We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A fine stay in Savannah.”
Review of Amethyst Garden

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Amethyst Garden
Ranked #16 of 30 Savannah B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 23, 2013

Rocky met us at the door, offered assistance with our bags, and took the time to give us the low-down on preferred restaurants and activities. He was accommodating in assisting with guest requests/questions and very personable. We enjoyed our stay; location was close to all of our destinations, so we parked the car and walked everywhere. Definitely give this B & B strong consideration if visiting Savannah. Sorry to have missed meeting his wife Jane, who was away at the time.

Room Tip: Comfortable corner room with overhead fan in addition to AC control.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pdm72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (950)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

210 - 216 of 950 reviews

Reviewed October 21, 2013

We knew we were in good hands the minute we met Rocky and Jane! Their warm welcome and helpful suggestions to enjoy our stay in Savannah led us to 3 filled days of fun learning the city! Rocky had penned in additonal information on maps that he had ready to share with us when we arrived. Our suite was comfortable, clean and pretty! Our breakfasts were delicious, full of variety and nutritious. Our stay could easily be described as staying in a gorgous Victorian Lady nestled in a charming and beautiful city brim full of history. We felt so comfortable and loved that we would definitely recommend this B & B! TheThree O H I O Sisters

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carol S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2013

Jane & Rocky,
Than you so so much for your Hospitality and careness !!! We had a wonderfull stay and enjoy every Minute of it.
Rooms are wonderfull, deco with so much taste and Love made.
I cant realy find words for it how much i love it.
You personly are sio sweet and Kind !!! Keep you in my mind for ever !
And Jimmy is a Gift !
We will come back for sure
Thank you again from Munich Germany
Martin & Renate

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nati373
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2013 via mobile

We were treated royally at this beautiful b&b. Rocky, Jane and Chemise make a great team. They worked very hard to make we had
a fabulous experience in every way during our visit. We stayed in the Magnolia room and it met all of our needs. It was beautifully decorated and comfortable. Rocky gave us all kinds of information about the sights to see and fabulous suggestions for dining. He made a reservation at a local restaurant that was one of the highlights of our stay. And Jane as well as Chemise are fantastic cooks. Every breakfast was special and delicious. The house is charming and has an interesting history! We would definitely stay again if we visited Savannah again and we highly recommend this lovely b&b!!!!

Stayed: October 2013
Thank michelewave04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2013

Just returned from a short break in Savannah and Charleston and had the pleasure of staying at the Amethyst Inn. We met all the family on arrival - Jane, Rocky, Jimmy and Sarah and were immediately made very welcome. The open kitchen is like a gathering area and we sat and chatted while the food was being prepared.
The Inn has a lot of the original features but also has a small swimming pool and secluded garden for sitting.
Nothing was too much trouble for the family and they helped with advice about trips, restaurants and history of Savannah.
We also met all the other guests at breakfast and shared experiences about what to do - and what not to do! Great fun!
Breakfast was all home made and very tasty (I even tried Grits for the first time), although the 9:00am serving was a little later than we were used to.
Overall a great experience and a pleasure.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jcorsooty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2013

Rather than repeating dozens of accolades before this, just read them and BELIEVE! My very, special college friend and I just spent five wonderful days at The Amethyst Inn. Because of Jane, Rocky, Sarah and Jane's brother Jimmy (the artist) we had an incredible visit. BELIEVE all that is written and reserve your stay at The Amethyst Inn.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JayMaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2013

I can not say enough wonderful things about this Victorian B&B. Rocky and Jane,the owners, are totally involved,from the cooking,Jane is a superb cook(makes delicious candy too) and Rocky will tell you about the local history;point out all the sites to see and all the many good restaurants. It's in the historic district so you can walk everywhere but it is not on a busy street so we had a wonderful few nights sleep in their comfy beds. This was our first visit to Savannah and Rocky &Jane helped make our stay a memorable one. All and all a wonderful experience and we will definitely return.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 523DeeK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Savannah hotels
Downtown
Azalea Inn & Villas
Azalea Inn & Villas
#4 of 30 in Savannah
998 reviews
Catherine Ward House Inn
#2 of 30 in Savannah
736 reviews
Downtown
McMillan Inn
McMillan Inn
#3 of 30 in Savannah
218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Armstrong Inns Bed and Breakfast
Downtown
Forsyth Park Inn
Forsyth Park Inn
#11 of 30 in Savannah
609 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amethyst Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amethyst Garden

Address: 402 E Gaston St, Savannah, GA 31401-5150
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah > Downtown
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Savannah
Price Range: $250 - $360 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Amethyst Garden 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bed and Breakfast Inn in the Historic district of downtown Savannah, Ga ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your Amethyst Garden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amethyst Inn At Sarah`s Garden Hotel Savannah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing