We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Most helpful hosts, gorgeous home character-filled rooms, perfect!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Amethyst Garden

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Amethyst Garden
Ranked #14 of 31 Savannah B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
“Most helpful hosts, gorgeous home character-filled rooms, perfect!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2012

Jane and Rocky are a Sight for sore eyes. They are fantastic, loveable, knowledgeable and they make you feel as welcome as their own daughter, who is adorable in her own right! The class and haute southern cuisine is what you'd expect from savannah but often misses its mark. These two have perfected the B and B franchise and I only wish they would give lessons to the rest of the world! I feel no need to visit other homes as I'm afraid it can never get any better than this gorgeous modern/old school Victorian home! Sorry y'all but if they let me, I might never leave when I go back. That's 1 less rooms they'll have available to you :). J

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jcramsey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

934 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    843
    69
    11
    7
    4
See reviews for
185
498
20
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (143)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Huntersville, NC
Level Contributor
49 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2012

We enjoyed our second trip to Savannah by staying with Jane and Rocky again. It was like coming home to family. Jane and Rocky are so friendly and helpful with recommendations, reservations, special food (for our 7 year old son) or anything we need. The breakfasts are out of this world, as well as all the homemade cookies, snacks and goodies that are available at any time. The location of their B&B is perfect so we park our car and just walk wherever we need to go. This has become our favorite long weekend getaways because of the city and the accommodations!!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kevin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2012 via mobile

This was our first time in Savannah and first time to stay at a Bed and Breakfast. Jane and Rocky made us feel right at home from Janes delicious breakfast, and Rocky knew every detail you wanted about Savannah. We stayed in the Rose room which was perfect for the 2 of us. We came back to our room to complimentary champagne for our 1 year wedding anniversary. They have to be the most caring people ever. Jane also booked our dinner at the Chart House, and made sure they took good care of us and of course they did!! We can't wait to go back to Savannah and visit the Amethyst Inn!!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JMcCarley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Treasure Island, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2012

My first time vist to this Inn felt more like a homecoming. We were recived warmly and informed of all the events. Jane & Rocky Called for rides in Ped-a- cabs and made food sugestion which were dead on- GOOD
Breakfast was tasteful and stylish- even some of our friends went home with the receipes. Jane & Rocky were our new best friends!
Our room was perfect for our needs. The garden extended our need for open air space and entertained our visting friends. The kind of welcome you would expect from a Savannah resident.
Events were with-in walking distance and the stroll alone the way to River street was beautiful. We never felt threaten when walking in the late hours.
I will return and hope it is soon!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nancy d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Alabama
Level Contributor
74 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2012

My partner and I stayed at the Amethyst Inn for 4 nights. We arrived late on our first night, but were greeted by Jane and Rocky when we arrived. We stayed in the Lantana Room our first night, but moved to the Camellia Room for the next 3 nights, which is a larger room. Historic homes are a treasure and Jane and Rocky have done a wonderful job restoring this great house.

The Inn is in a wonderful location in the historic district near Forsyth Park. Everything in the historical district is within walking distance. Jane is an excellent cook...breakfasts were great and she keeps cookies/snacks in the dining room at all times. I highly recommend the bacon quiche, broccoli casserole, and grits!

There is a mini-fridge on the third floor for keeping beverages during your stay. A Kroger is about three blocks away.

Rocky and Jane will make dinner reservations for you (they made one for us at the last minute on a Friday night and were able to get us a table) and provide maps, directions, and advice.

Overall, we had a wonderful stay in Savannah and hope to make it back soon. You cannot go wrong staying at the Amethyst Inn while in Savannah.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MisterGrace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Concord
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2012

We spent three nights at the Amethyst Inn at Sarah's Garden. From the time we walked in the door until we said goodbye we enjoyed our stay. We stayed in the Camelia Room which had a nice porch. Rocky and Jane made it seem like our home. They made the restaurant reservations for us and we received nice tables, complimentary hors d'oeuvres and great service. Jane's breakfasts were well prepared and we only needed one other meal at dinner. The B&B is in the historical district and within walking distance of Savannah's attractions. We did take a pedicab and the driver even commented on how nice Rocky and Jane were and as a testament of how nice they are the driver felt comfortable enough to go into the B&B and help himself to some of Jane's cookies.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Raymond O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bonita Springs, Florida
Level Contributor
91 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2012

it felt like going home every night. Sneaking in with our own front door key and separate room key to our room. Giggling like a couple of teenagers. Rocky and Jane made us feel superb. The food and hospitality were gracious and relaxing. The house was in a perfect location. We loved walking over to the farmers market and to the river front. Great suggestions of where to eat and they called and made the reservations for us. The bed was comfy and high.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jabmyeyes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Savannah hotels
Downtown
The Kehoe House - A Boutique Inn
Downtown
The Marshall House
The Marshall House
#4 of 113 in Savannah
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,522 reviews
Downtown
Hamilton-Turner Inn
Hamilton-Turner Inn
#2 of 113 in Savannah
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Justine Inn Savannah
Justine Inn Savannah
#5 of 31 in Savannah
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,431 reviews
Downtown
Armstrong Inns Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amethyst Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amethyst Garden

Property: Amethyst Garden
Address: 402 E Gaston St, Savannah, GA 31401-5150
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah > Downtown
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 31 B&Bs / Inns in Savannah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Amethyst Garden 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bed and Breakfast Inn in the Historic district of downtown Savannah, Ga ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Amethyst Garden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amethyst Inn At Sarah`s Garden Hotel Savannah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing