We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A home away from home.”
Review of Amethyst Garden

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Amethyst Garden
Ranked #13 of 31 Savannah B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“A home away from home.”
Reviewed July 23, 2013

We had a wonderful stay at the Amethyst Inn. Jane and Rocky are great people with a lot of heart. We will never forget Jane's superb breakfast, and just the warm feeling you get from just being around the two of them. They were very attentive to our needs from
The moment we met, which we will always cherish. Even our bulldog felt at home at the Amethyst Inn! Wonderful area to go for a walk with your dog, such a dog friendly neighborhood. We will Definately plan on staying again with Jane and Rocky in
The future. Such a home away from home.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bullie4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

935 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    844
    69
    11
    7
    4
See reviews for
185
498
20
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (143)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Port Orange, FL
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 20, 2013

We had yet another wonderful stay at our favorite B&B. The innkeepers, Jane, Rocky (and Chemise) are always available to make our stay more enjoyable. Since the inn is just a few blocks from Forsyth Park, after a morning walk/jog, you will find the most delicious breakfast. Staying with them is unlike any other inn. They always go that extra mile to make you feel welcome, but are very genuine. We have stayed at other places, but the Amethyst Inn tops them all!

Room Tip: view their website, but all the rooms are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank juggernaut69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallahassee, Florida
2 reviews
Reviewed July 17, 2013

Just returned from a long girls-get-away weekend and had a lovely time at Amesthyst Inn. Jane & Rocky we're perfect hosts, making us feel right at home. We enjoyed wine out on the balcony in the evening and some amazing breakfasts cooked by Jane. One afternoon we came in at lunch time and were asked to join them in some homemade soup that smelled and tasted marvelous. Just a great place to sit back and relax. We would have enjoyed the pool if it hadn't been raining. And to top it off we left with recipes of our favorite breakfast dishes. Thanks for sharing Jane!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LPeerson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2013

We were celebrating our 30th wedding anniversary and decided to stay somewhere more intimate than a hotel.....boy were we glad we chose Amethyst Inn. Wonderful place to stay. Chemise took very good care of us in Rocky and Jane's absence!!! She made great recommendations on things to see and do in Savannah. She even called the trolley tour for a pickup at the house! The Inn is at the southern part of downtown which at first seemed like it would be far away, however, this is not the case. We walked all the way from the City Market to the Inn at 10 pm and it was plesaant and uneventful!!!

Now let's talk about the Inn itself. Beautiful furnishings...lots of antiques. The bedrooms are cozy and still very roomy. The breakfast and snacks at the Inn...fantastic! Homemade and very delicious. The only consideration you need to make when staying here is stairs....lots of stairs! I was not quite prepared for all the stairs....however I should have been because we were staying in an historic home built more than a century ago...

I would definitely stay here again on a return visit to Savannah!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marti M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wesley Chapel, Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed July 15, 2013

My wife and I were at the inn a few years ago, and the experience was very memorable.The location was fine, and we enjoyed sitting in the garden outside our room in the evening.We had a pizza delivered and the delivery person came on a bicycle.We only got to meet Rocky and he was a perfect host.The staff was friendly and added to our enjoyment.The inn was comfortable and very charming.We are returning with our friends from Nebraska now living in Florida who have never been to Savannah.And we are certain the stay will be awsome! Thanks, Joe and Doris Y

Room Tip: We saw all the rooms, and rating one over another is difficult.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joeyan2468
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed July 15, 2013

Jane and Rocky are perfect hosts. They had just returned from a lengthy vacation but made my wife and I their first priority. They went above and beyond to be sure that we had the information that we needed and gave excellent recommendations for things to see and do and places to eat. Their home is beautiful and the location central and 2 blocks from Forsythe Park. The Rose room was very comfortable and very adequate for the 2 of us. There is no question about where we will stay when we return to Savannah.

Room Tip: To get the best room for you, talk to Rocky and Jane.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cincyjef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
34 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2013

We where in April. It is very charming and comfortable. We were able to walk where we needed to go. We were greeted upon arrival and given a map and information. We will return. We loved the flowers around town and we enjoyed the shops on the river.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elamay1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Savannah hotels
Downtown
The Kehoe House - A Boutique Inn
Downtown
The Marshall House
The Marshall House
#5 of 113 in Savannah
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,563 reviews
Downtown
Hamilton-Turner Inn
Hamilton-Turner Inn
#2 of 113 in Savannah
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Justine Inn Savannah
Justine Inn Savannah
#5 of 31 in Savannah
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,433 reviews
Downtown
Armstrong Inns Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amethyst Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amethyst Garden

Property: Amethyst Garden
Address: 402 E Gaston St, Savannah, GA 31401-5150
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah > Downtown
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 31 B&Bs / Inns in Savannah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Amethyst Garden 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bed and Breakfast Inn in the Historic district of downtown Savannah, Ga ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Amethyst Garden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amethyst Inn At Sarah`s Garden Hotel Savannah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing