We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“beautiful place”
Review of Green Palm Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Green Palm Inn
Ranked #7 of 30 Savannah B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 27, 2005

this place is as good as everyone says it is. we stayed in the sabal palm suite for two nights - amazing gas fireplace, gorgeous bed, all tastefully done and even with matching candles! the breakfast was great too, and the wine, and diane made us a reservation at an awesome restaurant too. she and gary are both really cool and friendly, we felt like we were guests in someone's home. (oh yeah, and we liked savannah too - great town)

  • Stayed: February 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank njtraveler15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (436)
There are newer reviews for Green Palm Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

416 - 422 of 436 reviews

A TripAdvisor Member
Solihull England
211
Reviewed June 3, 2005

During May my husband and I visited the Green Palm Inn and we were made extremley welcome. We were fortunate that we had both Diane and Gary to look after us.
Our room was large and very clean it even had a fridge supplied with water.
Diane was very helpful and told us places and resturants to visit, she even made a booking at one for us.
We loved the breakfasts that kept us going through to when we returned to the Inn for afternoon snacks and wine. Diane made a different hot breakfast for each of the 3 days we were at the Inn and the cakes served in the afternoon were also homemade and yummy.
During our trip to the USA we stayed at 3 B&Bs, but we thought this one by far the best. We felt so sad to leave. Diane and Gary even waved us off.

  • Stayed: May 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2005

My wife and I stayed at the Green Palm Inn earlier this month and greatly enjoyed the trip. The hotel is moderately priced but offers a lot of great amenities, such as extra fluffy white towels, wine tastings every evening, exceptional banana bread and brownies, as well as filling breakfasts. Having wine on the front porch in the afternoon was the highlite of the trip for my wife. I really liked the furnishings as well- antique, but not over the top frilly, like you'll find in some places. Being a guy, I appreciated that it didn't feel like I was at a fru-fru fest like I have at some B&B's.

The best part of the inn though has to be the host, Diane. Her husband was not around during our stay, but Diane went above and beyond to make sure we had a great time and gave us some great recommendations while there. When it came time to leave, Diane walked us out and actually stayed on the back porch until we driven off. I couldn't help but think that's how mom always say's goodbye when we visit her- And I've got to say, it almost felt like we were leaving family.

In short, I highly recommend. The only possible downside to this wonderful place is that it sits a little close to Broad Street, which is fairly busy. You won't notice it in your room, but you will if you're relaxing the porch. Still, this is a very small inconvenience for such a nice place at a great price.

Stayed: May 2005
8  Thank greenespace100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Raleigh, NC
110
Reviewed May 7, 2005

The Green Palm Inn is a nice surprise for a modestly priced B&B in Savannah. It is homey, comfortable and all around wonderful. We had one of the smaller suites and it was still fairly large and immaculately maintained. You will be catered to beyond belief. The breakfasts will hold you till dinner, even with the extensive walking that is available in Savannah. The chilled wine in the evening is the capper to other homemade treats available on a daily basis. Diane (the Innkeeper) is both welcoming and accomodating. Highly recommend and intend to return.

  • Stayed: April 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
providence, RI
110
Reviewed April 29, 2005

We just came back from a trip to Savannah and stayed at the Green Palm Inn for one night. The location is excellent. We walked everywhere in the city from the inn. Our room was the nicest we've ever had--it was their King room. (all of their 4 rooms have the word Palm in them) We'd been shopping for a good value, and were stunned that the room was so luxurious. It was spacious with spacious bathroom--beautifully decorated--included small refrig. for bottled water, etc.--reading corner, etc. It is no surprise that it is often the honeymoon suite. Room cost
$169 plus tax. Full hot breakfast included--and a wine and snack hour. Though the innkeeper makes fruit, wine, and special cookies available all the time. Diane, the innkeeper, is a great help--only have raves about this place.

10  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2005

The Green Palm Inn is one of the best B&Bs not only in Savannah but all over the country. Diane the owner is one of the best hosts. The inn is clean and the rooms immaculate. She serves wine and appetizers at night to get the guests to mingle which turned out to be very informative. Her breakfasts in the morning are prepared hot to your schedule she did not dictate a time to be at breakfast. We enjoyed the entire look of the B&B. It wasn't cluttered but there were enough items to capture your interest. The Inn is located in the historic district next to the river and we were able to walk everywhere we wanted to go. It was a sad day when we had to check out. I would highly recommend this B&B to everyone.

  • Stayed: April 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank boguk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Richmond, va
17
Reviewed March 31, 2005

Diane and Gary were the perfect hosts. We rented a room there (Sabal Palm Suite), while our friends rented another. Our room was amazing....clean, comfy king bed, claw footed tub, fire place in bathroom and bedroom, and little sitting area. THere was a bottle of champaine in the fridge when we arrived, which I think Diane gave us because it was my wife's Birthday (i.e. not sure if that's standard). The breakfast each morning was out of this world. Filled us so much that you didn't think about lunch until at least 1:00. At 5:30 Dianne puts a couple bottles of wine in the dinning room, and there are always snacks sitting out (crackers & cheese, cookies, brownies, etc.). There is great little "garden" sitting area behind the inn, and a decent sized front porch with benches. Only complaint would be the house is about 3 houses from Broad Street, so the traffic noise could have bothered some. It really didn't bother us at all, but I felt like I should at least think of one thing that could justify why this place is so affordable. The square that this inn is on (one house over) was one of the prettiest in Savannah... the Green Square. Very close to the river district, in that it's about a 5 minute walk. We didn't use the car once on our little 3 day trip. I couldn't imagine a better place to stay. Our friend's room was $20 a night cheaper, and stilll looked great. It was definitely smaller, and lacked the claw footed tub, but they raved about the comfy queen bed.
I'd reccommend this B&B to anyone.

  • Stayed: January 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Savannah hotels
Downtown
The Marshall House
The Marshall House
#4 of 114 in Savannah
2,806 reviews
Downtown
Hamilton-Turner Inn
Hamilton-Turner Inn
#2 of 114 in Savannah
1,320 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
The Kehoe House - A Boutique Inn
Downtown
Hampton Inn Savannah - Historic District
Downtown
Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Green Palm Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Green Palm Inn

Address: 548 E President St, Savannah, GA 31401-3546
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah > Downtown , Historic District - North
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Savannah
Price Range: $197 - $236 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Green Palm Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fodor's guide calls the cozy Green Palm Inn a "pleasing little discovery." Exuding a calm, homey yet smart atmosphere, the little Savannah B&B haven reflects the well-traveled innkeepers' devotion to guests. The family-owned Victorian cottage resides in the Savannah historic district along boundaries of colonial Savannah's palisades; near the Savannah Riverfront, Factor's Walk on Bay Street, and concert venues; and, just steps away from patriotic Greene Square park, one of historic Savannah's world-famous garden squares. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz and Hotels.com so you can book your Green Palm Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Green Palm Hotel Savannah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing