We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Loved the Dresser Palmer”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Dresser Palmer House
Ranked #15 of 31 Savannah B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
A TripAdvisor Member
“Loved the Dresser Palmer”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2006

Fabulous play to stay! This is where we'll stay when we return to Savannah. This was our first trip to Savannah and we wanted to get the flavor of the area and its history and be close to everything we wanted to do and see. The Dresser Palmer met that criteria and then some. It was within walking distance of all the Squares. The Inn itself is on a beautiful, mansion-lined quiet street and was beautiful, comfortable and charming. The room we stayed in was big and roomy and opened onto a veranda. The staff were very friendly and helpful and made us feel like very welcome & special guests. They were available to suggest and assist with reservations for tours or dinners. Their chef prepared a gourmet breakfast every morning. We're not usually breakfast people, but we looked forward to seeing what he had prepared each morning. It was nice each evening, before we went out to dinner, to have some down time on the veranda during their wine & cheese reception. We are so glad we did not choose to stay in a hotel. - Reneaus from Fremont, CA

  • Stayed April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

465 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    373
    51
    25
    6
    10
See reviews for
47
268
13
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
New England
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2006

Being the informal travel agent for our group of friends, I needed to book 3 rooms for an evening in Savannah before our annual Hilton Head pilgrimage. I found the Dresser Palmer House on Tripadvisor, and they were able to accommodate three couples for a single night.

Overall, it was an experience for the senses. We arrived early afternoon, and David Moore, the General Manager gave us a tour of the inn. He then recommended a small, funky bistro nearby for lunch. Back at the inn, we had wine & appetizers on the front porch later in the day. For dinner, he also recommended a great seafood restaurant near the Riverwalk.

Our room, the Mary Telfair, was convenient to all parts of the inn. In the morning, we went for a walk in beautiful Forsythe Park the next morning (one block away); and then had a signature breakfast of Praline-covered French Toast. Superb!!! To capture the flavor of this beautiful, quirky city, I would recommend this inn with no hesitancy. It was a wonderful experience, and it's also a great value.

  • Stayed April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Soxfan4ever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2006

Do not hesitate to stay here. everything -- food, ambiance, the other people, staff,happy hour -- was top notch.
Will most definitely return. Ask for the AAA discount.

  • Stayed April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2006

My husband and I recently returned from our first anniversary trip to Savannah, Ga. We stayed at the Dresser Palmer Inn which was wonderful. We stayed in the Henry Palmer room which was beautiful. The breakfasts were out of sight and the staff for the most part was friendly. One particular staff member questioned me for wanting to take the newspaper to my room to read. It was 9pm so as far as I'm concerned it was old news by then anyway (especially since there were tv's in the room to keep you informed of the days news)so when he questioned the fact that I was going to take it to my room I was appalled. I had every intention of returning it once I finished so I'm not sure what the big deal was. It just really bothered me that I was a guest in their house and I couldn't read the paper in my own private room. It clearly states in their handbook that the paper is available for the guests at the inn. Other than that, our stay was wonderful. What a beautiful city!! We enjoyed walking during the day discovering all of the history that Savannah holds. We plan to return to Savannah again soon and plan to stay at the Dresser Palmer Inn when we do!

  • Stayed April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Savannah hotels
Downtown
The Marshall House
The Marshall House
#4 of 113 in Savannah
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,522 reviews
Downtown
Eliza Thompson House Savannah
Downtown
Planters Inn on Reynolds Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
The Kehoe House - A Boutique Inn
Downtown
Justine Inn Savannah
Justine Inn Savannah
#5 of 31 in Savannah
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,431 reviews
Downtown
Forsyth Park Inn
Forsyth Park Inn
#8 of 31 in Savannah
4.5 of 5 bubbles 571 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dresser Palmer House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dresser Palmer House

Property: Dresser Palmer House
Address: 211 East Gaston Street, Savannah, GA 31401-5611
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 31 B&Bs / Inns in Savannah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Dresser Palmer House 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located within the nation’s largest urban Historic Landmark District, Dresser Palmer House, a historic Savannah bed and breakfast, offers an elegant southern vacation setting with quaint hospitality to delight the most discriminating traveler. Come stay at one of Savannah’s oldest and most exclusive locations, one block from world famous Forsyth Park.Built in 1876 by Henry Dresser and Samuel Palmer, this 11,000 square foot Italianate townhouse now operates as one of Savannah’s finest bed and breakfast inns, providing a variety of distinctive accommodations from king canopy beds and private baths to our ADA compliant lift and guest suite.At the Dresser Palmer House bed and breakfast in Savannah, you will find amenities normally seen in much larger hotels, coupled with the personal attention found only in the very best inns. We invite you to come and experience true southern hospitality at its finest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Dresser Palmer House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dresser Palmer House Hotel Savannah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing