We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved It”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Dresser Palmer House
Ranked #15 of 30 Savannah B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Loved It”
Reviewed February 21, 2013

Just got back from the Dresser Palmer House. What a wonderful B&B. The staff was so friendly and helpful. Our room was gorgeous with a beautiful outside veranda. Breakfast was so good! We would stay here again in a heartbeat and would totally recommend it for anyone looking for a fabulous place to stay in Savannah. We also did the Savannah Dave tour which we really enjoyed. Very informative. And loved the haunted pub crawl.

Room Tip: the Emma Kelly room has an amazing bathroom and shower!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank loggerheadsbg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leslie H, General Manager at Dresser Palmer House, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Dear yioughtta,

Thanks for the great review! We are so glad you had fuin with us in Savannah. The tours are the best way to be able to take home some entertaining stories about Savannah's colorful past. The haunted tours are a great way to see the city in a different light! We are excited for your next stay with us! Bring some friends along :)

From all of us at The Dresser Palmer House
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

467 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    375
    51
    25
    6
    10
See reviews for
48
269
13
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
2 reviews
Reviewed February 21, 2013

House and room have a lot of character. The Ansley Palmer room was well-appointed with antiques. The balcony and gas fireplace added to the relaxing atmosphere. The folks who run it could not have been more helpful in providing recommendations for dinners and sightseeing. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank steve s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leslie H, General Manager at Dresser Palmer House, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Hey steve_s!

The Palmer is a great room! It's in the front of the house and looks over quiet and quaint Gaston street. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay and that we could be helpful in sending you to some great places! Savannah is FULL of amazing food and sights, it's usually hard for even us to pick :) Come back soon!

From all of us at The Dresser Palmer House
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2013

We were so excited to spend our 21st Anniversary at the Dresser Palmer House. The BnB prior to our arrival followed up to ask if there is anything they could do to make our stay enjoyable, recommendations for dinner, tours, etc….. Their customer service was OUTSTANDING prior to our arrival. Well sometimes in life things happen.... my husband became ill the evening before our arrival, then to add to that, he got food poisoning at dinner and was really ill throughout the evening. From the minute we arrived; Leslie met us and greeted us with her wonderful personality. She made sure that our stay there was comfortable. She went over and beyond to help us out and provided us with homemade remedies to help out my husband. Unfortunately, we had to leave the next morning. The BnB is beautiful. I would recommend to anyone to stay here. The decor, the rooms, and the main house is decorated amazing. The bar is a really nice feature that they offer and loved the afternoon social, you are able to meet others staying at the same time. We will be booking our return visit real soon. Loved the time we spent there.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mreyes1430
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leslie H, General Manager at Dresser Palmer House, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Dear mreyes1340...

First of all, we hope he's feeling better!!! It was great chatting with you for the short time y'all were here and we look forward to seeing you again for part 2 of your visit, haha. We love when guests post pictures, thank you so much for the beautiful shots. They really let more people see the inn the way you do when you walk in. Get better and come back to us!

From all of us at The Dresser Palmer House
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 11, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the DPH during our Savannah trip for his 30th birthday. The room was nice and clean and the service was very personal and welcoming. We really enjoyed the complimentary breakfasts and wine and cheese hours. Also, the building itself is really beautiful and romantic. Also, we were walking distance to almost everywhere we went that weekend. I would definitely recommend staying at this B&B!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Confederate Jasmine and really enjoyed the room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AliciaShope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leslie H, General Manager at Dresser Palmer House, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Hi AliciaShope,

We hope y'all had a great time for his 30th! It was great to help you celebrate. The Confederate Jasmine is such a nice quiet and private room perfect for those looking to get away from the other guests. Savannah is a fun and exciting place to celebrate occasions like birthdays and anniversaries! We look forward to having y'all back :)

From all of us at The Dresser Palmer House
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2013

This bed and breakfast absolutely blew us away. My mother and I stayed at the Dresser Palmer for 2 nights and wished we never had to leave. As soon as we entered the house, we were satisfied. Of course, we're in Savannah, so the house was stunning, but really it took our breath away. We walked up to the small desk that functioned as the check-in area and there was a sign posted that informed us that whoever was supposed to be sitting there was somewhere else in the house or in the garden and that we were welcome to come look for them or call these numbers... I immediately felt at home. We did find them in the garden and were greeted very warmly with cookies and a refreshing drink. The check in process was smooth and they made all kinds of wonderful suggestions about things to see and places to eat which was all drawn out on a map they gave to us. The room was absolutely beautiful, complete with a claw-foot, champagne bubble bath (yes!!). I will absolutely be returning to this bed and breakfast, it was just fantastic.

Room Tip: All of the rooms are set up differently, we stayed in the Lady Astor. All of the rooms are previewed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sophie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leslie H, General Manager at Dresser Palmer House, responded to this review, February 3, 2013
Hi Sophie C!!

What an AMAZING review! We couldn't have had a better time with y'all. Savannah is such a glamorous lady and we like to show her off in the best ways with great restaurants and fun activities and sights. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us in The Lady Astor. The bathtubs are PERFECT for a long soak after walking around all day shopping and touring. We all look forward to another visit from you soon!

From all of us at The Dresser Palmer House
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Griffin
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed January 29, 2013

Just stayed here for 4 nights. The staff was extremely helpful and friendly. You feel at home here. Breakfasts are excellent. Having nearby parking in Savannah is an extremely valuable benefit. We have stayed here many times and will continue to return.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rgrant9094
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leslie H, General Manager at Dresser Palmer House, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Hey rgrant9094!

Thanks for the glowing review! We always are glad to welcome you back at The Dresser Palmer House. Our private lot for parking is included in the cost of your stay here and it's a highly treasured item here in the Historic District! We look forward to MANY more visits with you and some recipe sharing as well ;-)

From all of us at The Dresser Palmer House
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 28, 2013

My husband and I had a terrific experience at the Dresser Palmer. We especially recommend the room we stayed in: the Emma Kelly room. We give the privacy of the room's location a 10, and the room is both spacious and well appointed (has a gas fire and a door onto lovely second story piazza), and the bathroom was outstanding - very spacious compared to many b & b bathrooms. Very comfortable bed in the room. Lesley and all of the staff we dealt with were notably friendly, patient, and helpful. The breakfast was delicious. The only two detractions I can think of are very minor - you have to go through an involved process to make hot tea for yourself if that happens to be your choice of breakfast beverage (no tea bags), and the parking is a short walk from the house. Actually, the walking is probably providential because the eating in Savannah is excellent!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joybell1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leslie H, General Manager at Dresser Palmer House, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Hey Joybell1965,

It was SO great to meet y'all! The Emma Kelly is an impressive suite and that veranda it opens to is just the perfect beginning or ending to any day of touring here in Savannah. Guests like to mingle and meet each other out there and talk about the day and where they're from over some great locally roasted coffee served here in house or during our wine hour. We also take pride in having some great breakfasts! We do love to cook, but furthermore, we love to EAT! We are so glad you enjoyed your time with us...

From all of us at The Dresser Palmer House
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Savannah hotels
Downtown
Eliza Thompson House Savannah
Downtown
The Marshall House
The Marshall House
#4 of 113 in Savannah
2,627 reviews
Downtown
The Kehoe House - A Boutique Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Planters Inn on Reynolds Square
Downtown
Forsyth Park Inn
Forsyth Park Inn
#9 of 30 in Savannah
579 reviews
Downtown
Justine Inn Savannah
Justine Inn Savannah
#5 of 30 in Savannah
1,433 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dresser Palmer House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dresser Palmer House

Property: Dresser Palmer House
Address: 211 East Gaston Street, Savannah, GA 31401-5611
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Savannah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Dresser Palmer House 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located within the nation’s largest urban Historic Landmark District, Dresser Palmer House, a historic Savannah bed and breakfast, offers an elegant southern vacation setting with quaint hospitality to delight the most discriminating traveler. Come stay at one of Savannah’s oldest and most exclusive locations, one block from world famous Forsyth Park.Built in 1876 by Henry Dresser and Samuel Palmer, this 11,000 square foot Italianate townhouse now operates as one of Savannah’s finest bed and breakfast inns, providing a variety of distinctive accommodations from king canopy beds and private baths to our ADA compliant lift and guest suite.At the Dresser Palmer House bed and breakfast in Savannah, you will find amenities normally seen in much larger hotels, coupled with the personal attention found only in the very best inns. We invite you to come and experience true southern hospitality at its finest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Dresser Palmer House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dresser Palmer House Hotel Savannah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing