We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An out of the way gem”
Review of Old Fort Jackson

Old Fort Jackson
Book In Advance
More Info
$130.00*
and up
Downtown Savannah and Old Fort Jackson Helicopter Tour
More Info
$155.00*
and up
Downtown Savannah and Whitemarsh Island Helicopter Tour
More Info
$205.00*
and up
Fort Pulaski and Downtown Savannah Helicopter Tour
Ranked #15 of 218 things to do in Savannah
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: The state's oldest remaining fort dates back to 1808 and includes a number of Civil War and other military exhibits. Daily cannon firing programs are offered at 11:00am and 2:00pm.
Reviewed January 27, 2014 via mobile

Really a splendid site. A revolutionary war to civil war fort nicely maintained It is right on the river so the views are good. Friendly staff who take the time to explain things. Worth the trip.

3  Thank jamesmorton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian L, Manager at Old Fort Jackson, responded to this reviewResponded February 24, 2014

Thank you for the kind words. We hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,126)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

774 - 778 of 1,126 reviews

Reviewed January 14, 2014

We went to Fort Jackson while on our honeymoon in Savannah. What a great time!!!! It was a reasonable price and very informative. They even fired a cannon. I must do while in Savannah!

4  Thank Alison L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian L, Manager at Old Fort Jackson, responded to this reviewResponded February 24, 2014

We agree that we are a just see! Thank you for sharing your honeymoon with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2014

We brought our college age grandchildren here on our trip to Savannah. We parked, paid our admission and walked toward the fort which is surrounded with a moat that rises and falls with the tide. It was not crowded and we were just in time to see the demonstration of the cannon firing by an historical interpreter who was dressed in the period costume of a heavy artillery Confederate soldier. He explained each step for what he was doing. He really became the 1864 soldier as he interpreted the firing to the point where he lit the fuse and the cannon fired. It is hard to explain, but he was so knowledgeable and so immersed into what he was saying and doing that I could believe he was that soldier of the Civil War. He was talking to, conversing with¸ and obeying instructions from a ‘hidden from view’ officer and fellow soldier. After the demonstration, we walked up onto the ramparts and explored the views of the Savannah River from up on high. Back down on the ground, we entered the old fort and spent some time with each of the exhibits mounted behind glass in the casemates. The display of muskets and rifles that were used in the Civil War was quite interesting as many of them (originals exhibited, and one was identified with the original private that used it) were manufactured in Springfield MA at the Springfield Armory. When we finished touring the interior, we went back out to where the interpreter was sitting around a campfire brewing a large pot of (very strong) coffee. He explained to us the daily routine of the soldier that was stationed at Fort Jackson in the 1860’s, and said it was 99% monotonous, and 1% terror. To relieve the monotony, food and cooking became the focus and he showed us the variety, or rather lack of, their rations. Meals were based on rice, which was grown locally, grits (corn meal), beans, peanuts, potatoes and vegetables when they were available. The fort had a garden and grew vegetables which were considered a treat as they added variety to an otherwise boring diet. Another addition was fish from the river, but little meat was available. The interpreter next introduced us to a musket, how it was used and then handed it to our grandson to handle to get the feel of it. When he gave it back, the interpreter (I wish I had asked his name), attached the bayonet and demonstrated the variety of positions a soldier would go through in drill and how the bayonet would be used. He followed this up by turning the musket around to hold it by the barrel and use the stock as a club. We spent almost two hours at the fort and it was one of the best two hours at a very historical spot.

5  Thank Patricia L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian L, Manager at Old Fort Jackson, responded to this reviewResponded February 24, 2014

This was a fantastic review. Not just for the nice words, but for the wonderful recap of our program. Thank you very much!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2014

We drove to Old Fort Jackson on two vacations years apart and it was closed both times and it was closed both times...also it is not in a very nice neighborhood with many industrial complexes...and this time a local police officer guarding the gate so nobody would try to walk in while it was closed.

2  Thank Kurt5280
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian L, Manager at Old Fort Jackson, responded to this reviewResponded January 6, 2014

Thank you for trying to visit our fort. We are open all year long from 9:00am til 5:00pm. The only days we are closed are Thanksgiving, Christmas Eve, Christmas Day, and New Years Day. Next time you are in Savannah you can call us at 912.232.3945 to verify that we are open. You can also access us at chsgeorgia.org or on Facebook by searching for Old Fort Jackson. In regards to our neighborhood you are correct. There are a lot of factories and industry around the fort. I doubt when they built the fort 205 years ago they envisioned the port and surrounding industry encroaching out of the city so far. Thanks to guests like you though, the fort still stands instead of being demolished to make room for more industry.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2014

It was raining outside but we'll worth it. Very informative. The young fellow playing the soldier and firing the guns and canon was awesome. A must see and very reasonable price.

4  Thank Sharon N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian L, Manager at Old Fort Jackson, responded to this reviewResponded January 6, 2014

Thank you for braving the rain and visiting the fort. We appreciate you sharing your thoughts!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Old Fort Jackson also viewed

 
Savannah, Georgia Coast
 

Been to Old Fort Jackson? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing