We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't wait to come back!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Dresser Palmer House
Ranked #15 of 30 Savannah B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Guelph, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Can't wait to come back!”
Reviewed October 16, 2012

From the moment we booked our stay at the Dresser Palmer House Shannon sent us all kinds of information to make our trip to Savannah wonderful - tour recommendations and restaurant ideas.
When we arrived we were greeted by Hailey who pour us a glass of wine and showed us to the Ralph Mark Gilbert Room. The room was beautifully appointed and the the bathroom had a wonderful rain shower! The house is lovely with a beautiful front porch and several small garden areas. Our breakfasts were delicious. I can't say enough about how well we were treated and how wonderful the Dresser Palmer House is.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JJohnson0425
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolin P, Manager at Dresser Palmer House, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
We so appreciate the kind words! I love that room as well for the shower. It's HUGE and luxurious! It is so easy to want to just stay in there and steam away your cares. BUT, there is too much to see in Savannah... and our front porch, the longest in the historic distric, beckons all to rock and watch the moss sway in the live oaks. Ok, now I had better stop all this dreaming and get back to baking! We are excited to visit with you again soon.

From all of us at Dresser Palmer House
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

467 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    375
    51
    25
    6
    10
See reviews for
48
269
13
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Blacklick, Ohio
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 15, 2012

My husband and I spent 4 nights in September at the Dresser Palmer House. We were thrilled when we arrived. The place is beautiful and we loved sitting on the porch drinking coffee and visiting with other guests. The Courtyard was lovely. We were in the Conrad Aiden room. The only problem we had was the floors squeaked. But, we were concerned for the people below us and it didn't bother us personally. But, we were in bed by 10 every night. Shannon, John and Hailey were very nice. We could come and go as we pleased long as we locked the doors at night. Whenever we go back to Savannah, we will stay here again. I took some beautiufl pictures inside and outside the house. My friends loved looking at the pics. The Dresser Palmer House definitely added to the enjoyment of our visit to Savannah.

Room Tip: Next time we go, we'll request a first floor room. The steps were hard on us because we both ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bkrutko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolin P, Manager at Dresser Palmer House, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Thanks for choosing Dresser Palmer House for your Savannah Stay! The Conrad Aiken room is a great retreat with it's own entrance from the gardens. This old house does have some creaks but sure enough, the walls are so thick here that other guests are rarely bothered! Thank you, also, for your promise to stay here again. We love to have return guests that we can really get to know and share Savannah with. Please upload some of your pictures here to Trip Advisor, we'd love to see your view of the house!

From all of us at Dresser Palmer House
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
savannah
Level Contributor
42 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2012

Spent my birthday in the Johnny Mercer suite, lavishly appointed, beautifully decorated, with a roman orgy bath and a king bed. Quiet, safe, a step back in time. Breakfast made to order, an honor bar in the lobby, the best of both old and new. One of the top 3 inns in Savannah.

Room Tip: The Johnny Mercer Suite is top of the line
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Johnny F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2012

We enjoyed our stay at the Dresser Palmer House. We stayed in the "Wisteria" room. As another reviewer has commented, there are no windows because it's a basement room, but it's oh so cozy. Comfy bed, a good night's sleep, and a great shower. We had no problem with the humidity, but we're from the south and didn't even need to use the de-humidifier. For the price of the room, I was a bit surprised that we had to pay for soda and water (even though it's not much); most all B&B's I've stayed in offers them complimentary. It's in a beautiful area, but I felt it was too far of a walk to the river. The trolley companies will pick you up and drop you off though. We loved the veranda and spent our evenings relaxing there and visiting with the other guests.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank smile2day
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
146 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2012

Lovely gardens, gorgeous house. Shannon was just wonderful! Breakfast was great. Location was great. Just off forsythe park. Rocking chairs out front on the porch for relaxing. The wine and snacks at 5-6pm were so delicious. I was presently surprised about the wine, because some places put out some real cheap stuff.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank natnordy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Pleasant, South Carolina
2 reviews
Reviewed September 29, 2012

My husband and I eloped to the Dresser Palmer House in May. From the time we arrived until the time we left we had the most wonderful experience. All of our requests were quickly accomdated with the most friendliness service. Shannon had arranged everything for the ceremony in the beautiful garden in the rear. Our room was perfect! I really loved that we had a private veranda that overlooked the street. My husband and I had a chance to sit and enjoy a private bottle of champagne on the porch! We are planning to make a trip back for our one year anniversary. I would defintely recommend this bed and breakfast! Thanks for making our day and us feel very special!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 92amy92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison Alabama
Level Contributor
68 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2012 via mobile

Like a lot of folks, we used a Groupon and spend several days here this past week. The staff was very nice and friendly and the location is really great. The porch is very nice to sit on as well as the gardens in the rear. I was a little disappointed with the breakfasts because I guess I have been spoiled by a wonderful B&B in Gatlinburg. Breakfast each day was usually some type of casserole or filled puff pastry and nothing else (well some small amount of fruit as garnish). The tea and coffee and juices were very nice - great to sit on the porch and drink something nice. The room was very nice and the bathroom was awesome. We got service every day but one day they did not give us a couple of waters and we did not have the "makeup take-off" (black) wash clothes. We had some problems with lights coming in our room during the night but we mostly ignored it. Please remember these houses were built in 1876 and they did not build thick walls. The first night we heard everything going on upstairs - until after 1:00 AM when I guess they went to bed. We could hear most everything so you might want to take some ear plugs. The afternoon wine hour was very nice but the snacks were just OK - nothing special. They did have some apples at the bar and an honor bar around the clock. Sodas and water bottles were very reasonable. If you have any food problems (such as diabetes, etc.), please tell them when you check in. We did not and we should have because it would have been better for us. All in all, a nice place in a great location - just have a few things you need to know about.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank sandyh2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Savannah hotels
Downtown
Eliza Thompson House Savannah
Downtown
The Marshall House
The Marshall House
#4 of 113 in Savannah
2,627 reviews
Downtown
The Kehoe House - A Boutique Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Planters Inn on Reynolds Square
Downtown
Forsyth Park Inn
Forsyth Park Inn
#9 of 30 in Savannah
579 reviews
Downtown
Justine Inn Savannah
Justine Inn Savannah
#5 of 30 in Savannah
1,433 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dresser Palmer House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dresser Palmer House

Property: Dresser Palmer House
Address: 211 East Gaston Street, Savannah, GA 31401-5611
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Savannah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Dresser Palmer House 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located within the nation’s largest urban Historic Landmark District, Dresser Palmer House, a historic Savannah bed and breakfast, offers an elegant southern vacation setting with quaint hospitality to delight the most discriminating traveler. Come stay at one of Savannah’s oldest and most exclusive locations, one block from world famous Forsyth Park.Built in 1876 by Henry Dresser and Samuel Palmer, this 11,000 square foot Italianate townhouse now operates as one of Savannah’s finest bed and breakfast inns, providing a variety of distinctive accommodations from king canopy beds and private baths to our ADA compliant lift and guest suite.At the Dresser Palmer House bed and breakfast in Savannah, you will find amenities normally seen in much larger hotels, coupled with the personal attention found only in the very best inns. We invite you to come and experience true southern hospitality at its finest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Dresser Palmer House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dresser Palmer House Hotel Savannah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing