We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect B&B Experience with Exceptional Hospitality”
Review of Green Palm Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Green Palm Inn
Ranked #7 of 30 Savannah B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Perfect B&B Experience with Exceptional Hospitality”
Reviewed October 1, 2012

We had an excellent stay at the Green Palm Inn. The Innkeeper, Diane, was an exceptional cook and gave us great advice for things to do, like a walking tour and where to go for jazz/nightlife. She was so kind and helpful and we felt right at home. We really enjoyed her breakfasts and the afternoon snacks were really wonderful to come back to after a long day of walking around the city. The food was better than any other B&B we've ever stayed at.

We stayed in the Sabal Palm purple room. The bed was very comfortable, and the room was clean and quiet. We enjoyed the extra room for lounging. Perfect for a romantic getaway!

The location is a little bit on the outskirts of the city center, so you do have to a walk a bit to get to the historic sites and the more charming sections of the city. It's closer to more of the shopping area, touristy area and the waterfront.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jms71424
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GAMcCray, Owner at Green Palm Inn, responded to this review, October 6, 2012
Thank you for your very kind comments. Staying in Savannah is always fabulous! We are so glad you enjoyed your stay and getting to know our city. On your next trip to Savannah, we will show you even more of our gem in the coastal area of Georgia. Come back any time and I will try some new recipes on you as well!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

431 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    416
    9
    2
    2
    2
See reviews for
43
282
11
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2012

Diane is a gracious and knowledgeable host. The B&B is spotless, welcoming and located within easy walking distance to the city center and Bay Street. As other reviewers have stated, breakfasts were delicious, along with the wine and snacks in late afternoon! We enjoyed our stay and know that you will too!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BeckyK893
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GAMcCray, Owner at Green Palm Inn, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
I am delighted you were able to come to Savannah and stay with us at the Green Palm Inn! Savannah is a fabulous city and she most certainly draws you to her. Thank you for your very kind compliments and just know you are always welcome her with us. When you come back, we will get you out to explore a little more of our city and her treasures.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 12, 2012

Our trip to the south started in Savannah GA, we spent two nights at the Green Palm Inn. From the moment we arrived Dianne was absolutely a breath of southern fresh air. She was pleasant, informative, welcoming and a wonderful cook! We stayed in the Royal Palm Suite, and my goodness it was the most romantic setting I have seen, not a single detail left undone. The house and room were our first impression of Savannah as we have never been before, and Diane did a great job of capturing exactly what we traveled across the country to experience. Dianne took great care of us and made sure that we always had everything we needed. Her knowledge of Savannah and its history is impressive, and her passion for what she does is evident. Dianne set the bar extremely high, if you are looking for southern elegance, charm, and hospitality you will find it here. We are excited to return to Savannah and will absolutely recommend The Green Palm Inn to our friends and family.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LMVal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stamford
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2012

This immaculate and cozy small B&B was more than we hoped for. The room was large and well furnished, and the breakfasts and afternoon wine and snacks were abundant and tasty. Diane, the innkeeper, was warm and friendly, despite our unexpectedly late arrival. She is very astute at "sizing up" her guests and tailoring her suggestions to fit their interests. The inn is well situated within short walking distance to historic homes, the riverfront, and good restaurants. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Green Palm Inn and heartily recommend it.

Room Tip: Look at the pictures on the website and chose whichever appeals to you. The are all different, but a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Imashorttripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2012 via mobile

While on our first trip to Savannah, my boyfriend & I stayed here. Diane made us feel right at home, gave us perfect suggestions of what to do - true hospitality. Breakfast was first rate both mornings (crustless quiche & banana french toast my fav) & yummy afternoon snacks with wine. Location allows for an easy walk to the river & great restaurants. Very cozy! Highly recommend staying here is you get the chance!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lizweigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2012

We have always wanted to go to Savannah, Georgia, likely due to the movie, Midnight in the Garden of Good and Evil. We arrive on Saturday, June 30th, approximately 2 hours late due to airline problems (shocker). We were greeted warmly by Dianne herself.

Every aspect of our trip to Savannah was enhanced by our stay at the Green Palm Inn. The room was fantastic (we stayed in the Royal Palm Suite), the afternoon wine and appetizers were great, and the home cooked breakfasts were high end restaurant worthy.

Dianne was instrumental in getting us a great spot for dinner for the 4th of July fireworks (we ate at Vick's on the river).

We were fortunate enough to meet several couples that were very interesting and nice, from
Florida, from England, and also a young couple of engineers (it's not often you get to meet a nuclear engineer).

From taking over her living room, to following her recommendations for restaurants, to following her advice regarding venues to visit in Savannah, Dianne and the Green Palm Inn was instrumental in making our trip to Savannah an unforgettable one.

Many thanks to you Dianne.

David and Carmen.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dave L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elizabeth City, NC
Level 6 Contributor
493 reviews
117 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 196 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2012

We, being B&B owners ourselves, are very picky and do lots of research before deciding on reserving a B&B. This was a winner! First, it is in a good neighborhood location, close to one of Savannah's many beautiful squares. Our room, the Sago Palm, was nicely decorated in an attractive green paint color, with color-coordinated (high quality) bed linens, a multi-jet shower, good bath amenities, and lots of extras, such as a coffee maker, a water bottle-stocked mini fridge, a large TV in the armoire, etc. Breakfasts were extremely good, and beautifully presented with lots of fruit as garnishes. Coffee and tea, as well as several different types of homemade cookies (yum!) were available all day. At 4 pm, Diane, the proprietress, set out really delicious hot hors d'oeuvres (varied each day) and white and red wine for guests to help themselves. A really nice touch! We enjoyed the parlor, drinking wine and sampling the hors d'oeuvres while reading the many coffee table books on Savannah and also chatting with fellow guests.
Diane is such an amazing hostess! She exudes genuine friendliness, and was extremely helpful in helping us plan our daily excursions. To show you how nice and thoughtful she was, while we were waiting for the taxi to take us to the train station at the end of our stay, she actually said that if it didn't show up, she would drive us to the train station! Obviously, we loved this B&B!

Room Tip: The Sago Palm room had a queen bed and had four windows, letting in lots of natural light.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Grice-Fearing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GAMcCray, Owner at Green Palm Inn, responded to this review, August 14, 2012
It was certainly a pleasure to have you both stay with us at the Green Palm Inn! I truly enjoyed getting to know you a bit and would certainly love to come stay with you some time in the future. Come back again and experience one of our other guest rooms too. Savannah is a great city to explore often, the lovely southern lady that she has become. Have a fabulous season yourselves and please stay in touch!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Savannah hotels
Downtown
The Marshall House
The Marshall House
#4 of 113 in Savannah
2,700 reviews
Downtown
The Kehoe House - A Boutique Inn
Downtown
Hamilton-Turner Inn
Hamilton-Turner Inn
#2 of 113 in Savannah
1,283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Hampton Inn Savannah - Historic District
Downtown
Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Green Palm Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Green Palm Inn

Property: Green Palm Inn
Address: 548 E President St, Savannah, GA 31401-3546
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah > Downtown , Historic District - North
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Savannah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Green Palm Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fodor's guide calls the cozy Green Palm Inn a "pleasing little discovery." Exuding a calm, homey yet smart atmosphere, the little Savannah B&B haven reflects the well-traveled innkeepers' devotion to guests. The family-owned Victorian cottage resides in the Savannah historic district along boundaries of colonial Savannah's palisades; near the Savannah Riverfront, Factor's Walk on Bay Street, and concert venues; and, just steps away from patriotic Greene Square park, one of historic Savannah's world-famous garden squares. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Green Palm Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Green Palm Hotel Savannah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing