We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Southern charm and hospitality: come and stay awhile!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Amethyst Garden

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Amethyst Garden
Ranked #5 of 34 Savannah B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Southern charm and hospitality: come and stay awhile!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2009

Our recent March trip to the South was capped by our wonderful stay here with Jane and Rocky, Miss Pat and Chamise. We loved every minute of it, and have already dreamed of a return. The B&B is lovingly restored and furnished; our room was spacious, very lilac lovely and very comfy. And the breakfast is a hearty and delicious flavor of the South, with baked goods and nice fruit and egg dishes. It kept us satisfied thru lunch on our busiest days!
I'm still reminiscing about the afternoon wine and hors d'oeuvres hour also. We just enjoyed unwinding after a busy day with Jane and Rocky and the other guests. It really felt like a family home, where everyone could sit back and truly relax. You can't buy that kind of hospitality at a hotel or inn; it is a natural extension of the owner's outgoing and helpful nature.
Rocky and Jane had excellent tips about which trolley tours to take (I am a converted skeptic on this one. I don't usually take tours, but this was worth my time and minimal $). They also have excellent pointers for restaurants of all price ranges. (Thank you Rocky for suggesting Johnny Harris because our other choice was closed. We wanted an old school, not tourist place, and this fit the bill. )
The Amethyst is also perfectly located near Forsythe Park and many classic squares with fantastic architecture. All within a fast walk.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gypsygatto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

921 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    834
    68
    9
    6
    4
See reviews for
184
488
20
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
chicago
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2009

I recently stayed at the Amethyst Inn for a one night visit to Savannah. From my initial phone call to make a reservation,to my departure I was treated like a true guest. Jane, was an absolute doll and gave us great restaurant recommendations.She even gave us a big bag of spiced pretzels for our ride back to Chicago.Our room was clean and charming. It is a great location for doing Savannah on foot. I will absolutely stay at the Amethyst Inn next time I go to Savannah

  • Stayed April 2009
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nancy018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, FL
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2009

After much research my husband and I decided to stay at the Amethyst Inn. We had never stayed at a B&B before and couldn't wait to make the reservations. I called Jane a month before our trip and we became instant friends! She was incredibly kind and even sent us maps and brochures before we arrived. Upon arrival, Pat showed us our room and helped us with directions, lunch recommendations, etc. We made sure to be back by 4:30 to meet Jane and Rocky and to meet the other guests at the wine/snack hour. WOW- Jane and Rocky-what an amazing couple! They truly opened their HOME to us and made us feel so welcome. That is what the Amethyst Inn is truly about....feeling warm and welcome in their HOME. While the Amethyst Inn is not the most elegant B&B in Savannah, it is truly a gem of a find. We enjoyed every second of our stay there and loved our Geranium room. We enjoyed a delicious breakfast made by Pat each morning and enjoyed talking with Shemice each afternoon. My husband and I had a wonderful weekend getaway at the Amethyst Inn and wish we could have stayed longer. We are already trying to plan another trip!

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LCflorida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
budapest
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2009

The Amethyst inn was from far the hightlight of our trip to the Old South. The welcoming reception, the amazing breakfasts and the cozy feeling of this romantic house make this Inn become the very special place where one fall in love with Savannah.
We were lucky enough to have time to enjoy inspiring conversations with Pat and Chemise who add an even more personal touch to the place.
We initially planned on staying one night and keep moving. We have been so charmed by the place that we spent the rest of our holidays there and yet felt deeply sad to leave behind such of peace of paradise.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AnWest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2009

Our first trip to Savannah was made complete with a visit to the Amethyst Inn. My wife and the proprietor, Jane, hit it off immediately while making reservations by telephone....it seemed they were destined to become BFF!!! Since we arrived late, Jane left the keys for our room, and we were so touched that she left a delicious late night snack for us. Since we were the only guests the first night, we had complete run of the house. Each room is thoroughly charming, very clean, and decorated to my wifes's delight. We awoke in the AM to find a delicious southern breakfast prepared by a joyous woman named Pat. After an exhausting day of sightseeing, we arrived back at the Inn at 4 PM, and spent the next couple of hours with Jane, husband Rocky and their sweet daughter Sarah as well as 2 other guests. We gorged on Jane's wonderful soup and appetizers, so much so that we actually couldn't eat dinner that evening. Our only disapointment is that we had to leave after 2 nights at this wonderful establishment. KUDOS to Jane and Rocky for a job well done!!!

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DrjCool1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, FL
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2009

Jane and Rocky, wow, what an experience. My wife said that with an experience like that, we would be hard pressed to stay in a hotel ever again. The hospitality, the people you meet, the confort; there is nothing that can compare. We have stayed at five star hotels and they were just that. When you stay at Jane and Rocky's place you get a whole lot more. By the way, the food is included and wow is it great. You don't get that included at the five star resorts. Everyone one there treated us like we were royalty.
Thank You, Jane, Rocky, Sahra, Pat, & Chemise!
We hope to see you again soon. Take care and God Bless!

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rparker05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canon City, Colorado
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2009

This B& B is wonderful. Gorgeous rooms; great hospitality & food. The owners do everything they can to make your stay delightful.
It is clean & comfortable.
Savannah & River St. is near by because the Inn is in a great historic area.
The 3 of us had a wonderful time & plan to return in 2009 or 2010!
DCoy , Co.

  • Liked — the atmosphere we were hoping for-total pleasure & so different from Colorado
  • Disliked — no complaints what so ever!
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DCOY_LTR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Savannah hotels
Downtown
Hamilton-Turner Inn
Hamilton-Turner Inn
#2 of 112 in Savannah
4.5 of 5 stars 1,029 reviews
Downtown
The Kehoe House - A Boutique Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Hampton Inn Savannah - Historic District
Downtown
The Marshall House
The Marshall House
#6 of 112 in Savannah
4.5 of 5 stars 2,006 reviews
Downtown
Armstrong Inns Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amethyst Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amethyst Garden

Property: Amethyst Garden
Address: 402 East Gaston Street, Savannah, GA 31401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah > Downtown
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 34 B&Bs / Inns in Savannah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Amethyst Garden 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bed and Breakfast Inn in the Historic district of downtown Savannah, Ga ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Amethyst Garden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amethyst Inn At Sarah`s Garden Hotel Savannah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing