We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Could only stand to stay there one night”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Olde Harbour Inn - River Street Suites
Ranked #7 of 113 Hotels in Savannah
Certificate of Excellence
Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Could only stand to stay there one night”
Reviewed August 5, 2006

My daughter and I just returned from what was to have been a back-to-school shopping/mother-daughter weekend in Savannah. However, due to the fact that the room we were in was terribly musty and unbelievably noisy, we left after spending only one night. Considering I paid for 2 nights at over $200 a night, for me to walk out on the second night says a lot!! We opted to drive back to our home on St. Simons rather than endure it any longer. Trust me -- don't stay there. The only bright spot was a sweet man who worked there and helped us to our room. After that, it was rapidly downhill until we blissfully returned home!! (And we didn't even see Hank, the ghost!)

  • Liked — Near riverfront/downtown
  • Disliked — Very noisy /room smelled bad
  • Tips/Secrets — Stay at the Westin
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank saintsimonsgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

986 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    654
    209
    62
    35
    26
See reviews for
207
507
21
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (269)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2006

This was the only b&b with availability when we booked in the location that we were after and so were a little apprehensive particularly reading some of the other reviews.

In summary though it was a nice quaint hotel with generous and clean accomodation.

In the negative side the staff were not very knowledgeable about the dining options or as welcoming as one would expect. The breakfast was nice although the bread served was stale and some even had mould. It was quickly rectified when we pointed it out but I have high expectations when I pay over $200/night.

I would not rush to stay there again but would not want disuade anyone from going if they were looking for a nice place on River street.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Service
  • Tips/Secrets — Book the 4th floor
  • Stayed June 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank reallyniceman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2006

Nice location, charming old property, needs TLC by owners and staff. Our room was dirty upon arrival and had serious plumbing problems (toilet overflowed twice). Bathroom tile had black mold, floor tile dirty. Carpets dirty. Kitchen was ill-equipped and in-room coffee not kept fresh. Get to breakfast early, as food runs out quick if the hotel is full and is not replenished. At least the air conditioning worked, but for the price, other hotels have good air conditioning, too.

Helpful?
1 Thank JSB5150
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed June 26, 2006

I was reluctant to stay at this Bed and Breadfast after reading some of the reviews on this site. However, I am so pleased that I decided to take a chance and stay there. I took my husband for his birthday for a long weekend getaway. We were pleased the minute we walked into our room. It was like a mini-apartment - complete with living room, kitchen, dining area, loft bedroom and balcony.

The location of the Olde Harbour Inn was perfect. It is a block away from River Street - all of the shops, numerous restaurants and The Waving Girl.

Brian was a 'gem'. He truly helped make our stay more enjoyable. He was always courteous and helpful. One would think that he owned the establishment - he took such pride in his work.

The rooms were a little pricy but it was well worth it. The evening wine and cheese gatherings allowed us to meet some truly nice guests. I would definitely stay at The Olde Harbour Inn again - if I ever go back to Savannah.

If you ever decide to go to Savannah, you need to check out The Olde Harbour Inn - try to reserve Room 405 and make sure you find Brian - although he will probably be there to assit you as soon as you check in.

  • Stayed April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed June 22, 2006

How lucky we are to have found Olde Harbour Inn through a "Pet Friendly" Website!
We only had one day (& night) to explore Savannah on our way north and happened
upon Olde Harbour. From the first substantive contact requesting information from
their reservations pointe-person "Alex" all the way through to the evening treats left
in our room by Gary, this Hotel knows the true meaning of customer service.

Make sure you pop in for wine and cheese after a long day of exploring the city.
Gary will provide you with refreshment and full menus from all local restaurants and
assist you in making your dinner plans, too!

Our room "The Pinta" was large and comforable with River view and
just steps away from everthing. We had a full size refrigerator, range and microwave
as well as a walk in closet, seating area and bath. This would be comfortable for long
stays and felt more like a large studio apartment than a hotel room. Our precious pom,
Bailey, found it comfortable too, and I would return again and again, even without a pet.

Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed June 15, 2006

My friend,her husband, my husband and myself stayed in the deluxe suite for 2 nights. The rooms was excellent and extremely large! Well equipped with 2 bedrooms,living area and kitchen. During our stayed it rained all day and the front office even had a umberella handy for our use. Now that is an added plus! If you go look for the "Mayor" Gary (bellhop). He is great and always ready to lend a hand or a joke. The employees were great and even entertaining!

  • Stayed June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2006

My sister and I stayed at the Olde Harbour Inn for 6 days in May. It was great! The suite was very spacious. The housekeeping was very efficient. The wine and cheese each evening gave us a chance to talk to alot of different people, from all over the US and Australia. The location on River Street was very convenient. Each night we walked the River and tried alot of resturants right on River Street. I highly reccomend The Olde Harbour Inn.

Helpful?
1 Thank fuzzpooktravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Savannah hotels
Downtown
The Marshall House
The Marshall House
#4 of 113 in Savannah
2,497 reviews
Downtown
The Kehoe House - A Boutique Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Andaz Savannah
Andaz Savannah
#11 of 113 in Savannah
2,910 reviews
Downtown
River Street Inn
River Street Inn
#25 of 113 in Savannah
1,198 reviews
Kimpton Brice Hotel
#17 of 113 in Savannah
1,175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Olde Harbour Inn - River Street Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Olde Harbour Inn - River Street Suites

Property: Olde Harbour Inn - River Street Suites
Address: 508 E Factors Walk, Savannah, GA 31401
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Savannah
#11 Family Hotel in Savannah
#15 Romantic Hotel in Savannah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Olde Harbour Inn - River Street Suites 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1892, the Olde Harbour Inn was once a bluff-side warehouse on the Savannah River. Olde Harbour Inn provides more than just an ordinary hotel room for your stay in Savannah. Our spacious one and two-bedroom suites provide all of the comforts of home, with the extra amenities you'd expect from a luxurious vacation. Your pets are welcome too! Savannah is a very dog-friendly town, and Olde Harbour Inn is the perfect place to stay with your pet for a nominal fee. Please call us in advance to check availability. From First Friday on the River to the famous St. Patrick's Day Celebration, River Street is the place to be in Savannah. Olde Harbour Inn is located on the east end of River Street in Emmet Park, near the Waving Girl statue by River Street Marketplace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets, Jetsetter and HotelQuickly so you can book your Olde Harbour Inn - River Street Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Olde Harbour Hotel Savannah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing