We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The perfect Savannah hide-a-way” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Dresser Palmer House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Dresser Palmer House
Ranked #15 of 31 Savannah B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Kingsland, Georgia, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The perfect Savannah hide-a-way”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2012

My husband and I needed a weekend to unwind and the Dresser Palmer was THE place for it! Our room, Wisteria, was breathtakingly beautiful, from the furnishings, to the fireplace, and the amazing shower. For us, the fact that it is in a basement area made it even cozier. This is one of those places that understands less is more when it comes to patterns, wallpaper, and furniture. There is only one window, so we felt completely removed from the hustle and bustle of the city. Perfect.
Thank you Shannon and staff for giving us royal treatment.

Room Tip: The Wisteria is THE place for couples wanting to cocoon themselves from the rest of the world. Don w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank igourmet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

464 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    372
    51
    25
    6
    10
See reviews for
47
268
13
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2012

My husband and I stayed 2 nights at this fantastic B&B in Savannah and we were so happy with our choice! The home itself is so beautiful, and is located perfectly in the historic district- an incredibly short walk to Forsyth Park as well as wonderful restaurants and historic sights. The staff was phenomenal, always willing to help with a suggestion or directions. The other truly fantastic thing about our stay was the food! Breakfast each day was delicious and the one night we were there for snacks and wine in the evening was great as well! The breakfast and evening gatherings allow you to meet other guests and enjoy a sense of community with them, which was wonderful as well. We both thoroughly enjoyed our stay here and will definitely be back!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Oglethorpe room and loved it! Great patio and very comfortable bed!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kel2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fleming Island, Fl.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2012

This is a perfect pick for that weekend get-away. Shannon and the entire staff at the house are just wonderful. The location was perfect with easy walking to all of the historic district, parks, eateries, and of course the river front. Don showed us the house and it's "Ghost" which we were lucky enough to have visit in the Confederate Jasmine room, (the local Ghost/Pub tour was also great). The staff of the Dresser Palmer House bent over backwards to make everyones stay the best possible from making dinner resevations to booking tickets.
The perfect stay.
Jeff & Betzy , Fleming Island Florida

Room Tip: All the rooms had their own "special" qualities. The Confererate Jasmine room is a basemen...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank coach854
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2012

Used Groupon to stay over the weekend in Mary Telfair room and a free 8hr scooter rental. Staff was super from first phone call to checkout. Enjoyed history of house by Don (including obligatory ghosts). Plenty of parking available. Everything within walking distance--River st the farthest by about 1 mile. Breakfasts were great as was 5-6 happy hour. The innkeeper, Shannon, was as nice while working as when we ran into her off-duty at 45 Bistro. Met owner of D-P house at Motorini scooter rental, and he asked us if we were having a good experience as well. No complaints and would not change a thing. BTW, TripAdvisor was dead-on on restaurant ratings here, and the app was really easy to use.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PinotJones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2012

Shannon and her assistant JoJo were the perfect inn keepers.For those who love a dose of history along with luxurious pampering,you can't go wrong with this inn.They knew every quality establishment in Savannah and were happy to make the arrangements for us saving us time.They certainly went the extra mile and that makes all the difference.Breakfast was perfect and so was the 5pm wine and appetizer event.We will always come back whenever we are in Savannah.Shannon,don't forget to send me your recipes.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Downscale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2012

We were so lucky to be able to take advantage of a great Groupon deal for the Dresser Palmer House. The home is beautiful & the staff is outstanding! They were knowledgeable, pleasant & so much fun! Follow Shannon's recommendations for what to eat & where - she's dead on! We stayed in the Oglethorpe room & couldn't have enjoyed it more. The bed was comfy, updated bathroom & fun walk out windows to the second floor balcony. Breakfast each morning was delicious & the wine social was great before heading out for dinner.

This hotel is a little further out from the main action in town, but nothing a pedicab can't fix.

Some other must do's:
- The Olde Pink House - drink: Pink Lady; eat: BLT salad, blackened oysters & shrimp with grits cake
- O'Connell's - drink: Pickleback; play: darts
- The Hearse Ghost Tour - such fun & nice to be able to get around outside of town. Plus, bring your drinks with you!

We definitely hope to go back & would recommend to all our friends & family.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank danamy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2012

The inn has modern updates while still maintaining its historic roots. The staff was friendly and helpful but not overbearing like some B&B's. We were able to see some of the more local treasures instead of tourist traps with their suggestions. The location is great because we were able to walk everywhere. We loved our stay and will be back!

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank llg8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Savannah hotels
Downtown
The Marshall House
The Marshall House
#5 of 113 in Savannah
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,449 reviews
Downtown
The Kehoe House - A Boutique Inn
Downtown
Eliza Thompson House Savannah
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Planters Inn on Reynolds Square
Downtown
Forsyth Park Inn
Forsyth Park Inn
#8 of 31 in Savannah
4.5 of 5 bubbles 568 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dresser Palmer House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dresser Palmer House

Property: Dresser Palmer House
Address: 211 East Gaston Street, Savannah, GA 31401-5611
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 31 B&Bs / Inns in Savannah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Dresser Palmer House 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located within the nation’s largest urban Historic Landmark District, Dresser Palmer House, a historic Savannah bed and breakfast, offers an elegant southern vacation setting with quaint hospitality to delight the most discriminating traveler. Come stay at one of Savannah’s oldest and most exclusive locations, one block from world famous Forsyth Park.Built in 1876 by Henry Dresser and Samuel Palmer, this 11,000 square foot Italianate townhouse now operates as one of Savannah’s finest bed and breakfast inns, providing a variety of distinctive accommodations from king canopy beds and private baths to our ADA compliant lift and guest suite.At the Dresser Palmer House bed and breakfast in Savannah, you will find amenities normally seen in much larger hotels, coupled with the personal attention found only in the very best inns. We invite you to come and experience true southern hospitality at its finest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Dresser Palmer House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dresser Palmer House Hotel Savannah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing