We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A home away from home”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Catherine Ward House Inn
Ranked #2 of 30 Savannah B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 24, 2013

We spent a long weekend at the Catherine Ward House Inn and definitely would go back again if we return to Savannah. Leslie and her staff made us feel welcome and at home. The inn is located on the southern part of the historic district, a half block from Forsyth Park. We stayed in one of the smaller rooms on the garden level and could walk out to a small patio to relax at the end of the day. Breakfast is served at a large dining room table; this provides a great opportunity to meet other guests and compare notes on restaurants, attractions, and so on. (If all the rooms are full, there are two breakfast sittings so if you're an early riser, let them know you prefer the first shift.) Besides the comfortable room and good breakfast, Leslie and Sonia had great advice on activities, restaurants, shopping. All in all, we had a wonderful weekend and I would highly recommend the Catherine Ward House.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HPL1352
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (736)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

353 - 359 of 736 reviews

Reviewed March 24, 2013

The Catherine Ward House Inn is a 10-carat gem. Less than a block from Forsyth Park, with free on-street parking and about 2 blocks from a free shuttle bus stop, it is perfectly situated for exploring Savannah. Sonja and Leslie are wonderful! They make everyone feel right at home and are an amazing source of Savannah information. They'll also do anything for you -- they even drove us to our restaurant for dinner two nights in a row! The bedrooms are spacious and very nicely decorated and have everything you will need, including lovely white bathrobes. You'll find other like-minded travelers staying there and swap tourist tips as you mingle in the living room or relish every bite of their delicious breakfasts, starting with a delicious fruit cup and continuing with crust-less quiche or other egg dish, fried potatoes or delicious cheese grits, tomatoes and avocados or roasted peppers and goat cheese, ham or pork loin, all served elegantly in their dining room. I guarantee that if you stay here, you'll enjoy every moment of your stay and then spread the word about this fantastic place after you leave.

Barbara, Mountainside, NJ

Room Tip: We were in the basement and had our own private garden which was very nice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Barbara H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed here three nights and couldn't have been happier with our accommodations. The guest house had a charming room that you got to through a lovely little garden. The ladies of the Inn were warm, helpful and seemed generally interested in helping us have the best time in Savannah that we could have. The breakfasts were a great time to meet other guests, share experiences, sight seeing ideas, and to enjoy the gourmet style breakfasts. The owner also went above and beyond on our last morning there. We left at a very early hour and she sent us away with breakfast to go. Fantastic hospitality!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sllovestotravel70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2013

My wife and I spent 3 nights last weekend at the Catherine Ward House Inn. It was perfect. We were greeted at the door upon arrival and were immediately provided with a map and a list of things to see, do and eat. I had booked some restaurants before the trip but the best meal we had was recommended by the lovely ladies at the Inn. We stayed in the Cosmopolitan room which is a top floor room in the carriage house in the back. Very modern, clean and private it had the comfort and ammenities of a hotel with the service and social aspect of a small bed and breakfast. Our room had its own small deck where we could sit for drinks before going out to dinner.

The breakfasts were amazing and as I made the reservation I was asked to provide breakfast food and drink preferences which were recorded and followed without a hitch.

The service exceeded all expectations and I would return as well as recommend the Inn to anyone visiting Savannah.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Cosmopolitan room which is a top floor room in the carriage house in the back. Very...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DaveWillNot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2013

I can't say very much here that hasn't been said before. We stayed at the Catherine Ward House for a long weekend and found it an enjoyable experience. Our room was very nice, clean with ample amenities. The breakfasts were always great and so was the conversation around the breakfast table. My only complaint is that the bathroom wasn't as nice as I had expected/hoped, but all in all very nice. Leslie and the staff were very nice and happy to give recommendations. It's a little far from the waterfront but we thought the location was perfect. We'd gladly visit again.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank iberjan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2013

I cannot recommend this place enough. The staff is friendly, warm, and extremely attentive. Our breakfasts were wonderful and the room was perfect. My wife and I came for a babymoon and we have left completely relaxed and restored. I would recommend this place to anyone looking to unwind and experience Savannah in a relaxing way. We will be back.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank brandon p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2013

My husband and i with our pooch Mr.B arrived on Valentines day unannounced at this delightful B and B. We were welcomed graciously in this pet friendly Inn. Our room was striking without a hint of a previous pet. The common area is impeccably decorated maintaining a by gone era without making the guest feel that he or she is in a museum. Our hosts could not have been any more accommodating. Finally the breakfast was scrumptious. this is a must stay when in Savannah!

Room Tip: we were very comfortable below ground floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tippy1927
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Savannah hotels
Downtown
Eliza Thompson House Savannah
Downtown
Hamilton-Turner Inn
Hamilton-Turner Inn
#2 of 115 in Savannah
1,357 reviews
Downtown
Armstrong Inns Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
McMillan Inn
McMillan Inn
#3 of 30 in Savannah
218 reviews
Downtown
Justine Inn Savannah
Justine Inn Savannah
#6 of 30 in Savannah
1,453 reviews
Downtown
Azalea Inn & Villas
Azalea Inn & Villas
#4 of 30 in Savannah
998 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Catherine Ward House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Catherine Ward House Inn

Address: 118 E Waldburg St, Savannah, GA 31401-6521
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Savannah
Price Range: $216 - $334 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Catherine Ward House Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Catherine Ward House Inn, built in the 1880's, is an elegant bed and breakfast featuring 9 distinctly appointed guest rooms. A comfortable parlor and outdoor courtyard area with koi pond are available for all guests to enjoy and relax in. Located in downtown Savannah near the Historic District and Forsyth Park, the Inn is within an easy stroll to many restaurants, shopping and antiquing opportunities, museums and other historic sites. Leslie, the friendly and knowledgeable Innkeeper, is happy to assist all guests with dining reservations and tickets and share her "insider's knowledge" on where to most enjoy your visit to Savannah. A three course breakfast is served daily. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your Catherine Ward House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Catherine Ward House Hotel Savannah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing