We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent option”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Residence Inn Savannah Downtown/Historic District
Ranked #22 of 114 Hotels in Savannah
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 16, 2011

If you are coming to Savannah to see the sights, restaurants, and so forth, this hotel is an excellent option. The rates are great, the rooms are fabulously well appointed, the staff is professional, and the location is excellent. My wife and I stayed here for a couple of nights during the beginning of February, and we enjoyed our stay. We would definetely stay here again.

A couple of things to know:

*The tour trolley's main stop is conveniently located a block away from the hotel, as well as the tourist center and museum.

*The hotel has an awesome full breakfast in the morning for you, and from Monday-Thursday they even have a light meal for you.

*You can self park, or use the valet as I did (the valet attendants were very professional and helpful). For a small fee, they park your car across the street in a fenced parking lot.

Hope this helps. Enjoy.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank travelingblue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (707)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

637 - 643 of 707 reviews

Reviewed March 5, 2011

This is one of the nicer Residence Inns I have stayed at. The hotel is relatively new and has kind of a unique feel to it. The location is about 10 blocks from the River front, but definitely walkable. There are good restaraunts closer. The free in-room wifi has descent speed, and the fitness center is nice. I can only think of two minor complaints. First, the breakfast is weak compared to an Embassy Suites or Garden Inn, but it does have some hot fare that is edible. Also, there aren't too many tv channels, but they do have most of the big ones. All in all, its a great place to stay in downtown.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cbob270
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2011

I was only able to spend one night at this property but would have stayed longer if my schedule had allowed. The property is located in the Historic Distric within walking distance of many of the great resteraunts of Savannah. The staff went out of their way to give us recomendations and directions for dinner the one night we were there.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kingprince
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2011

I o\would highly recommend this location...GREAT Marriott standards, clean rooms, very modern & comfortable. Victoria at the front desk was amazing...warm, friendly & ready to help at any moment! I can't say enpugh good things about the hotel, rooms, location & STAFF!!

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kmatos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2011

We were in Savannah to celebrate my mom's 70th b-day. The hotel was WONDERFUL - The most exceptional part was the staff...they went way above and beyond to make our stay wonderful. They were always warm and very friendly and helpful, and went way above and beyond the call of duty. When the learned it was my mom's birthday they even got her a balloon and champaign! We could not have asked for any more from them. They helped make recommendations on where to go and what to do throughout the weekend, etc. I was worried about the location (worried it wasn't close enough to the river area) but it was totally fine. We even forgot about the free shuttle and walked everywhere until the last day, when we used it and it was GREAT! The accommodations were great - clean, spacious. Having a full kitchen was nice although we didn't use it much. The kids enjoyed the heated pool. We used to lobby a ton to visit with family. It is not a luxury hotel, but is totally comfortable. I HIGHLY recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AMYINAA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2011

Stayed here for two nights. Very nice hotel for the money. Large room, nice setup. Only issue is how far away from the river walk or historic village it is. A bit of a walk, but if you are on business it is great.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JFL1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2011

We made reservations at the last minute while on the road from Northern Virginia to South Florida and looking for a place to overnight. Pet friendly was important as our small dog was along on this trip. The Residence Inn turned out to be a great experience. The suite is spacious, valet parking in a private locked lot with camera surveillance, and the comfortable beds made for a memorable stay. Also we had never been to Savannah, which we were delighted to visit, with its great historic neighborhoods and buildings, including many fine restaurants from which to choose. We sill definitely return there, including when we make the return trip in the Spring.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wizinit_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Savannah hotels
Downtown
Courtyard Savannah Downtown/Historic District
Downtown
B Historic Savannah
B Historic Savannah
#28 of 114 in Savannah
511 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Historic District - North
DoubleTree by Hilton Savannah Historic District
Downtown
SpringHill Suites Savannah Downtown/Historic District
Yamacraw Village
Embassy Suites by Hilton Savannah
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Savannah Downtown/Historic District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Savannah Downtown/Historic District

Address: 500 W Charlton St, Savannah, GA 31401-3109
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Business Hotel in Savannah
#16 Romantic Hotel in Savannah
#19 Family Hotel in Savannah
Price Range: $162 - $252 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Savannah Downtown/Historic District 3*
Number of rooms: 109
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Residence Inn Savannah Downtown/Historic District reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Savannah Downtown/Historic District Hotel Savannah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing