We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming, relaxing, delicious, friendly, peaceful.... ZEN!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Catherine Ward House Inn
Ranked #2 of 30 Savannah B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 23, 2014

The best overnight ever! If we could we would have stayed another evening. Everything was perfect!
We will go back!
In Savannah, stay here!!!!!
Staff was amazing. The breakfast was healthy. Everything prepared fresh. The linens and towels were clean and luxurious. We were surprisingly upgraded to a very special room. Pure Heaven!!!!
Quiet and peaceful.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FitPro101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (739)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

271 - 277 of 739 reviews

Reviewed May 18, 2014

My wife and I recently visited Savannah for the first time and stayed at the Catherine Ward Inn. Leslie and her staff were great!! The breakfast was second to none and the Inn was extremely nice and comfortable. It sits about a mile from River Street which puts you within walking distance of the Savannah river and all the attractions along River Street but far enough away that noise was never an issue. I especially liked that fact that we had access to the coffee-maker even before the others were up. This trip was for my wife for the most part as she likes the history and architecture associated with Savannah and Catherine Ward Inn made it very special. Thanks again to Leslie and her awesome staff. I highly recommend this Inn to anyone who likes to be pampered on vacation!!

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Scott W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2014

Conveniently located near southern end of Forsyth Park, Catherine Ward house is the epitome of Southern hospitality without the debutante condescension. Leslie and Sonja and team present an immaculate, gracious yet comfortable stay, with a different full breakfast each day. Visiting in March '14, the days were warm enough for the southern exposed sun porch, and cool enough for the jet tub in our room. You will feel welcomed and your stay will be the highlight of your visit to Savannah. We'll be back...

Room Tip: upstairs with hot tub and private back porch
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Babie_Duck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2014

My 3 sisters and I converged on The Catherine Ward House Inn for a rare weekend get-together. I spent many hours online looking at different hotels and b&b's, searching for just the right location, and boy did we hit the jackpot! We rented 4 rooms, including the three upstairs rooms, and one downstairs off the carriage house, which had a lovely and intimate outside seating area. The proprietors, who discussed my plans with me in advance, helped me to choose these accommodations for our party, and they were perfect. Upon arrival, they gave us a tour of the rooms, pointing out anything we might miss, such as a flatscreen hidden behind a beautiful mirror. The rooms were beautifully appointed and flawlessly decorated, without the busy tchotchkes so prevalent in many old b&b's. Always available for questions, without being intrusive, our obliging hosts provided invaluable travel advice, and obtained tickets for a wonderful architecture tour which they recommended. My wonderful husband, who planned this reunion for me, has heard about this perfect inn ad nauseam, and is looking forward to a trip to the Catherine Ward House to see for himself. We will definitely be back! Oh, I almost neglected to mention the breakfasts, which were delicious. Dietary restrictions were carefully considered by the hosts.

Room Tip: The largest room, which includes the inn's only microwave, is the Cosmopolitan off the carriage...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Molly A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2014

Quite simply, the staff at Catherine Ward House made our first visit to Savannah memorable.

Our flight was delayed, and the girls called my cell phone to make sure we hadn't gotten lost and were okay. They "guided" us right to the front door, and we immediately felt at home. This Inn epitomizes southern hospitality! We met several great people for the first time, yet never felt we were in the presence of strangers. The location was perfect. We are both walkers, and could easily navigate to all the important spots in Savannah.

Breakfast every morning was delicious and the atmosphere very convivial. Our room was delightful and had all the amenities. Tours were arranged for us, and we were driven to our starting point for one of our tours that was a little "off the beaten path".

Catherine Ward House is a beautiful,charming home with friendly, attentive staff and should not be missed!

I recommend Catherine Ward House confident that anyone staying here will have the same warm, wonderful experience we did. Kathy W.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kathy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2014

We loved the Catherine Ward House Inn! The innkeepers were terrific, and offered great ideas for things to do. Breakfast is truly the best we've ever had at a B&B! Amazing!

The outside patio and porch are perfect.

It is a bit of a walk to the river-front area, but not too far. We decided to drive and found the parking very easy and cheap.

The inn is decorated beautifully and all the practical necessities are great (in-room mini-fridge with free soda and water, bathrobes, etc.).

This inn is a great value and terrific experience.

Room Tip: Rooms with an outside patio allow you to enjoy a cold beverage after a day exploring the city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Waterwynde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2014

Such a warm and friendly welcome for some late-arriving, road-weary travellers. The directions to get to the inn were spot-on, and the innkeepers were incredibly warm and kind. I really do appreciate that you welcome dogs to your fine establishment. The setting is beautiful, and I will long remember my wonderful morning run around Forsyth Park. Thank you for a memorable stay, and I really hope to come back again and spend more time discovering the beautiful city of Savannah.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank paulabanks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Savannah hotels
Downtown
Hamilton-Turner Inn
Hamilton-Turner Inn
#2 of 115 in Savannah
1,395 reviews
Downtown
The Kehoe House - A Boutique Inn
Downtown
Armstrong Inns Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
McMillan Inn
McMillan Inn
#1 of 30 in Savannah
233 reviews
Downtown
Justine Inn Savannah
Justine Inn Savannah
#6 of 30 in Savannah
1,460 reviews
Downtown
Azalea Inn & Villas
Azalea Inn & Villas
#4 of 30 in Savannah
1,002 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Catherine Ward House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Catherine Ward House Inn

Address: 118 E Waldburg St, Savannah, GA 31401-6521
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Savannah
Price Range: $216 - $336 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Catherine Ward House Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Catherine Ward House Inn, built in the 1880's, is an elegant bed and breakfast featuring 9 distinctly appointed guest rooms. A comfortable parlor and outdoor courtyard area with koi pond are available for all guests to enjoy and relax in. Located in downtown Savannah near the Historic District and Forsyth Park, the Inn is within an easy stroll to many restaurants, shopping and antiquing opportunities, museums and other historic sites. Leslie, the friendly and knowledgeable Innkeeper, is happy to assist all guests with dining reservations and tickets and share her "insider's knowledge" on where to most enjoy your visit to Savannah. A three course breakfast is served daily. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your Catherine Ward House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Catherine Ward House Hotel Savannah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing