We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good B&B in Historic Savannah”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Dresser Palmer House
Ranked #15 of 31 Savannah B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Good B&B in Historic Savannah”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2013

My girlfriend and I stayed at here for a weekend trip. It's located near the outskirts of the Historic District in a very quiet area. The staff was very welcoming and accomodating. Offered to make dinner reservations for us that night. There is a private parking lot a block away, although we didn't drive anywhere once we arrived.

The overall decore matched the age of the houses. Wine and cheese happy hour from 5-6 each night was a nice way to settle down before dinner and meet the other guests, etc. Our breakfast was delicious, and the staff asked upon check-in whether we had food allergies or taste preferences. There was also a fully stocked bar available at any time, which was based on the honor system. Domestic beers for $5-6 and cocktails/wine about $8-9.

The front porch had about 10 padded rocking chairs to sit and relax, as well as few other outdoor sitting areas in the back. The upper floor rooms also had a shared balcony.

Forstyhe Park is just a few blocks away. This historic district is easily walkable, as the River Walk area is about 15-20 minutes away, mostly along shaded streets. If you plan on staying here and being out late at night, I would advise taking one of the many pedi-cabs back to the hotel. Some of the streets from the River Walk area/nightspots are very dark. While we didn't feel unsafe, we were also keeping an eye out. As with any city, you have your homeless people asking for change, etc.

One aspect of Savannah was the open container policy. As long as your drink is in a plastic cup, you can walk anywhere with it. The streets were very well maintained and clean. Just had to be careful where you walked on some of the brick/cobblestone streets.

While I we will go back to Savannah we may try a different B&B just to get a different feel. That being said, I would still recommend the DPH to my friends and family. The only complaint we really had was the lack of hot water for a morning shower. Maybe if we had gotten up around 6 or 7 there would have been some. i know others commented on the bulky outdated TVs in the rooms. While I agree, they could use updating, it wasn't much of a factor as we didn't plan on spending our time in the room watching TV, we were there to get out and explore.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PavlovsK9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leslie H, General Manager at Dresser Palmer House, responded to this review, May 11, 2013
Hey PavlovsK9,

Thank you SO much for the wonderful review. It gives future guests more detail into us and Savannah! Our favorite times of the day are when guests relay their favorite things they've seen and done and EATEN along the way. The wine hour is the perfect place to catch up with each other, compare notes, and make a few new dinner friends.

We have addressed the hot water issue and it is now easier for guests to get a great hot shower whenever they need without having to plan it out. We also are in the process of updating all of the televisions in the guest rooms. Even though most don't use them, it is still a necessary amenity and a way to catch up with the rest of the world while on your getaway to Savannah.

It really was a pleasure having y'all and we truly hope to see you again along with some friends and family :)

From all of us at The Dresser Palmer House
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

465 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    373
    51
    25
    6
    10
See reviews for
47
268
13
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I have stayed three times at this amazing bed and breakfast and I can't wait to stay again. I have a room in mind, as all are different. We have been lucky enough to stay in the Palmer Room twice and would do so again in a heartbeat: I updated my own bathroom after the delight of being there. Breakfasts superb, recommendations excellent. The afternoon wine and hors d'oeuvres a delight. We have had wonderful talks with people from all over the country and world.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank loarch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leslie H, General Manager at Dresser Palmer House, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Hi loarch,

Return guests are so dear to us! We love hearing updates and getting to catch up on what has gone on since we last visited. The Samuel Palmer is dreamy! The big balcony and the dramatic high "waltz-out" windows, the twin slipper claw-foot tub, the warm fireplace... it is a staff and guest favorite for many reasons. It's always great to have you back and show you new things in Savannah. We look forward to each visit!

From all of us at The Dresser Palmer House
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tennessee
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

The Dresser Palmer House was absolutely amazing. The facility was clean and incredibly beautiful. The staff was wonderful. They were more than willing to do anything from making reservations at a restaurant, to giving tips, or telling Savannah stories. I felt as though we had known them our whole lives. The breakfast was fantastic. I was comfortable and more than pleased with our stay. I would recommend the Dresser-Palmer a hundred times over. We can't wait to go back and stay there again!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maynords
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leslie H, General Manager at Dresser Palmer House, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Hello maynords!

Thanks for the amazing words! We were so pleased to have had you with us. Savannah really is a magical town that captivates you with her grace, charm, history, and fun and relaxed nightlife. There are fantastic restaurants on every corner and square. We love to suggest our favorites
(although it's so hard to narrow it down!). Our guests have so much fun with us and we love to entertain and keep them all comfortable and definitely well fed! We look forward to your next visit so we can send you to some new favorites!

From all of us at The Dresser Palmer House
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2013

The Dresser Palmer House will forever hold a special place in my heart. Upon arriving to the Dresser Palmer House, I had contacted the staff to let them know that I would love to propose to my girlfriend in Savannah. Leslie, a former event planner, suggested I propose on the back verandah of the Dresser Palmer House amidst the beautiful blooming wisteria. Kolin, another wonderful employee of the DP House, accommodated our requests and volunteered to sneak a few pictures during the proposal. Not only did they go out of their way to assist in making this happen, they also upgraded us to the Emma Kelly, which has to be the most beautiful B&B room in historic Savannah. Breakfast was excellent (peaches & creme french toast & quiche) and the fellow guests were fun to interact with. The staff were experts on Savannah and made wonderful recommendations. The house is within walking distance of everything in historic Savannah. We didn't move our car once!

All in all, the staff went out of their way to make our stay one that we will never forget. Don't miss out on this Savannah gem.

Room Tip: Emma Kelly was absolutely wonderful. Walk-in shower and bathtub. King size bed and access to beautif...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BlakeD657
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leslie H, General Manager at Dresser Palmer House, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Hi BlakeD657!

CONGRATUALTIONS! (again!) We are so honored to have had a part in your special moment together. We would LOVE some pictures sent our way of that moment... We love our guests and you two were so sweet and fun to visit with. We delight in showing everyone the best Savannah has to offer from tours, food, and shopping. Savannah is a truly romantic city full of grace and charm. We really enjoyed having you stay with us and look forward to many returns!

From all of us at The Dresser Palmer House
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pella, Iowa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2013

My sister and I stayed at Dresser House this past week and our stay was everything I had hoped it would be. True southern hospitality, the staff are all terrific, in fact when we left some clothes behind they contacted us and since we were, by that time three hours away, they offered to ship them home. I especially enjoyed meeting the other guests at the "meet and greet" held every day, late afternoon where they serve complimentary wine, cheese and other tasty treats. The Inn is beautiful and the flowers were in bloom. If taking tours, I would recommend Savannah Tours. I do plan on returning when I can stay longer.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank JoyH395
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leslie H, General Manager at Dresser Palmer House, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Hey JoyH395!

You and your sister were such great guests! We would absolutely love to have you for a longer stay next time. Make it soon! I hope your clothes arrived just fine! We were tempted to just leave them here for your next visit... hehehe. We are glad you enjoyed Savannah and your time here at the Inn.

From all of us at The Dresser Palmer House
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2013

My husband and I recently stayed at the Dresser Palmer House. The place is beautiful, the breakfast great and the staff was so helpful. Letting us know where to dine, taking care of reservations made our trip so pleasant. Thank you Leslie.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Linda773
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leslie H, General Manager at Dresser Palmer House, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Dear Linda773,

We were glad to have met you! Savannah has some of the South's premier dining. Most all dining establishments here use fresh and local ingredients that are bountiful here in the low-country. Fresh shrimp, crab, flounder, and oysters are abundant here in coastal Georgia. We can't wait to have you back for more adventures!

From all of us at The Dresser Palmer House
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Alabama
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2013

We had a wonderful time in Savannah over the last weekend in March! Staying at the Dresser Palmer was such a nice experience. Our room was beautifully decorated and so cozy. Leslie was very accomodating and the breakfasts were amazing. We didn't get a chance to meet Kolin but, he was kind enough to send recipes for the items they served when we got back home. When we decided to take a trolley tour on our first morning Leslie called for a shuttle to pick us up. The location was great, only a block from Forsythe Park. Within walking distance of everything.

The last weekend of March was the perfect time to go. The Wisteria and Azaleas were all in bloom. Beautiful! We took the trolley tour, went to Tybee Island, and spent a lot of time walking around town, stopping at several nice shops & restaurants. The trolley tour is great for first timers as you learn about the history of Savannah and you have the option of getting off to see the sites. We ate at several restaurants and would recommend Sixpence Pub and Vic's, both were recommended by Leslie. Thank you all for making our stay such a wonderful experience.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Ralph Mark Gilbert room. It was a beautiful room and opened up to the outside cour...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kbaum1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leslie H, General Manager at Dresser Palmer House, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Hi kbaum1!

From your review, it seems like you had a great time in Savannah! Thank you so much for choosing the Dresser Palmer House for your Savannah getaway. We do love our location and we believe we are the perfect place for guests that want to walk around the beautiful city and retreat at the end of the day to a quiet atmosphere. The wisteria on our back verandah is still so fragrant and beautiful. We are glad you enjoyed our breakfasts and remember to think of us when you make them for family and friends! Looking forward to your next visit...

From all of us at The Dresser Palmer House
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Savannah hotels
Downtown
The Marshall House
The Marshall House
#4 of 113 in Savannah
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,509 reviews
Downtown
Eliza Thompson House Savannah
Downtown
Planters Inn on Reynolds Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
The Kehoe House - A Boutique Inn
Downtown
Justine Inn Savannah
Justine Inn Savannah
#5 of 31 in Savannah
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,431 reviews
Downtown
Forsyth Park Inn
Forsyth Park Inn
#8 of 31 in Savannah
4.5 of 5 bubbles 570 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dresser Palmer House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dresser Palmer House

Property: Dresser Palmer House
Address: 211 East Gaston Street, Savannah, GA 31401-5611
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 31 B&Bs / Inns in Savannah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Dresser Palmer House 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located within the nation’s largest urban Historic Landmark District, Dresser Palmer House, a historic Savannah bed and breakfast, offers an elegant southern vacation setting with quaint hospitality to delight the most discriminating traveler. Come stay at one of Savannah’s oldest and most exclusive locations, one block from world famous Forsyth Park.Built in 1876 by Henry Dresser and Samuel Palmer, this 11,000 square foot Italianate townhouse now operates as one of Savannah’s finest bed and breakfast inns, providing a variety of distinctive accommodations from king canopy beds and private baths to our ADA compliant lift and guest suite.At the Dresser Palmer House bed and breakfast in Savannah, you will find amenities normally seen in much larger hotels, coupled with the personal attention found only in the very best inns. We invite you to come and experience true southern hospitality at its finest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Dresser Palmer House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dresser Palmer House Hotel Savannah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing