We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice place to stay.”
Review of Amethyst Garden

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Amethyst Garden
Ranked #13 of 30 Savannah B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
A TripAdvisor Member
“A nice place to stay.”
Reviewed April 28, 2006

The location was very good and accessible. The family and staff were very gracious and helpful. The rooms were small, but comfortable. We enjoyed the other guests.

Helpful?
3 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

936 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    844
    69
    12
    7
    4
See reviews for
185
499
20
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (143)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2006

We (mom, godmother, and 9-year old daughter) were lucky enough to stumble unto the Amethyst Inn on Gaston Street, an oversize house with large courtyard (including a pool). We stayed in a huge suite (2 bedrooms, small kitchen and alcove dining area) that opened into courtyard. It was quiet and enticing, as were the porches overlooking the backyard. The host s Jane and Rocky were fantastic, relaxed and interesting to talk to. Pat (with Jane) served up yummy, varying breakfasts and coctail hour appetizers (the only bad thing about this is the 5 pounds I've gained in a week, due entirely to my penchant for second helpings!) and it was so much fun to sit around and talk with the guests, who compared notes from all the different parts of the country they came from (sitting on couches under the ceiling fans). My 9-year old had a fabulous time, between jumping in the pool and playing with Sarah plus another 9-year old visiting from the Caribbean (discussing trends from NYC, Savannah, and trade wind isles) while swinging their feet in the backyard and then, sitting in an unused room eating Peppermint patties. Rocky gave us a convenient place to stash our bikes and we rode all over Savannah, the hotel was just down the road from the gorgeous Forsyth Park. In sum, we felt very comfy and exotic at the same time and free to do exactly what we like. There was plenty of pithy, sound advice re restaurants, tours, etc. in the morning and at coctail hour if you needed it! We New Yorkers certainly got a lesson in southern hospitality that will be kept in mind the next time a cab driver barks at us!

  • Stayed April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank HLeeWI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wichita, Kansas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2006

I thoroughly enjoyed my stay at the Amethyst Inn in Savannah. The owners, Jane and Rocky are such fun! They offered true Southern hospitality to this midwestern traveler, and they made my visit to their city an unforgettable memory for me. The cocktail hour at the Inn was great fun, and the food was excellent. My bedroom with a private bathroom was very comfortable, and the antique furnishings were lovely. I look forward to a return visit!

Helpful?
2 Thank Janice K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
atlanta , ga
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2006

Special thanks to the innkeepers Jane and Rocky. We can't forget Pat the chef and Carrie also. . Our stay was more than we could ever have expected. From the accomadations to the fine cuisine we couldn't have asked for more. To all reading this look know further. You have to stay here. Only one problem is you'll never want to leave, its really that wonderful. The inn was expertly decorated by Jane. The rooms were absolutely beautiful also. The foods prepared by Pat were out of this world. I think the best thing about our stay was the time we spent talking with Jane and Rocky over wine. They made us feel like family. They even helped us with our tours around town.
We look forward to going back and staying at The Amethyst Inn. Save us a room !
With warm memories and many thanks !!!
Nancy & Dick Donnelly

  • Stayed March 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ericmel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Hampshire
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2006

We stayed a long weekend in May of 2005 and thoroughly enjoyed our visit. We loved the breakfasts for both the yummy food and the enjoyable company each morning. The cocktail hour each evening was available but we instead stayed in the LOVELY garden with the wonderful smells and enjoyed visiting our son instead. Everyone was extremly helpful with suggestions and helping with the plans. The walk to the riverfront was refreshing. We enjoyed taking a different way each time so we could enjoy the architecture along the way. The inn was very quiet and peaceful. Since our son lives in Savannah, we will be back and could not imagine staying anywhere else. Hope to see everyone again soon!

  • Stayed May 2005
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank door#3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hudson, NH
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2006

Shall I start with what I had for breakfast Friday morning? Banana french toast, real Southern grits (Pat's famous recipe), crab quiche, sausage quiche, blueberry pancakes, fresh fruit...fabulous.
At 4pm there is wine, juice and appetizers.
If you want to stay in a friendly, 'home' atmosphere...with all the charm of an 1888 home, try here. (If you want the cookie cutter, sterile, all new atmosphere, go to a Hilton). It is a HOME, and this is like staying with a family that just treats you so well. Jane, Rocky, Pat, Carrie...were all so nice and helpful to us during our stay. They go that 'extra' mile for you.
It was also nice to sit around with the other guests in the morning and chat about what they did and saw and how they liked where they ate etc. It helped us with some of our plans.
Great, extraordinary, friendly, warm, wonderful people. Who deserve a day off now and then ;)
Thanks,
Kellie and Fran
p.s. the Historic district of Savannah is a 'walking' town...bring good shoes!!!

  • Stayed March 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Kellie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staten Island, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2006

Jane and Rocky,
What a wonderful time you and your staff showed us New Yorkers. You treated us like family and took care of us like kings. The food was great and the house is amazing. I highly recommend this place if your looking to be treated like family and want to experiance a real good taste of the old south. The feeling you get from this house the "aura", words can't describe it unless you come here and find out for yourself. The Inn is very romantic for those speical love birds. The Inn is very clean and the maintenance of the house is kept up very very nicely. Can't wait to come back next year and experiance this wonderful time all over again. You will see us Fire fighters again next year for St Patty's day and you can bet we will be staying at the Amethyst Inn. A++++++ rating

  • Stayed March 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank nycluvinu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Savannah hotels
Downtown
The Marshall House
The Marshall House
#4 of 113 in Savannah
2,627 reviews
Downtown
The Kehoe House - A Boutique Inn
Downtown
Eliza Thompson House Savannah
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Justine Inn Savannah
Justine Inn Savannah
#5 of 30 in Savannah
1,433 reviews
Downtown
Armstrong Inns Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amethyst Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amethyst Garden

Property: Amethyst Garden
Address: 402 E Gaston St, Savannah, GA 31401-5150
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah > Downtown
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Savannah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Amethyst Garden 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bed and Breakfast Inn in the Historic district of downtown Savannah, Ga ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Amethyst Garden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amethyst Inn At Sarah`s Garden Hotel Savannah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing