We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“warm and hospitable”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Residence Inn Savannah Downtown/Historic District
Ranked #19 of 113 Hotels in Savannah
Certificate of Excellence
thunder bay ontario
Level Contributor
90 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“warm and hospitable”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2011

Arrived here on July 4th after a long car trip. It was wonderful to be greeted by pleasant staff and offered a beer on a hot day. The room was clean and fresh and we enjoyed ourselves. The tour of the historic district was great, as was getting picked up at the front door. Have already recommended this place to friends.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank elsier33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

662 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    368
    216
    47
    11
    20
See reviews for
199
273
24
76
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2011

Pool area is nice. They even provide grills. Service is ok. Front desk was distracted & kept me waiting w/o even addressing me. Once she did it was a quick check-in which was nice. Cleaning crew can use some educating. She woke me up at 9:47am almost knocking down my door b/c she wanted to put up my do not disturb sign. Are u kidding??? Check out is not til 12. Needless to say I couldn't go back to sleep. The only amazing service was Dennis! He's great, friendly, resourceful. Not sure I'll stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank miaminn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2011

This is a great hotel in the historic district of Savannah. We planned a last minute trip for the 4th of July and we are so gald we stayed at this Residence Inn. The rooms are very nice - super clean, very spacious and well kept. The staff is very friendly and always helpful. It is much nicier then staying on the River walk. The area is safe, well lite and quiet.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brandi10722
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2011

The hotel is a new property a little hard to find but worth it. The Savannah shuttle stops right at the door which makes touring easy. Breakfast is ok but worth it--it's free! The courtyard is really nice. Make sure when you make your reservation to ask for a cottage. They have balconies that you can actually use. The hotel staff really made our stay great!

Room Tip: Ask for a cottage!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ronghead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alpharetta, Georgia
Level Contributor
49 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2011

Spacious studio suites; however, my view was an alley wall on 4th floor; asked to be changed for better view as I am Gold Elite Marriott; ha ha ha --got the same model room but over a gas station and overgrown weeded lot in the "hood": this claims to be an historic district but is far from it--in fact the historic area is an unsafe and hot, long walk away. And my gold Marriott status had a negative effect at this hotel.

Hotel "manager" said I was lucky to have the room.....hotel sold out. I pointed out that I'd booked three moths prior and called to advise and confirm with the front desk twice including before I flew out. No welcome committee but instead almost a "go-away" committee.

The happy hour bartenders with compl. wine and beer were lovely and a nice plus at the end of the day; the comp. "snacks" mediocre at best. The breakfast also compl. was substantial albeit monitored by cooks/staff (rude) in need of remedial customer service.
There appeared to be other areas of the hotel looking over nicer views yet after seven days my room and view and the actual location depressing.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cath049
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
savdv, General Manager at Residence Inn Savannah Downtown/Historic District, responded to this review, June 23, 2011
Thanks so much for your recent stay at the Residence Inn Savannah Downtown Historic District! I regret that you were not completely satisfied with our hotel! We are conveniently located in the Historic District , adjacent to the Savannah Visitors Center, the Roundhouse Railroad Museum, and the Historic Battlefield Park. All of our fourth floor rooms have a view of our courtyard as these are interior rooms. The courtyard views are stunning and can be seen by viewing the photographs on our website. While Parker's Market is directly in front of our hotel, none of our rooms view this location.

As a Marriott Rewards Member we appreciate your loyalty to Marriott. When upgrades are available, we will happily offer our Marriott Rewards Members an upgrade, however as the hotel was full for the duration of your stay we were not able to offer you this benefit.

I am suprised to hear that the service at breakfast was anything less than exceptional. As past reviews indicate, our breakfast personnel are typically very friendly and cheerful. I apologize that you did not have the same experience and I will certainly share your comments with them. Our staff prides itself on warm, Southern Hospitality and we hope all our guests experience that during their stay.

Thanks again for staying with us. We enjoyed hosting your group and look forward to your groups return in 2012!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2011

Nice rooms, very clean, great design and ambiance in rooms and common areas. Allowed pets, which we appreciated as we always travel with our two dogs. Location was close to the historic district, but across a busy street from it, sort of isolated over by the railroad museum. We had a car, which helped. Not a terrible location, but not right in the heart of things either. Overall good value for the money - another great Marriott property.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mswagner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Level Contributor
32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2011

This hotel is in a good area within walking distance to the riverfront area. The staff was very nice and the hotel was spacious and well kept, good for families. The only thing that was a little weird was the gas station in the front of the hotel- good if you needed gas or milk., but a little strange.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Weekend_Traveler55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Savannah hotels
Downtown
B Historic Savannah
B Historic Savannah
#20 of 113 in Savannah
4.5 of 5 bubbles 438 reviews
Downtown
Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Historic District - North
DoubleTree by Hilton Savannah Historic District
Yamacraw Village
Embassy Suites by Hilton Savannah
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Savannah Downtown/Historic District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Savannah Downtown/Historic District

Property: Residence Inn Savannah Downtown/Historic District
Address: 500 W Charlton St, Savannah, GA 31401-3109
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Business Hotel in Savannah
#16 Romantic Hotel in Savannah
#19 Family Hotel in Savannah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Savannah Downtown/Historic District 3*
Number of rooms: 109
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Residence Inn Savannah Downtown/Historic District reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Savannah Downtown/Historic District Hotel Savannah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing