We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful stay with Wonderful Hosts”
Review of Amethyst Garden

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Amethyst Garden
Ranked #16 of 30 Savannah B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 26, 2014

My best friend and I stayed her for a girls weekend. Rocky and Jane were awesome! They were both so helpful with orienting us to the city sites, transportation (John with Yellow Cab was great!) restaurant recommendations, etc. Jane is a fabulous cook and the breakfast was quite a feast. I have gluten issues and was so touched that she fixed a gluten-free option for me at every breakfast! They went above and beyond great hospitality. Their assistant Shemisa was also great. The home and rooms were lovely! Would definitely come back and stay here and would send my friends!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rileygirl2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (950)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

181 - 187 of 950 reviews

Reviewed March 23, 2014

My wife and I wanted a small bed and breakfast inn in historic Savannah for our first ever visit to the area. I talked with our hostess, Jane, before booking the accommodation and was warmly greeted from the very beginning. I knew it was going to be a great experience and it exceeded our expectations. We arrived a little early and were greeted by Rocky who gave us the tour and guided us to our room. Rocky was very helpful and suggested lunch ideas and when to get to Mrs. Wilkes and a warning of the wait time.

The inn is located in walking distance to most of historic Savannah. Rocky did contact a hop-on, hop-off tour for us and we were picked up and dropped off at the inn. Very convenient.

We really enjoyed our breakfasts at the inn. The food was delicious and the other guests from around the country including Canada were fun to talk with. Chelsea, Jane and Rocky were spot on with keeping the food and refreshments coming. Kudos to them for keeping on top of things.

We were able to chat with Jane and Rocky quite a bit (even met Sarah as well) and must say they became more friends than innkeepers. We would love to have them stop by in Virginia when they travel north.

We would go back to the Amethyst Inn on our next trip to Savannah and recommend it to anyone going there. The inn makes the historic area much more quaint and enjoyable when doing so.

Room Tip: We chose the Magnolia Room which has a shower only.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank D F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2014

My girlfriend and I spent the weekend at Amethyst Inn and loved it! Rocky and Jane were so welcoming; they went out of their way to ensure we had a great time. The breakfast buffet was delicious and filling. Our room had a private bath - not common in B&Bs. The Inn was walking distance from all the festivities of the River Walk but also not awash in tourists. All in all, we had a great time in Savannah and would highly recommend Amethyst to our friends. Thanks Rocky and Jane!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TMH_CYB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2014 via mobile

I attended a conference in Atlanta with my partner and at the last minute we decided to change our plans and head to Savannah for the weekend. After perusing the reviews on TripAdvisor we quickly decided upon The Amethyst Inn.
What a wonderful trip! Jane and Rocky were wonderful hosts that endured our constant questions about what to see and eat. Their Inn was lovely and we felt right at home. I would recommend The Amethyst Inn to any of my friends that travel to Savannah, GA.
Danno

Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Danno4367
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2014

We stayed over Valentine's weekend, and it was the perfect home-base for our Savannah explorations. Jane and Rocky were such gracious and kind hosts. They were really helpful from beginning to end. The breakfasts were delicious, and our suite in the basement was lovely. The location was also highly convenient: a short, pleasant walk to the sights of the historic district, and proximate to a grocery store. We had such an amazing stay, and would definitely recommend this B&B!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rox221
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2014

It's been a while since my wife and I visited Amethyst Inn but it was even better than I remembered. Our suite was wonderfully decorated and very comfortable. The breakfast was tremendous with an egg/crab dish to die for. Owners Rocky and Jane made us feel like family, only better cause we didn't have to do any chores. It feels like I've known them my whole life. This is what I hope for whenever I stay at a B&B. We'll be back.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EvanderLee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2014

What a pleasant stop on our way home from Walt Disney World. Rocky & Jane welcomed our family of 5 with warm hospitality, delicious food, a beautiful garden suite and the old fashioned southern comfort that we dream of. We absolutely loved our experience at this B&B! Thank you for such a memorable stay!

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Magec5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Savannah hotels
Downtown
Azalea Inn & Villas
Azalea Inn & Villas
#4 of 30 in Savannah
998 reviews
Catherine Ward House Inn
#2 of 30 in Savannah
736 reviews
Downtown
McMillan Inn
McMillan Inn
#3 of 30 in Savannah
218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Armstrong Inns Bed and Breakfast
Downtown
Forsyth Park Inn
Forsyth Park Inn
#11 of 30 in Savannah
609 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amethyst Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amethyst Garden

Address: 402 E Gaston St, Savannah, GA 31401-5150
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah > Downtown
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Savannah
Price Range: $250 - $360 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Amethyst Garden 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bed and Breakfast Inn in the Historic district of downtown Savannah, Ga ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Amethyst Garden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amethyst Inn At Sarah`s Garden Hotel Savannah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing