We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My Favorite B & B!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Catherine Ward House Inn
Ranked #2 of 29 Savannah B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 23, 2012

My husband and I found this inn on tripadvisor and booked a weekend based on all the great reviews. The reviews were right! This was hands down one of the best weekends at a B&B that we have ever had. The inn is lovely, the breakfasts incredible(guests are encouraged to sit around and visit after breakfast and we thoroughly enjoyed spending time with everyone there), the rooms beautiful. We stayed in the Catherine Ward room and really enjoyed having a corner room with lots of beautiful light coming in, a gas fireplace, and a very pretty Christmas tree in our room. The entire inn was decorated and looked gorgeous. But the very best part of staying at the inn was the hospitality of the innkeepers. Leslie, the owner, and Sonja are the best! They very obviously love what they are doing, love their city, and love having guests. They are a wealth of information about what to do, where to eat, what is going on at Christmas time, what stores to check out. Everything question you can think of to ask about Savannah, they can give you an answer to.
The inn is right across the street from Forsyth Park where there is a terrific farmer's market on Saturday mornings. The inn was the perfect location for us and we will definitely get back there, hopefully sooner than later. We highly recommend a stay at the Catherine Ward House Inn.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lashep520
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (743)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

375 - 381 of 743 reviews

Reviewed December 20, 2012

You have to like it when someone who is making you a meal is singing in the kitchen. Leslie and her staff made our stay a wonderful memory. I would recommend this B&B to anyone. The meals and the local information made this trip very personal.
Gord

Room Tip: The whole historic district was within walking distance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gord Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2012

My husband and I found this Inn on tripadvisor and were won over by the wonderful reviews. We were so happy with our choice. Upon arriving, we were greeted by Leslie, the owner, who is such a kind woman. She upgraded us to her largest room because she knew we were celebrating our anniversary. The room was spacious, welcoming, sweetly decorated for Christmas, and super clean. So relaxing. Breakfast in the morning was fabulous, and the women who help Leslie serve breakfast were both kind and knowledgeable about all things Savannah, having lived in the city for quite some time. Leslie directed us to a couple of the more local spots for dinner and drinks, and we were so pleasantly surprised with both places, especially the rooftop bar at Local 11. I definitely recommend a stay at the Catherine Ward House Inn. Can't wait to return!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bufferina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 7, 2012

11/26/12 - 11/28/12: Leslie welcomed us warmly into her B&B and made us comfortable in "Jessica's Room". The room was beautifully furnished, the bed was very comfortable, and the shower had great water pressure. The Great Room was gorgeous and we really enjoyed sitting by the fire and drinking our bottle of wine early in the evenings before going out to experience the dining options in Savannah. Breakfast every morning was worthy of a 5 star restaurant and we felt so spoiled by the personal attention and Leslie's attention to detail.

We travel with our dog and were very pleased with the pet fee and policy. You couldn't ask for a better location in Savannah. We were literally right off of Forsyth Park which was so convenient for walking our dog and getting in our daily exercise (running/walking). The Park and the surrounding neighborhood are well lit and we always felt secure even late at night. All of the restaurants and attractions in Savannah's Historic District are within walking distance and easy to find.

Savannah is our favorite city to visit every year and we have finally found the perfect place to rest our heads. Thank you Leslie and the Catherine Ward House Inn for exceeding our expectations and helping us to make wonderful memories during our trip. We look forward to seeing you again!

Sincerely,
Joan and Roger Lee and Grissom the dog

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank beattylee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2012

My husband and I came to celebrate my 50th birthday 11/28-12/3. We chose Savannah for its charm, and was hoping for the same in a B&B. This B&B exceeded our expectations. Excellent and friendly staff, clean and pretty rooms as well as lovely dining room and sitting area. We especially appreciated the staff's knowledge of the area, the events going on that weekend, and help in making reservations. Their restaurant referrals were spot-on. You will not be disappointed by the delicious breakfasts either. These ladies were a big factor in making our weekend very memorable. Also, the location on Forsyth Park is a picturesque and very reasonable walk to the rest of the historic district.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank loves2ski11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2012

The Catherine Ward House Inn and its staff - Leslie, Sonya, and Emmie - continue to amaze me and go above and beyond for all guests. Other reviewers mention that they felt like family - and these women really do make you feel like visiting family (but without the annoying nagging parents wondering when the babies are coming or "bed checks"). The inn was just begining its holiday transformation while we were there - from what I saw, the Catherine Ward House stays true to its style even during this festive time of year. The inn was setting up 8 trees (2 mini trees in two guest rooms, 1 larger tree done in a contemporary style in another room, and 3 more traditional trees) - a grand feat that still felt in keeping with the interior stylings and architectural period of the house. Somehow these women have mastered the art of balance - being perfectly styled without being fussy, informative without being overbearing, and darn fun to be around. The city of Savannah is great, but this inn and its staff really shine.

Room Tip: Talk to the staff when booking - they will help to match you on price point and amenities.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pistachiothinking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2012

My wife and I stayed here on the nights of 11/29 and 30 of this year on our way back north from a visit to Florida. We enjoyed this B&B very much and would be happy to return. Our room was on the top floor of the annex (carriage house or whatever) out back--it was large, quiet, clean and nicely appointed, with a huge shower (big enough (and fully equipped) for two) and a gas fireplace. Sonja and Leslie were very welcoming and helpful, and prepared excellent breakfasts. There was plenty of parking available on the street where the B&B is located (plus there's a small lot which guests may use). We weren't troubled by the neighborhood in which the B&B's located--didn't think that it felt unsafe at all--and we're not exactly intrepid. Historic Savannah's a relatively small place, and the B&B was an easy walk from all the historic sites.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank vaoenophile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Savannah hotels
Downtown
Hamilton-Turner Inn
Hamilton-Turner Inn
#2 of 116 in Savannah
1,418 reviews
Downtown
The Kehoe House - A Boutique Inn
Downtown
McMillan Inn
McMillan Inn
#1 of 29 in Savannah
235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Armstrong Inns Bed and Breakfast
Downtown
Justine Inn Savannah
Justine Inn Savannah
#7 of 29 in Savannah
1,462 reviews
Downtown
Azalea Inn & Villas
Azalea Inn & Villas
#4 of 29 in Savannah
1,004 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Catherine Ward House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Catherine Ward House Inn

Address: 118 E Waldburg St, Savannah, GA 31401-6521
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in Savannah
Price Range: $216 - $336 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Catherine Ward House Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Catherine Ward House Inn, built in the 1880's, is an elegant bed and breakfast featuring 9 distinctly appointed guest rooms. A comfortable parlor and outdoor courtyard area with koi pond are available for all guests to enjoy and relax in. Located in downtown Savannah near the Historic District and Forsyth Park, the Inn is within an easy stroll to many restaurants, shopping and antiquing opportunities, museums and other historic sites. Leslie, the friendly and knowledgeable Innkeeper, is happy to assist all guests with dining reservations and tickets and share her "insider's knowledge" on where to most enjoy your visit to Savannah. A three course breakfast is served daily. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your Catherine Ward House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Catherine Ward House Hotel Savannah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing