We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family vacation in Savannah”
Review of Amethyst Garden

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Amethyst Garden
Ranked #15 of 30 Savannah B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 6, 2012

I had a great time at the Amethyst Inn. It was my first time in Savannah and Jane and her daughter gave my mom and me great places to shop that were local. Very friendly atmosphere staying at the inn, it felt like being at home. Located in a beautiful area with a great park nearby that was perfect for running. Jane and Rocky were very welcoming and made accommodations for everyone. It was great spending time with them and relaxing at the inn with them.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Julia R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (950)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

328 - 334 of 950 reviews

Reviewed August 4, 2012

Had a great experience at the Amethyst Inn at Sarah's Garden. Jane and Rocky were the perfect hosts and made us feel warm and welcome. They obviously love what they do; Always offered us information on goings on in town , maps of the area, etc.. When we told them we had reservations for the Chart house, for example they insisted that they would make our reservation for us so we would receive a free dessert. Very sweet people. The accomodations were lovely and very comfortable!! Every morning Jane offered a homemade breakfast buffet. Deeelicious!!! I would definately recommend the Amythest Inn and hope to stay there again !!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LindaRN1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2012

- perfect location next to the river and all nice squares
- better than any hotel around
- wonderful breakfast
- very welcoming and nice atmosphere
- nice pool - but to very refreshing
- beautiful house!
- just very pricey
=> don't stay there for 1 night - better deals if you stay longer
=> They give you good tips for visits and shopping

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank LL_Bklyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2012 via mobile

Jane and Rocky are wonderful hosts who will make you feel right at home in their beautifully renovated B&B. The rooms are beautifully decorated, very clean, and have all the amenities you need. We only had time for a one day stay in Savannah and they were so helpful in arranging a bus tour, making restaurant reservations, and charting out a walking map with all the highlights to see. You will love their warm and friendly personalities and their homemade marshmallows!

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laurie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2012

My wife and I came down to Savannah for a weekend away. It's now a tradition with us to take a weekend for ourselves just before football season starts and I disappear from my family's life for a few months. It's also part of my birthday gift to my wife.

This year, we booked a weekend stay in Savannah and, after reading what everyone else had to say about the Amethyst Inn, Angela and I had to see for ourselves.

The whole home was beautifully decorated and just felt like home. Breakfast was fantastic (I still dream about the biscuits and gravy!) and Rocky and Jane were perfect hosts.

We enjoyed being away from the river front as the streets were quiet (did not swim but we did enjoy a morning sit on the porch) and we really enjoyed walking around town.

Jane handled our dinner reservations for us and Rocky did a great job of laying out dozens of things to do. We will have to come back to even get through half of the list!

It's the perfect place for a couple's getaway!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tim T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2012

As part of a road trip, my husband and I spent two nights at the Amethyst Inn. We loved it! Rocky had so much useful information that allowed us to narrow down what we could see in our limited time in Savannah. Jane wowed us with her homemade treats and delicious breakfasts. Our room was cozy with a great bed. My favorite part was that the sheets smelled really good! We can't wait to make a return trip to Savannah and to stay at the Amethyst Inn!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travelinFlower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2012

Jane & Rocky are the most welcoming & charming couple. They had plans and recommendations ready when we arrived. They made our stay feel just like home. Enchanting b & b. We will recommend them for anyone and everyone and will definitely be back.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stephjames2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Savannah hotels
Downtown
Azalea Inn & Villas
Azalea Inn & Villas
#4 of 30 in Savannah
998 reviews
Catherine Ward House Inn
#2 of 30 in Savannah
736 reviews
Downtown
McMillan Inn
McMillan Inn
#3 of 30 in Savannah
219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Armstrong Inns Bed and Breakfast
Downtown
Forsyth Park Inn
Forsyth Park Inn
#11 of 30 in Savannah
610 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amethyst Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amethyst Garden

Address: 402 E Gaston St, Savannah, GA 31401-5150
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah > Downtown
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Savannah
Price Range: $253 - $343 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Amethyst Garden 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bed and Breakfast Inn in the Historic district of downtown Savannah, Ga ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Amethyst Garden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amethyst Inn At Sarah`s Garden Hotel Savannah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing