We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Inn, Lovely Room, Lovely Stay...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Catherine Ward House Inn
Ranked #2 of 29 Savannah B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 25, 2014

My husband and I couldn't have been happier with our stay at the Catherine Ward House Inn. Leslie and both the Sonias were all friendly, gracious, and helpful throughout our 3 night visit to Savannah.
They planned for a cab to meet us at the airport (gotta love that Lyle!), suggested and arranged for two A+ tours (the architechtural and the Bonaventure Cemetery tours), and were very knowelegable about neighborhood restaurants and other local needs (eg wine store, grocery store, etc). Their breakfasts were top notch - fresh, hot, and delicious and served at our choice of two seatings, 8:30 or 9:30). The inn itself is charming, comfortable, very clean, and so appealing overall. The same can be said of our room. We stayed on the lower level in Jessica's Room, which had the bonus of a private entrance and porch - just right for sitting out in the evening with a glass of wine. The CWH Inn is located at the southern end of the Historic District very near Forsyth Park and within easy reach of most all the usual Savannah destinations.
We miss Savannah and the Catherine Ward House Inn already.
Thank you Sonia, Sonia and Leslie!
We would highly recommend the CWH Inn to anyone who will be in the Savannah area.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LAOMJO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (742)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

295 - 301 of 742 reviews

Reviewed March 17, 2014

My daughter and I just returned from 4 wonderful days in Savannah thanks to Leslie, "Tall Sonia", and "New Sonia." From the moment we walked in the door, we felt so welcomed - like a visit to a favorite aunt's. They were most helpful in pointing us in the right direction for things to see and do as well as for restaurant recommendations and reservations, As for the inn, it is just as pictured; the rooms are beautifully decorated, spotless, and very comfortable. I must admit that I was unsure about the location because on the map it seemed far removed from the points of interest, but it is actually a perfect location. Forsyth Park,one, if not the largest, of the many parks and squares is just a few steps away and everything else is a short walk in any direction. I hadn't taken into account the scale of the map and the fact that the area is only a square mile. I would return in a heartbeat for the breakfast alone!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JoanneDallas_PA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2014

From the minute my sister and I received our confirmation letter, asking us if there were any food items that we particularly liked or didn't, we knew this would be our type of place!

We arrived on a rainy day, and Leslie greeted us before we stepped out of the car. She could not have been more pleasant. She brought us to our room where the fire was lit, the lights were on, and it was so welcoming, we didn't want to leave. But we were there to sightsee and only for one day, so after setting a breakfast time, providing us with umbrellas, and making adjustments to where we would be going, based on her excellent recommendations, we headed off. The location of the Inn is perfect. There were places on both ends of Forsyth we wanted to see, so we were centrally located. Returning after a cold, rainy day to our beautiful room was the best, and turning on the fire made it even better!

The room was quiet, extremely comfortable, and we didn't need a thing. Breakfast was so delicious...we loved talking with Leslie's staff. Sonia, in particular, was so nice and friendly to us. We wanted time to relax, read and enjoy our surroundings, and we wanted time to pop over to the Main house for conversation. The Catharine Ward Inn made both possible, and is a place we hope we are able to return to again. Such a nice experience!!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LMC459
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2014

This is a beautifully appointed B&B. Leslie is a delightful and very knowledgable host. Fodor's called the location "transitional," but I disagree. While it is a few short blocks from the historic center, It is right off the park around the corner from the only 5-star hotel in town, and there is good free on-street parking.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
2  Thank katimil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2014

We stayed at the Catherine Ward House over Valentines weekend. Overall, it was a good experience and the ladies were very helpful and nice, but it was not over the top. The breakfasts were quite good, and coffee was available, but otherwise there was no food available if one were hungry, and no evening cocktail hour. Our room was in the carriage house and was nice, but not wow. I was expecting it to be more polished and upscale for the price. As someone else noted, there were no drinking glasses in the room, which seemed odd. The property is on the western edge of the historic district, but not a bad walk down to the river, or a short cab ride. There did seem to be a lot of noise, from sirens, traffic, neighbors, which made it hard to sleep at times. We enjoyed our stay there, but will likely sample another B&B on our return to Savannah.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank WAN25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2014

This was by far the best B&B we've had the privilege to experience. We took full advantage of the dinner menu provided and dinned in sitting next to the cozy fire. The teas and coffee provided had great taste as well again we enjoyed it in the room. The entire place was beautiful to view and knowing that it was a part of history and adding to our history mad it just that much more special and memorable. The two person jetted Jacuzzi tub was something out of a love novel we also greatly appreciated it but most importantly we loved the fact that we were given the option of complete seclusion and privacy. We just so happened to be her only guest so we opted out of all meals but did enjoy very pleasant and genuine conversation. From start to finish she greeted and treated us with tentative care. She even provided a small bag of mints to get us through the plane ride home. We are currently planning our return.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gakayla r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2014 via mobile

We readily recommend this B&B because our room in the carriage house was lovely, as was the home. The breakfasts were gourmet and substantial, served with style in a beautiful dining room. We rate the location as average because it was on the outside edge of the old town area. We had scheduled a 9:30 morning walking tour and breakfast was at 8:30. Leslie readily offered to drive us to the meeting place, which worked out well
and we appreciated. A few small details prevented us from giving a 5* rating in all categories. Although we were invited to help ourselves to whatever we needed from the kitchen, there were no drinking glasses in the room - which we didn't notice until brushing our teeth before bedtime. Our room included a wonderful jacuzzi tub and there were four tea lights on the edge - but no matches to light them. Although not all B&Bs provide an evening cocktail hour, it is a great warm and welcoming treat and an opportunity to socialize with the hosts and other guests, and we missed not having that here. Those comments aside,however, the home, our room, the convenient parking, the wonderful breakfasts (with fresh flower bouquets on the table), and the early morning delivery service all combined to make Savannah and the Catherine Ward House a memorable experience.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Whitetail37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Savannah hotels
Downtown
Hamilton-Turner Inn
Hamilton-Turner Inn
#2 of 116 in Savannah
1,414 reviews
Downtown
The Kehoe House - A Boutique Inn
Downtown
McMillan Inn
McMillan Inn
#1 of 29 in Savannah
234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Armstrong Inns Bed and Breakfast
Downtown
Justine Inn Savannah
Justine Inn Savannah
#6 of 29 in Savannah
1,462 reviews
Downtown
Azalea Inn & Villas
Azalea Inn & Villas
#4 of 29 in Savannah
1,004 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Catherine Ward House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Catherine Ward House Inn

Address: 118 E Waldburg St, Savannah, GA 31401-6521
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in Savannah
Price Range: $217 - $336 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Catherine Ward House Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Catherine Ward House Inn, built in the 1880's, is an elegant bed and breakfast featuring 9 distinctly appointed guest rooms. A comfortable parlor and outdoor courtyard area with koi pond are available for all guests to enjoy and relax in. Located in downtown Savannah near the Historic District and Forsyth Park, the Inn is within an easy stroll to many restaurants, shopping and antiquing opportunities, museums and other historic sites. Leslie, the friendly and knowledgeable Innkeeper, is happy to assist all guests with dining reservations and tickets and share her "insider's knowledge" on where to most enjoy your visit to Savannah. A three course breakfast is served daily. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your Catherine Ward House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Catherine Ward House Hotel Savannah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing