We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Residence Inn Savannah Downtown/Historic District
Ranked #22 of 114 Hotels in Savannah
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 22, 2011

When I stay in a hotel I can usually find something to be critical of but not this time. We drove up to the front of the hotel and were warmly greeted by Dennis who could not stop fawning our our 16 month old daughter, Lily. He called out to his colleague, Victoria, and said that she had to come this little girl. When Victoria came out she made us feel like we were the only people in the hotel. The greeting was so warm and genuine and a great start to our stay. We had a room in the bottom level of the Hanlon Cottage and it was prefect. It was clean, and I do mean spotless, and it was large. The housekeeping staff was very good and there was nothing out of place. Our room was so comfortable and the AC was the topper since it was so hot outside. Our daughter loved the pool and we loved the happy hour each night with the complimentary beverages and food. The hot breakfast in the morning was second to none. This is a perfectly located hotel, right on the edge of the Historic District and just a block or so away from the tourist information building. If you have children or if you are going to be in Savannah long term, this is the place to stay.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BigPeteNy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (705)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

613 - 619 of 705 reviews

Reviewed August 22, 2011

This is a brand new Residence Inn located on the western edge of Savannah's historic district. While it is not centrally located to all of the tourist destinations, it is certainly within walking distance to most of the attractions. Reviews that suggest that it's not in the Historic District are just plain wrong. In fact one of the most historic structures in the city, the old Railroad Roundhouse Museum, is right next door, and is a must see. The popular tour companies all have ticketing locations at the museum, which is a great way to get around. The city also runs a hop on/off free shuttle which picks up at the hotel's front door; it can take you anywhere in the historic district. The property is NOT in an unsafe area, as others reviewers have suggested.

The hotel staff was incredible, from the front desk to housekeeping. Often times, hotels that bill themselves as "pet friendly" are really not all that happy to see your pet. Not here. The staff was very welcoming and extremely accommodating of our dogs.

The pool and courtyard are very nice - including two gas grills, dining tables, and a very nice firepit area. Hot breakfast was well above average for what I expect from the mid-priced hotel category.

We had a spacious two bedroom suite, which was more than enough room for four adults, and our two dogs. Although we didin't take advantage of the full size kitchen, it would be a huge money saving feature if travelling with kids.

There are great dining options very close by including The Distillery - great beer selection and good bar food, and Corleone's - nice old-school Italian restaurant. We found the Parker's Market (convenience store) right next door, to be an asset, as it saved us $$ in stocking our fridge.

I would certainly stay here again. It's easily one of the best "extended stay" properties I have experienced as a business traveller, and would be an excellent value for the money for families visiting Savannah.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RoadDogFla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2011

Newer hotel very close to visitor's center where tours start. Very quiet - not on busy street. I would much prefer to stay away from Bay street and the river where there is a lot of traffic and noise. Short walk to everything in historic district. Adjacent to grassy "park" for walking dog. Seems very safe - had no fears walking dog after dark. Save $12 dollars for valet and park on the street. Staff was very friendly. Stayed in one-bedroom suite which was great for us. Central reservations said that there was no pull-out sofabed which seemed odd, but I called direct to the hotel and found out that there was. Good hot breakfast. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jim P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2011

This is a great place to stay in downtown Savannah. Don't pay more to stay at the Courtyard - the Residence Inn is a block away, no mandatory valet fees, has better management, free breakfast, and a better pool. I have stayed here several times when in town.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kappellmeister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2011

Arrived here on July 4th after a long car trip. It was wonderful to be greeted by pleasant staff and offered a beer on a hot day. The room was clean and fresh and we enjoyed ourselves. The tour of the historic district was great, as was getting picked up at the front door. Have already recommended this place to friends.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank elsier33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2011

Pool area is nice. They even provide grills. Service is ok. Front desk was distracted & kept me waiting w/o even addressing me. Once she did it was a quick check-in which was nice. Cleaning crew can use some educating. She woke me up at 9:47am almost knocking down my door b/c she wanted to put up my do not disturb sign. Are u kidding??? Check out is not til 12. Needless to say I couldn't go back to sleep. The only amazing service was Dennis! He's great, friendly, resourceful. Not sure I'll stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank miaminn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2011

This is a great hotel in the historic district of Savannah. We planned a last minute trip for the 4th of July and we are so gald we stayed at this Residence Inn. The rooms are very nice - super clean, very spacious and well kept. The staff is very friendly and always helpful. It is much nicier then staying on the River walk. The area is safe, well lite and quiet.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brandi10722
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Savannah hotels
Downtown
Courtyard Savannah Downtown/Historic District
Downtown
B Historic Savannah
B Historic Savannah
#27 of 114 in Savannah
509 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Historic District - North
DoubleTree by Hilton Savannah Historic District
Downtown
SpringHill Suites Savannah Downtown/Historic District
Yamacraw Village
Embassy Suites by Hilton Savannah
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Savannah Downtown/Historic District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Savannah Downtown/Historic District

Address: 500 W Charlton St, Savannah, GA 31401-3109
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Business Hotel in Savannah
#16 Romantic Hotel in Savannah
#19 Family Hotel in Savannah
Price Range: $162 - $252 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Savannah Downtown/Historic District 3*
Number of rooms: 109
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Residence Inn Savannah Downtown/Historic District reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Savannah Downtown/Historic District Hotel Savannah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing