We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Surprise”
Review of Old Fort Jackson

Old Fort Jackson
Book In Advance
More Info
$130.00*
and up
Downtown Savannah and Old Fort Jackson Helicopter Tour
Ranked #15 of 218 things to do in Savannah
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: The state's oldest remaining fort dates back to 1808 and includes a number of Civil War and other military exhibits. Daily cannon firing programs are offered at 11:00am and 2:00pm.
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good Surprise”
Reviewed May 3, 2013

We were able to get there early enough for the cannon shooting (cover your ears). It was not what I expected. VERY small but has an interesting history. Word of precaution wear bug repellant.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Carmen J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian L, Manager at Old Fort Jackson, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
We're very pleased to read that you were pleasantly surprised by your visit to Fort Jackson. You are correct about the necessity of bug spray. while not an issue the whole year, they can certainly be a pest at times. Imagine what the men who were assigned here went through!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,081 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    663
    310
    92
    13
    3
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
228 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 378 helpful votes
“Go the extra distance to Fort Pulaski”
Reviewed April 29, 2013

On its own this would be a reasonable attraction but it's seriously outclassed by Fort Pulaski which is only another 15 minutes further east from Savannah. Unless you are a dedicated military history buff and want to look over a modest size fort that never fired a shot in anger go the extra distance and you will see much more.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Tedstravelblogs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian L, Manager at Old Fort Jackson, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Thank you for visiting our fort and sharing your experience. You are absolutely correct about Fort Pulaski being a larger fort. Thankfully for the soldiers stationed here during the Civil War, the fall of Fort Pulaski indirectly caused Fort Jackson not be attacked. Although, the soldiers stationed here did not know that an attack was not going to come. For almost three years, the men who garrisoned Fort Jackson trained and waited for the attack to come from the Union Navy who stayed within sight but just out of the range of the guns of the fort and surrounding batteries. When you visit Fort Pulaski along with Fort Jackson, you get a more complete picture of the Civil War in Savannah. Thank you again for sharing.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, NC
Level Contributor
27 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“A quick sidetrip on your way to the beach...”
Reviewed April 26, 2013

I thought I had exhausted all the possible historical sites to see while in Savannah, but somehow this one escaped me until we were on our way to Tybee Island. If American military history and military architecture is of interest, then stop at Fort Jackson. A non-profit manages this site with no support or funding from the federal or state governments and are doing a great job. A volunteer provided much needed historical information for context. Don't forget the bug spray!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank RoadTripFreak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian L, Manager at Old Fort Jackson, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
We were very pleased to read your review about your visit to our fort. We are a non-profit organization and we definitely appreciate the kind words.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duluth, Georgia
Level Contributor
179 reviews
84 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Nice place for a catered event”
Reviewed April 23, 2013

We attended a birthday party at the fort and it was very nice.

The fort itself looks good. Work is ongoing with the restoration, but the walls, moat, magazines are nice. The ramparts look out over the river and there are a few cannon in place. The cannon firing exhibition uses one of those cannon. You can go outside the walls and moat down to the river. The river is the Savannah River and the fort is downstream of the port, so some very big ships pass close by.

Inside the main fort are a couple of pavilions that are used for various programs and can be rented. We had a birthday party with about 60 people in one of the pavilions and could have fit another 50 easily.

The fort's staff was a group of 4 "soldiers". They talked about the fort's history, fired the cannon, and did musket firing drills.

It is not someplace you'll go to spend a day, but for a short stop (an hour) it's a nice place.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank RickN99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian L, Manager at Old Fort Jackson, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experiences at one of our after hour events. We are open to the public from 9am til 5pm everyday but do open up the fort for private events. We're glad you enjoyed yourself!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, Illinois
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Lots of history at Fort Jackson”
Reviewed April 22, 2013

It was a beautiful day to visit the Fort. We arrived just as the big cannon was shot off and as a group of 275 school children were leaving! It was very interesting self-guided tour.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sharon W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian L, Manager at Old Fort Jackson, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
It sounds like you arrived in time to see our original 1824 32lb. cannon fired. we do not usually fire this during the day so we're thrilled you were able to watch the demonstration. Thank you for visiting.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Old Fort Jackson also viewed

 
Savannah, Georgia Coast
Savannah, Georgia Coast
 

Been to Old Fort Jackson? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing