,473 reviews
Yamacraw Village
Embassy Suites by Hilton Savannah
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Savannah Downtown/Historic District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Savannah Downtown/Historic District

Property: Residence Inn Savannah Downtown/Historic District
Address: 500 West Charlton Street, Savannah, GA 31401
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Business Hotel in Savannah
#16 Romantic Hotel in Savannah
#19 Family Hotel in Savannah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Savannah Downtown/Historic District 3*
Number of rooms: 109
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Expedia, Odigeo, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Residence Inn Savannah Downtown/Historic District reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Savannah Downtown/Historic District Hotel Savannah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing