We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“must go to!!”

Wiley's Championship BBQ
Ranked #11 of 859 Restaurants in Savannah
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $25
Cuisines: American, Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Kids, Dining on a budget, Families with children, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
north carolina
Level Contributor
41 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“must go to!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

few miles out from town towards Tybee island. well worth the 10 minute trip. Rich smoked taste soooo good. the sauce was delish. the sides were great!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank brnsofia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,495 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,126
    218
    101
    35
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
107 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Awesome downhome Bar-B-Q”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

First visited Wiley's about a year ago and was impressed back then...came back to Savannah to visit friends and we all went again to Wiley's...great friendly staff and busy eatery. Food was great the first time and just as AWESOME this time around. Their Smoked Meatloaf is out of this world! I can personally recommend the potato skin appetizer with bacon, jalpenos, white cheddar cheese, and barbeque sauce - different and fabulous! I also highly recommend the fried cream corn nuggets served with a sweet and spicy chili sauce. Their side dishes I stick with are the red potatoes with feta cheese - I had never had before and now an a fan forever - and the mac and cheese or green beans!The place is small so you might wait a few minutes at prime mealtimes...but it is well worth the wait! One of my favorite places now in Savannah!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Lesley C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
56 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Fantastic and some of the best brisket I have ever had. I also loved the okra and baked beans.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

The service was great, food outstanding, atmosphere wonderful. We loved it from the time we walked in until we departed full and satiated. I would HIGHLY recommend eating at Wiley's.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Tom81745
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edgewater, Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Absolutely Superb BBQ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2013

We have eaten a "lot" of BBQ over the years and this is by far the Best. We drove up to a small unassuming little strip of shops on the way to Tybee Island. We entered this quaint eatery looking for some BBQ for lunch. We were completely satisfied with amazing service and awesome lunch.

We started out with a 1/2 order of Wiley's own creation called "Redneck Nachos", we were pleasantly surprised with a delectible southern enhancement on our traditional thought of nachos.
We decided to try all the BBQ. Soooo..... we split the BBQ sampler which included brisket, chicken, pulled pork and 4 ribs /w 2 sided included.
Every bite was amazing, very tender (no knife required) moist and tasty without the overpowering smoky taste of most BBQ. The ribs were fall off-the-bone perfect. I am a 'sauce' guy, but my first bites of any BBQ always start without the sauces to determine cooked quality, and this BBQ required NO sauce added. The sides we chose were a very tasty sweet vinegar coleslaw and wonderful potato salad. I am a big eater and kinda leary of 'splitting a sampler' because usually they won't feed 2 people but there was more than enough for both of us.
They have an attentive, friendly staff and our waiter -Richie- was fantastic. As a bonus, on our invite, Janet (one of the owners) sat with us and we had a delightful chat. We are very much looking forward to our future visits. We recommend this to anyone who enjoys excellent BBQ.

P.S. It is truly unfortunate they have a small dining area. If there is a line for lunch, dinner or a special occasion, the meal you have will be well worth the wait.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank EliteFoodLover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grimsby, Canada
Level Contributor
37 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Great southern BBQ!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2013

Great food! Great service! The ribs were very meaty, juicy and perfectly cooked. The sweet potato souffle was yummy and sweet (brown sugar and pecans!), the beans great, pulled pork was perfectly cooked and the sweet potato fries yum! Bill for 3 people with 2 beers came to $53 before tip. Very reasonable. And we had lots for take home. Definitely a great place. Very quaint inside, and wonderful hospitality. The owner came by a couple times to see if everything was good. Well worth the stop when there are so many great places to eat!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank natthefiddler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wiley's Championship BBQ also viewed

Savannah, Georgia Coast
Savannah, Georgia Coast
 
Savannah, Georgia Coast
 

Been to Wiley's Championship BBQ? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing