We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wish We Could Have Stayed Longer”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Dresser Palmer House
Ranked #16 of 30 Savannah B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed March 22, 2013

Beautiful house, in a great location, with a very friendly and knowledgeable staff. The breakfasts were delicious! Lots to see and do in the area, but cozying up inside is nice as well. Right near a lovely park, and everything you would want to do is in reasonable walking distance. We would definitely go back. I'd like to come when the wisteria on the rear patio is in bloom. I bet it is stunning.

Room Tip: This is a bed and breakfast in a historic house. Every room is unique, and we had trouble deciding...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 115debbiem115
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leslie H, General Manager at Dresser Palmer House, responded to this reviewResponded March 24, 2013

Dear Debbie M,

Come back... stay longer! It was so fun getting to know you and we are so happy you had a great time. Forsyth Park, just a block away, is such a great location to walk around and enjoy the overwhelming charm and beauty of Historic Savannah. The Wisteria is blooming now and with all this rain lately, it's sure to just explode with blooms on the next super sunny day. Thanks again for such kind words.

From all of us at The Dresser Palmer House

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (477)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

244 - 250 of 477 reviews

Reviewed March 21, 2013

We received our DPH stay as a Christmas gift from our daughter, son-in-law and grandchildren. Our stay was from March 13 - 15, 2013. What can I say, the DPH was an excellent B&B, Leslie and staff welcomed and treated you like family and went above and beyond to meet all your needs. We really enjoyed our stay, in fact we stayed an extra night, got to see the St. Patrick's Day Parade and really had a fantastic time. We were so happy with the DPR that we are planning on returning next year for another visit. Savannah is a very historical city with plenty to see and do, everyone is friendly and helpful. Thank you again DPR for an excellent visit.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnnMarieStark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leslie H, General Manager at Dresser Palmer House, responded to this reviewResponded March 24, 2013

Dear AnnMarieStark,

It was our pleasure having you stay with us. This year's parade was so lively and entertaining and we are so glad to have had you an extra day to experience it with us! Savanniahns really know how to party and we sure did deliver... We are so pleased that you are thinking of your next visit with us already :-)

From all of us at The Dresser Palmer House

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2013

Stayed here March 11-12, 2013. A wonderful place to stay to immerse yourself in Old Savannah!
Enjoyed the delicious breakfasts, and the afternoon hors d'oeuvres. (Thanks for the recipe, Kolin!)
The atmosphere was low-key and comfortable, with an underlying elegance. We would have loved to stay longer, and will definitely visit again! Missing those front porch rocking chairs!

Room Tip: All the rooms are available for viewing on the website. Be sure to choose ahead of time. Our room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leslie H, General Manager at Dresser Palmer House, responded to this reviewResponded March 24, 2013

Hey Karen S!

Thanks SO MUCH! We really enjoyed getting to visit with you. The wine hour is such a great way for us to relax a bit and get to know everyone and we are never stingy with our recipes. Giving our recipes out is our way of helping you relive your stay with us and it entices you to come back! I know Indiana has been getting lots of snow lately... we've been getting rain but in between the showers, the sun comes and creates the perfect front porch weather :) Can't wait to see you again.

From all of us at The Dresser Palmer House

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2013

we bought a groupon for our long weekend in march. we never never could have afforded it otherwise. we loved being so close to the park and the whole town. walking to the river from there was only 25 min walk not far at all. walking the town is the best way to see it after our tours. oh the B & B.... breakfast was delish. one day we had an out of the world french toast with lots of peaches baked on. protions were on the smallish side . the 2nd day was a quiche with sausage etc. very good and filling. the cookies we got one afternoon to enjoy were very tasty. Kolin we saw the most of and he was a joy to work with. very attentive to our needs. the room, confederate jasmin was so neat. brick walls, really cool room. beds need replacing and it squeaked bad which woke me during the night. being an old house early in the morning before 7 am there was alot of noise above our heads. it was from them geting ready for breakfast. we loved the front porch to sit on. we loved the place and it was our first b & B. if we could afford too, we would go back for another visit!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank brnsofia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leslie H, General Manager at Dresser Palmer House, responded to this reviewResponded March 17, 2013

Hi brnsofia!

Savannah is the best place to experience a B&B! We were so glad to help you out and show you a different side of staying in Savannah. We do apologize for waking you so early. We'll definitely take into account the squeaky beds and have them tightened and taken care of properly, thank you for the suggestion! We do rely on guest feedback so that we can always improve for our future guests :) Thanks so much!

From all of us at The Dresser Palmer House

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2013

We had two great days and nights at Dresser Palmer and in Savannah. Got a historic tour of the house including a couple of ghost stories. The staff was exceptional. We had the most interaction with Kolin and Leslie and every request we made of them was taken care of with a smile. Both are excellent cooks and Kolin's toll house cookies (my personal favorite) were fantastic. The afternoon wine and cheese hour was a good way to socialize with other guests. We met some really nice people. I would definitely recommend a stay at Dresser Palmer.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Charlton S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leslie H, General Manager at Dresser Palmer House, responded to this reviewResponded March 17, 2013

Hey Charlton S,

It was such a pleasure getting to know y'all! We truly love to spoil our guests... whether it be fun ideas for what to do in Savannah, a great hearty breakfast, or cookies to replenish your sugar levels after walking the Savannah streets, we have got you in mind! We are glad you enjoyed everything and look forward to a return visit very soon.

From all of us at The Dresser Palmer House

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2013

What's not to love at the Dresser Palmer House? Long before we got there, we were being made to feel special by Leslie, the Dresser-Palmer's most able Innkeeper extraordinaire. In addition to helping me pick the perfect room to suit our taste, she zeroed in immediately on our restaurant taste and picked the perfect restaurants for us as well. When she's not baking amazing homemade cookies, she's making you feel at home with a glass of wine and a story about the city. The beds and linens were wonderful comfortable, our veranda was sunny and inviting and the front porch was perfect for sitting. We loved the location in the residential area and near Forsythe Park. We will certainly be making a return visit to the Dresser Palmer House.

Room Tip: Get a room that is attached to the upstairs veranda.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jdaleysc1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leslie H, General Manager at Dresser Palmer House, responded to this reviewResponded March 9, 2013

Dear jdaleysc1...

We are thrilled that you had such a great time with us. We always like to make sure our visitors are happy, and to us... that means COOKIES! We are always in the kitchen baking some up and thinking of new things to feed y'all. It's great to know that they are memorable and are going to keep you coming back for years to come :)

From all of us at The Dresser Palmer House

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2013

I have actually never stayed in a b&b before. I figured Savannah is the place to try it. It was way better! The staff is always available if you need suggestions for dinner or freshly baked cookies from scratch.
The location was great--near Forsyth park and only about a 15 min walk to the river/shops area.
The building itself was gorgeous. It's nice to have a place with atmosphere to relax before setting out for dinner (vs a boring old hotel room).
I'm definitely coming back next summer and staying at the Dresser Palmer House.

Room Tip: If you do not want to be around people, you can take one of the rooms downstairs. The room we had w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brownbeee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leslie H, General Manager at Dresser Palmer House, responded to this reviewResponded March 12, 2013

Hi brownbeee!

We are glad we've converted you into B&B lovers! Hotels are great for a place to sleep on the road. As far as really staying and enjoying your vacation, B&Bs are the way to stay! We have a lot of fun with our guests and are always happy to offer up our favorite insider tips on restaurants and tours. We can't wait to have you again!

From all of us at The Dresser Palmer House

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Savannah hotels
Downtown
The Marshall House
The Marshall House
#5 of 115 in Savannah
2,923 reviews
Downtown
Justine Inn Savannah
Justine Inn Savannah
#6 of 30 in Savannah
1,458 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Galloway House Inn
#13 of 30 in Savannah
197 reviews
Downtown
Azalea Inn & Villas
Azalea Inn & Villas
#4 of 30 in Savannah
999 reviews
Downtown
Forsyth Park Inn
Forsyth Park Inn
#11 of 30 in Savannah
613 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dresser Palmer House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dresser Palmer House

Address: 211 E Gaston St, Savannah, GA 31401-5611
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Savannah
Price Range: $168 - $302 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Dresser Palmer House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located within the nation’s largest urban Historic Landmark District, Dresser Palmer House, a historic Savannah bed and breakfast, offers an elegant southern vacation setting with quaint hospitality to delight the most discriminating traveler. Come stay at one of Savannah’s oldest and most exclusive locations, one block from world famous Forsyth Park.Built in 1876 by Henry Dresser and Samuel Palmer, this 11,000 square foot Italianate townhouse now operates as one of Savannah’s finest bed and breakfast inns, providing a variety of distinctive accommodations from king canopy beds and private baths to our ADA compliant lift and guest suite. At the Dresser Palmer House bed and breakfast in Savannah, you will find amenities normally seen in much larger hotels, coupled with the personal attention found only in the very best inns. We invite you to come and experience true southern hospitality at its finest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Dresser Palmer House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dresser Palmer House Hotel Savannah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing