We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Romantic Rendezvous” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Catherine Ward House Inn

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Catherine Ward House Inn
Ranked #3 of 31 Savannah B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Pensacola, Florida
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Romantic Rendezvous”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

The Catherine Ward House is an exceptionally relaxing Bed and Breakfast. Where to begin? I met up my long-distance boyfriend in Savannah and the moment we stepped into our room, the Cosmopolitan Room, we knew we made the right choice for our rendezvous. Between the double shower, luxurious california king bed, fireplace, double-sided mirror that was also a tv, large amount of space, impeccable decorating and our private porch we weren't sure if we were ever going to leave the room. Alas, the next morning the aroma of Leslie and Sonja's breakfast did manage to pull us out of bed. The breakfasts served at Catherine Ward House deserve to be featured in an award-winning restaurant. From fresh fruit served in beautiful martini glasses donned with a mint sprig to the unique dishes like kugel, I truly do not know where you will find another Bed and Breakfast with such charm and personal touch. Leslie and Sonja were always ready to take us somewhere out of their own time if we didn't want to walk and were always on top of the local activities. We enjoyed meeting other guests and made new friends. The sitting room was comfortable enough for us to sit and look at the lovely books and huge, well-organized binder of local menus. In case our lodging wasn't perfect enough, the advice and help we received from Leslie and Sonja about where to go, eat and see was invaluable. I do not have a single complaint about our stay and cannot wait to return again. You MUST stay here!!! Look no further

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LaurenG7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

688 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    633
    47
    5
    2
    1
See reviews for
39
476
15
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Greensboro
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2013

SAVANNAH - CATHERINE WARD HOUSE INN 6/20/13

This is my first review, one which I never thought I'd write, but our experience was too good to be left without comment. it all started with Leslie, the Inn owner who greeted us with such warmth that we knew immediately that we had chosen the right place. We sat in the living room that was decorated in an eclectic mix of historic & modern, and was airy and comfortable. Leslie offered to assist us in any way that would make our stay in Savannah memorable, and with her extensive help, it was! Leslie took us through the house and to our room which was in a separate building. It was huge and inviting with a king-size bed and modern decor. It had a kitchen nook with fridge and microwave, and an amazing bathroom with a glass enclosed shower. We felt right at home. Although this all seemed too good to be true, the best was yet to come. Breakfast! Simple, yet generous, imaginative, and elegantly served. Day one: fresh fruit cup, ham & eggs cooked to perfection, a delicious warm scone, and plenty of OJ and coffee. Day two: fresh fruit cup with different fruits, eggs accompanied by pork tenderloin (yes!)_with an amazing teriyaki sauce, coffee cake, OJ, coffee. Day three: Fresh fruit, the most deliciously different french toast ever, (eggs too if you want them) link sausages, …. etc. It all starts with Leslie who sets the tone and delivers every time. We were so taken that we added an extra day to our planned two-day stay. In over 50 years of travel including many, many B&B's, this was the best one we've ever experienced. Thank you Leslie.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jerry_C620
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Short Hills, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2013

Leslie and Sonya are absolutely the best B&B inn-keepers possible! Everything was so perfect - the breakfast (plentiful, fresh and delicious), their hospitality and the location! We loved our stay. Leslie and Sonya go above & beyond to make your stay amazing from making great recommendations to making sure you are comfortable! One example would be how they went out of their way to help my husband who wasn't feeling good due to his allergies. The B&B is not located right in the center of everything but that's perfectly okay because it is a nice quiet block near Forsyth Park & walking around Savannah is part of the charm and experience. Would definitely go back to this B&B and recommend others to go as well!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mtravels7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2013

We have been very negligent in writing a well deserved review of this beautiful B&B. We finally got a few days we could escape in February 2012 and chose Savannah, Ga. We were traveling with our little Australian Silky Terrier. After a search we fell in love with the Catherine Ward House Inn. Their location, pet friendly room with a separate entrance/exit, a short walk to downtown and very close to a big park to walk our dog. The room was perfect, had our own small refrigerator and the food nicely presented. We were even served a made from scratch New Orleans King Cake, for one of our breakfasts. The pet fee (Savannah is very dog friendly) was a one time payment and when we return to Savannah we will definitely return to the Catherine Ward House Inn.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank applewoodmanor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
State College, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
62 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2013

We had a wonderful visit to Savannah, thanks to Leslie and Sonya. Leslie cooked up wonderful breakfasts and Sonya pointed us to fine restaurants and activities. Our room (Hibernian) was nicely appointed. We especially enjoyed the porch overlooking the garden, where we could enjoy our morning coffee. The location of the B&B was perfect for us, since it was an easy stroll down lovely streets to many of the sites that Savannah has to offer.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Caravaggisti_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, GA
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2013

We just returned from a wedding weekend and had the pleasure of staying at this lovely Inn. We loved our room (Catherine`s), which is a front corner room with a lot of windows (no problem at night because they have shades and drapery to darken the room!). The room was large and immaculately clean, with a nice size bathroom. The Inn is located on a quiet street, in close proximity to a beautiful park and just minutes to shops and restaurants. The breakfasts were outstanding...the best we`ve ever had at the many B & B`s that we`ve stayed in. Many thanks to Leslie, Sonia and staff for making our stay at your Inn such a pleasurable experience.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SuzanneRC7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2013

My husband and I stayed on Memorial Day weekend in the Garden Room at the Catherine Ward House Inn. When we arrived we were greeted by Leslie and Sonjya. They were wonderful and provided us with great insight on options to do and see in Savannah. This was our second visit to Savannah, and we enjoyed it very much! There were so many things that we were able to hear about by staying at the bed and breakfast. The other guests were very helpful on things to do while you are in Savannah. The rooms were well decorated and give you the feeling that you really are in old historic home. It is a short walk to Forsyth Park, and gives you the opportunity to really enjoy the city. It is a bit of a walk to River Street, but not too strenuous. Overall, I would definitely recommend staying here, and we hope to visit again soon!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hblev27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Savannah hotels
Downtown
Hamilton-Turner Inn
Hamilton-Turner Inn
#2 of 113 in Savannah
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,172 reviews
Downtown
The Kehoe House - A Boutique Inn
Downtown
The Marshall House
The Marshall House
#5 of 113 in Savannah
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,449 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Eliza Thompson House Savannah
Downtown
Armstrong Inns Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Catherine Ward House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Catherine Ward House Inn

Property: Catherine Ward House Inn
Address: 118 E Waldburg St, Savannah, GA 31401-6521
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 31 B&Bs / Inns in Savannah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Catherine Ward House Inn, built in the 1880's, is an elegant bed and breakfast featuring 9 distinctly appointed guest rooms. A comfortable parlor and outdoor courtyard area with koi pond are available for all guests to enjoy and relax in. Located in downtown Savannah near the Historic District and Forsyth Park, the Inn is within an easy stroll to many restaurants, shopping and antiquing opportunities, museums and other historic sites. Leslie, the friendly and knowledgeable Innkeeper, is happy to assist all guests with dining reservations and tickets and share her "insider's knowledge" on where to most enjoy your visit to Savannah. A three course breakfast is served daily. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Catherine Ward House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Catherine Ward House Hotel Savannah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing