We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We stayed in May 2013”
Review of Amethyst Garden

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Amethyst Garden
Ranked #13 of 30 Savannah B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Nampa, Idaho
2 reviews
“We stayed in May 2013”
Reviewed December 9, 2013

I am a bit slow in writing this review.
In May, we took a trip to Savannah and "stumbled" across the Inn on the web. We loved it!! We had the suite adjoining the garden. Quaint, quiet, comfortable, and the smell of Jasmine just outside the screen door. Jane and Rocky exceeded out expectations with the gourmet food, friendly atmosphere and the suggestions of places we should visit. We think of them often and would love to travel to Savannah again and stay with them!
Barb and Keith

Room Tip: The Suite is soooooo private!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barb100447
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

936 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    844
    69
    12
    7
    4
See reviews for
185
499
20
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (143)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Cleburne, Texas
1 review
Reviewed December 7, 2013

My wife and I have stayed in many B & B's, but staying at the Amethyst Inn was more like staying with family! Rocky and Jane were the perfect hosts. This was our first visit to Savannah and we didn't have any set plans for our week long stay. Rocky and Jane were very helpful. Each of their suggestions were right on. Dinner and a live theater on Saturday night were all set up by Jane and was a highlight of our visit. Jane's breakfasts were always delicious. Jane even prepared a special omelet for my wife who has shell fish allergies when crabs were on the menu. The Amethyst Inn is in a quieter part of town and easily within walking distance of everything in the historic downtown. We will definitely be back to visit Savannah and the Amethyst Inn is the only place we will stay! We already miss our conversations around the kitchen (and the candy jars).

Room Tip: My wife and I don't like to leave our tempur pedic bed. But the bed in the Rose room was very co...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thomdvm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 24, 2013 via mobile

Awesome owners and staff, amazing rooms ad delicious breakfast! What more could you ask for? If you want a relaxing vacation where you feel like you are visiting your favorite, cool relatives, stay here!!!! You will absolutely love it!!!!

Stayed November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lindsey W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2013

My wife and I went to Savannah for our 20th, first time we've visited-great spot in the fall in the South. the B&B was very nice, and Jane & Rocky are terrific hosts. Very knowledgeable about the area. Extremely detailed map of the city and great suggestions for places to see.
The Inn itself worked well, it was in the city, but not right in the middle of town, we were in kind of a studio apartment with a small kitchen that worked well for us. We've stayed at a number of B&B's and we would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jasongur1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Butler, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 17, 2013

My wife and I visited Savannah for our 25th Wedding Anniversary and this was our first experience with both Savannah and Bed & Breakfast. Jane and Rocky were excellent host and very knowledgeable about savannah. The overwhelming hospitality began before we arrived as Rocky called several times to assure that we did not need anything. Both Rocky and Jane went above and beyond to assure that our 25th anniversary was special. From making dinner reservations to providing suggestions on what to see and do in Savannah. They were certainly the best Host that we could have asked for. The home was quaint with old southern charm right down to the decorations. The most disappointing aspect was the "breakfast" part of bed & breakfast. Do not always assume that Breakfast means Breakfast. While Jane and Rocky were certainly very nice, breakfast consisted of fruit, small casserole, and granola. I am thankful that we were able to find a room as it was a busy weekend for savannah. Overall, way overpriced ($250 / nght) and not as described in the reviews. Jane and Rocky are great, but we won't return.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank allen p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Littleton, Colorado
Level Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2013

My wife & I stayed two days last week. I wish we could have stayed much longer. The location is great for walking or driving around the town. Jane and Rocky filled every wish. The breakfasts were great,... Get Jane's recipe for grits. The king size bed will wind up costing us,...Now we have to get one like it for our home. We're going to go back for a longer stay next time.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jerry C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, Tennessee
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed November 12, 2013

My husband and I went to Savannah last weekend. I'd never stayed at a Bed & Breakfast before and wasn't sure if I was going to like it but we absolutely loved it!!!!!!! The owners were fantastic and did a wonderful job making sure we were comfortable!! We truly felt like we were staying with family. It's funny because I've really missed them this week. :) We will absolutely come back!!!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JenMattrocknroll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Savannah hotels
Downtown
The Marshall House
The Marshall House
#4 of 113 in Savannah
2,624 reviews
Downtown
The Kehoe House - A Boutique Inn
Downtown
Eliza Thompson House Savannah
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Justine Inn Savannah
Justine Inn Savannah
#5 of 30 in Savannah
1,433 reviews
Downtown
Armstrong Inns Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amethyst Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amethyst Garden

Property: Amethyst Garden
Address: 402 E Gaston St, Savannah, GA 31401-5150
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah > Downtown
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Savannah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Amethyst Garden 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bed and Breakfast Inn in the Historic district of downtown Savannah, Ga ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Amethyst Garden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amethyst Inn At Sarah`s Garden Hotel Savannah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing