We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful surroundings, wonderful hostess”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Catherine Ward House Inn
Ranked #2 of 30 Savannah B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bolton
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Beautiful surroundings, wonderful hostess”
Reviewed December 31, 2013

This is a beautiful house and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. We stayed in a beautiful, huge room in a building in back of the main house which was connected by a charming small courtyard. Because it was December the room had two small evergreens light with white lights, a nice touch. Sonia's hospitality was exceptional, exuding warmth, helpfulness and interjecting a few funny Southern-perspective comments during breakfast. The breakfasts were excellent, including orange/pecan french toast and fresh fruit. Sonia introduced us to the Hopper ride system which was a saving grace because the walk to the heart of the historic district could get long if one is wearing dress shoes. We loved staying here.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank trehugr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

721 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    662
    51
    5
    2
    1
See reviews for
41
503
17
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, CA
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed December 22, 2013

We stayed 2 nights at the Catherine Ward House and wished it could have been longer.

Leslie and Sonia were great hosts and the house is lovely - and the other guests we chatted with were fun, too.

Because of a holiday tour of inns during the dates we reserved, they upgraded us to a room in the small bungalow behind the main house, which was super comfortable and nice.

The location is next to Forsyth Park and an easy, rambling stroll away from the waterfront.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bmalloy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Hills, California, United States
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed December 17, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for three nights on a vacation based on the Great reviews. location is walking distance to all the sites and close to Two great restaurants for dinner. Leslie and Sonia were very attentive and gave great suggestions for tours and getting around. Breakfast was delicious and varied every day that we were there and an opportunity to meet new people. Our room was large with a small kitchen and a fireplace and large bathroom. Would definitely recommend.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank CaliforniaMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 17, 2013 via mobile

When we visit Savannah we ONLY stay here and it is by far the best Inn Savannah has to offer.....none better. Leslie and all the staff are the best, staying here is Like coming home to see old friends.
Steve and Debbie Eagle, Fort Lauderdale.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed December 14, 2013

Ww stayed here in October 2013. Sorry for the late review but the best is often left till last. All I can say in summary is DO YOURSELF A FAVOUR IF YOU ARE LUCKY ENOUGH TO EXPERIENCE SAVANNAH AND STAY AT CATHERINE WARD HOUSE INN. Nothing I can say will do it absolute justice; the B&B is a gem! Thanks to everyone for making our stay special.

Room Tip: Any room at this B&B is fabulous.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ally58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, FL
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2013

When my husband and I decided that we were going to visit Savannah, we knew that we wanted to have a an authentic Savannah experience by staying at a Bed and Breakfast. We consider ourselves to be pretty picky when it comes to where we lay our heads at night while on vacation. After doing much research, including reading all the amazing reviews here on Trip Advisor, we decided to stay at the Catherine Ward House Inn. We were sold on the rave reviews of Leslie and her employees hospitality, the mouth watering descriptions of breakfast, the location and lastly, on the decor. While I loved the idea of staying in a Victorian home, I do not prefer the typical Victorian decor. Leslie has furnished the home so beautifully! It is bright and airy, but also warm and welcoming. Leslie, Sonia and the rest of the team were inviting and helpful. I felt like we were staying at a good friends house or a much loved relative. We stayed in the Cosmopolitan room which was appointed with its own fireplace. The location was perfect! Within walking distance to the historic district. Even better than staying directly in the historic district because you can start at the very beginning and walk your way down to the river. If we ever find ourselves in Savannah again, we will definitely be returning. Thank you Leslie!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sarahjes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2013 via mobile

This was an exceptional B&B! We absolutely enjoyed the service and the breakfast was amazing and definitely plentiful. We always had to skip lunch because we were so full. The room was nice and cozy and we felt like family. We look forward to another stay here and we encourage anyone thinking about staying here to go ahead and DO IT!

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Agarcia22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Savannah hotels
Downtown
Hamilton-Turner Inn
Hamilton-Turner Inn
#2 of 113 in Savannah
1,302 reviews
Downtown
The Kehoe House - A Boutique Inn
Downtown
The Marshall House
The Marshall House
#4 of 113 in Savannah
2,752 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Eliza Thompson House Savannah
Downtown
Justine Inn Savannah
Justine Inn Savannah
#5 of 30 in Savannah
1,438 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Catherine Ward House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Catherine Ward House Inn

Property: Catherine Ward House Inn
Address: 118 E Waldburg St, Savannah, GA 31401-6521
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Savannah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Catherine Ward House Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Catherine Ward House Inn, built in the 1880's, is an elegant bed and breakfast featuring 9 distinctly appointed guest rooms. A comfortable parlor and outdoor courtyard area with koi pond are available for all guests to enjoy and relax in. Located in downtown Savannah near the Historic District and Forsyth Park, the Inn is within an easy stroll to many restaurants, shopping and antiquing opportunities, museums and other historic sites. Leslie, the friendly and knowledgeable Innkeeper, is happy to assist all guests with dining reservations and tickets and share her "insider's knowledge" on where to most enjoy your visit to Savannah. A three course breakfast is served daily. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire and Priceline so you can book your Catherine Ward House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Catherine Ward House Hotel Savannah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing